Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Roast Potatoes Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Roast Potatoes Ever

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2009

      These are delicious! I used olive oil, several cloves of garlic, oregano, thyme and rosemary. But the technique is fabulous! I even copied it into my special recipe book, which is a great honor I assure you. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      This is truly the best recipe for roasted potatoes I've ever had! I'm not a huge fan of potatoes,but this is a recipe that can change my mind! This has now become my "go to" potato recipe! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Great potatoes! Used olive oil, some drippings from our roasted chicken, and bay leaves. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Wow, perfect taste and so crispy. Thanx for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I have been making roast potatoes for about 25 years and not once have I ever been able to make them like these. You are so right Mrs B about THINKING we know how to make them. There is no question in my mind as to how to get potatoes crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. This recipe should be in everyone's book. Is it the short boiling that makes a difference? Or is it the hot casserole dish they go in? Maybe it's both. Either way, the difference is unbelievable. This is what I have always strived for. I will never make them any other way! Thank you for helping make the perfect roast potato.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These always turn out great! A perfect simple side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      These were fabulous - at last Ive mastered the roast potatoe !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Wonderful potatoes. Used olive oil and rosemary and baked in my convection oven. Perfection! Thanks for posting Mrs B.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Thank you for sharing how to make the perfect roasted potato. Mrs. B's summary says it all. The potatoes turned out just as described--beautifully browned and tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I have made this recipe many times since I found it on here and have even given it to friends. It is fantastic! I was searching for a good roast potatoe recipe and have finally found it. I have even used sweet potatoes and they turn out really well. I always add garlic powder and basil to the potatoes rather than bay leaves and they are Yumm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      These really are the "Best Roasted Potatoes Ever"! They don't stick to the pan like all the other roasted potatoes I've made and they taste great. I received many compliments on these potatoes. My kids devour these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Fabulous! I have been experimenting for quite a while to get the perfect texture for roast potatoes and for potato wedges. By combining a couple of other techniques with this recipe, I was very happy with the result. I soaked the potatoes in ice water for 20 to 30 minutes. Then I drained and put in more cold water with salt. As stated in this recipe,I brought to the boil and then drained and dried. I chose to add olive oil rather than shortening and I seasoned with salt, pepper, and herbes de provence. I pre-heated the pan and then turned the potatoes onto it and popped it in the oven. They turned out really great-very nicely browned, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. I used Yukon Gold potatoes. So... I think I have finally found the solution to fabulous roast potatoes!Thanks, Mrs. B., your technique of bringing the potatoes to a boil makes a big difference to the end result!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Well all I can say is thank you very much for posting this recipe, Ive always had troubles roasting potatoes, not any more!! Easy to follow directions with a wonderful end result. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Wow!! These were great. Didn't add bay leaves though- maybe some fresh rosemary next time. I put the shortening and a little bit of bacon grease in a pyrex casserole to warm at 400 while I was doing the potatoes- used red potatoes as they are so flavourful this time of year and they turned out just as promised. Will definitely use this simple but effective recipe again. Thanks Mrs. B.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Doesn't get much nicer and crispier than these potatoes! I used pure butter and some herbs and garlic can always be used as desired, but this roasting method is here to stay with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Turned out wonderful, seems you got the technique down pat. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      great potatoes.dee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Our guests let my 17 month old into the kitchen and he made straight for the stove (gas knobs are sooo fun to turn) so at the most crutial moment while I was transfering the potatoes to the hot oven dish (I forgot to use a baking tray) I rescued DS and I'm sure lost a lot of the oven heat while I shovelled people out of the kitchen, never mind! These were still excellent :) I will be making these again and again in the future becuase finially they were crunchy on the outside and softer in the middle, something I've never got right until now. Sans guests and kids I think I can perfect this recipe to indeed make the best roast potatoes ever.. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 5 stars ! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      These were really very good. I liked how they didnt stick to the pan!! I will make my potatoes this way from now on!! I did add fresh rosemary instead of bay leaves and doubled the recipe!! Thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Fabulous potatoes! I opted to not use the bay leaves, as the kids aren't all that fond of the flavor. Crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Roast Potatoes Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.1
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    43%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes