41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! I think next time I will add some garlic or some other wonderful spice that compliments poultry. I baked 2 chickens at once and they were both delicious. Note: Your oven gets a bit smokey from the grease cooking out of the skin, but I have made this repeatedly, one of my favorites.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethHallKelley December 05, 2009

This is my first review...I created a username just so I could tell you that this is such an amazing recipe. It was easy to follow, with limited ingredients, but everyone was very impressed and it tasted delicious. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morewaterplease November 11, 2009

SOOOOOOOO good. My kids annihilated it so fast. So easy to make. I cooked it breast side down and added a little sage in with salt and fresh cracked pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A-lady February 25, 2010

This was yummy. Perfect recipe with great results without hassle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookee doe December 26, 2014

Wow!! This chicken is the BEST!! Will for sure be using this recipe from now on. Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird April 02, 2014

This technique is now our favorite. Thanks for sharing!! Chicken came out so crunchy and delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee May 23, 2013

Delicious!! I had a 4 lb bird that took about 1 1/4 hours to cook. I didn't use the whole tablespoon of salt and pepper because I thought it might be to much for my kids. The kids thought I was burning the house down because of the smoke. That's ok. The next time they see it they'll know what's for dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster March 06, 2013

Thanks for the pointers, I would have never thought about drying off my chicken. I for some strange reason always thought the water was good for it! My families Roasted Chicken Dinner was Amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpookyK November 15, 2012

I saw a similar recipe on a paleo website, but passed it by because I was looking for something with more seasonings that was different from how I usually fix roasted chicken. I thought just salt and pepper couldn't possibly be that flavorful. I came here and this was the first recipe I viewed and figured it was probably meant to be that I try it this way and that if it wasn't very good I'd shred it and do something different with it. I used a small cut up chicken and only half the amount of salt and pepper. This was so good!! I'd have to say it was the best chicken to ever come out of my oven!

The pepper made it a little too spicy for my 7-yr old son. I just peeled the skin off and he gobbled it up! Great recipe and from now on will be THE way I cook my chicken!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yoey August 22, 2012

This was so simple and sooooooo good! My husband said the meat tasted like fried chicken it was so juicy! What I loved most is that the seasonings were so simple, I can use the leftovers in other dishes and the flavors won't compete... This will be my go to roast chicken recipe from now on!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy May 07, 2012
Best Roasted Chicken You'll Ever Have!!