Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Roast Potatoes Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Roast Potatoes Ever

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2009

      These are delicious! I used olive oil, several cloves of garlic, oregano, thyme and rosemary. But the technique is fabulous! I even copied it into my special recipe book, which is a great honor I assure you. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      This is truly the best recipe for roasted potatoes I've ever had! I'm not a huge fan of potatoes,but this is a recipe that can change my mind! This has now become my "go to" potato recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Great potatoes! Used olive oil, some drippings from our roasted chicken, and bay leaves. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Wow, perfect taste and so crispy. Thanx for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      1. Garlic and butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This is exactly how I roast my potatoes, except with one minor difference. Just before I put the potatoes into the roasting pan, I lightly shake them in the saucepan - this causes the edges to become slightly damaged, and I find it makes them even crispier on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Thank you Mrs B! I've tried a few other recipes but never got the right texture. These are indeed crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. I used butter flavored crisco since that's all I had. This is a great recipe on it's own but next time I think I may add some chives, lemon and oregano or ranch dressing powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I have been making roast potatoes for about 25 years and not once have I ever been able to make them like these. You are so right Mrs B about THINKING we know how to make them. There is no question in my mind as to how to get potatoes crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. This recipe should be in everyone's book. Is it the short boiling that makes a difference? Or is it the hot casserole dish they go in? Maybe it's both. Either way, the difference is unbelievable. This is what I have always strived for. I will never make them any other way! Thank you for helping make the perfect roast potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These always turn out great! A perfect simple side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

    • on February 04, 2009

      These were fabulous - at last Ive mastered the roast potatoe !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Wonderful potatoes. Used olive oil and rosemary and baked in my convection oven. Perfection! Thanks for posting Mrs B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Thank you for sharing how to make the perfect roasted potato. Mrs. B's summary says it all. The potatoes turned out just as described--beautifully browned and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I have made this recipe many times since I found it on here and have even given it to friends. It is fantastic! I was searching for a good roast potatoe recipe and have finally found it. I have even used sweet potatoes and they turn out really well. I always add garlic powder and basil to the potatoes rather than bay leaves and they are Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      These really are the "Best Roasted Potatoes Ever"! They don't stick to the pan like all the other roasted potatoes I've made and they taste great. I received many compliments on these potatoes. My kids devour these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Fabulous! I have been experimenting for quite a while to get the perfect texture for roast potatoes and for potato wedges. By combining a couple of other techniques with this recipe, I was very happy with the result. I soaked the potatoes in ice water for 20 to 30 minutes. Then I drained and put in more cold water with salt. As stated in this recipe,I brought to the boil and then drained and dried. I chose to add olive oil rather than shortening and I seasoned with salt, pepper, and herbes de provence. I pre-heated the pan and then turned the potatoes onto it and popped it in the oven. They turned out really great-very nicely browned, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. I used Yukon Gold potatoes. So... I think I have finally found the solution to fabulous roast potatoes!Thanks, Mrs. B., your technique of bringing the potatoes to a boil makes a big difference to the end result!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Well all I can say is thank you very much for posting this recipe, Ive always had troubles roasting potatoes, not any more!! Easy to follow directions with a wonderful end result. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Wow!! These were great. Didn't add bay leaves though- maybe some fresh rosemary next time. I put the shortening and a little bit of bacon grease in a pyrex casserole to warm at 400 while I was doing the potatoes- used red potatoes as they are so flavourful this time of year and they turned out just as promised. Will definitely use this simple but effective recipe again. Thanks Mrs. B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Doesn't get much nicer and crispier than these potatoes! I used pure butter and some herbs and garlic can always be used as desired, but this roasting method is here to stay with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Turned out wonderful, seems you got the technique down pat. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Roast Potatoes Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.1
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    43%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites