Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2004

      okay, i am embarrassed almost to post my review, bcz it is so... well, here goes. Anyway, i am pg and hate cooking right now. I did all my grocery shopping at mach2 with four littles in the van outside, waiting, one of them sick as a dog. I thought i had *two* varities of dijon at home, as well as a German artisanal mustard. Got home, homeschooled, etc - time to make dinner. all i had was French's mustard (you know that stuff all moms have in their fridge for those days when you cave in and feed your children the lovely euphemistically called weinie dogs?) - so.... i used it. No, i didn't wait for my husband to come home and make him go to the grocery store, nor did i pack up my brood. I just closed my eyes, smeared it on and stuffed it in the oven. apart from the scrofulous color, though, i was so relieved to find it was delicious! And the gravy it made was maybe the best ever! (and we make roasts all the time, being in ranch country in the middle of the mad cow crisis here in Canada). Anyway, it gets even worse. Dh took the whole 1/2 roast that was left for his lunch, but i didn't know and was fantasizing about stroganoff all morning (he hates it, so i make it for lunch with the littles!) - when i found it was gone, i was resourceful, cooked up a pound of ground beef, added the leftover gravy and boiled potatos that we had had the night before, and had a delicious albeit somewhat declasse lunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      Just had to drop a note. I made this for the second time last night. We had dinner guest and everyone loved it. I used a eye of round roast. The favor was unforgetable. Loved the topping and the presentation was beautiful. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      This was great, a lovely combination of flavors! I used a bottom round roast and it came out nice and tender. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Wow!! Loved the simplicity. Prior to a cross-country move, I was emptying the freezer, looking for something easy and elegant to fo with this really quite magnificent 10 pound bone-in rib-eye roast. Wonderful flavor! (I'm not generally a fan of horseradish, but you've changed my mind.) it was difficult to get the mixture to adhere to the meat, even though I had dried it thoroughly. MAybe next time I can get that to work better. And there will be MANY next times! Thanks for this terrific recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I served this up the other night for dinner guests. They too gave it five stars. This was definately a keeper. I made mine with Sirloin tip roast. I scored the beast with half inch deep slits spaced about 1 inch apart to hold the goop. Worked out great. I made a gravy with the pan dripping by adding a little wine, kitchen bouquet, and corn starch. I'll be serving this again, for sure!! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      WOW! COUNTRY LADY WOW! This was without a doubt the best roast I have ever made, even though I didn't have the exact ingredients, it still tasted out of this world. I cooked a 2.5 roast for 80 min. for a lovely rare roast. I had to sub ingredients. I used the following: bold & spicy mustard, horseradish cream, and roasted garlic. Thank you for a new family favourite that we will enjoy for years to come...Kudos

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Thanks for sharing, CountryLady, this recipe is a winner. I used a 6 lb eye of round and it was done to juicy perfection in about 2 hrs.The aroma of the rub while cooking will drive you nuts, so be forewarned. Like mamazee,all I had on hand was the regular yellow mustard, so the color was a bit odd, but don't let that stop you from trying this one out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      I tried this coating with an Eye of Round Roast. Added a great flavor and I will use it again. Thank you for posting recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      This flavorful coating is delicious. I wasn't sure of the weight on the rib roast I had (we buy from the farm and they only label by cut, not weight). So I "guesstimated" the weight at around 4 pounds. I roasted for about 90 minutes and oooo-boy, it was rare! But I like it that way so no problem. Thanks for a keeper, CL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Possibly the best roast I have ever eaten! Very moist and flavorful. I made this recipe for a friend with severe allergies to garlic and milk so I had to take out the garlic clove & butter but never even missed it. I added some rosemary and fresh ground pepper & salt to the rub and poured beer in the bottom of the pan to add flavor. I threw in some some olive oil coated potatoes and carrots in the bottom of the pan to round out the meal. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I couldn't believe that this was so easy and it worked! I have never cooked a roast until last night (a special dinner for my mother) and it was so easy, turned out beautifully moist and tender and so well received I will definitely cook it again. Thanks Country Lady for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This is delicious, I used a rolled 3lb roast and cooked for 90 minutes, it was cooked to perfection for our tastes. I loved the flavour of the coating and will make this again. Served with mashed potatoes, roast pumpkin, carrot & swede and baby peas. We enjoyed our family Sunday roast, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was okay, but I've had better roasts. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Wonderful recipe. My whole family loved it. I used a round tip roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Great recipe, very tasty, my whole family loved it!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      This was very good. The only things I will do different next time are to salt and pepper the meat before adding the rub and to score the meat and put some of the rub in the pockets. It tasted good, but the presentation wasn't that appetizing with all the "goop" on top. Great recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      I don't know what happened to mine. The meat came out very dry. Will try it again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I used a sirloin tip roast, and had to make an emergency substitution with Beaver brand "sweet hot" mustard. It was delish! So easy to make, and a hit at the dinner table. I look forward to trying it with the dijon mustard. Oh, and I added plenty of fresh-cracked pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

    • on May 14, 2005

      I'm SO happy to find this here at Zaar! I've made this a few times, but then I lost my copy and so haven't made it in quite some time. But in searching for Canadian recipes for my public Canada Cooks cookbook, I came across this. Yay! I remember my entire family always enjoyed it; I'm tickled I'll be able to make this tasty, easy recipe again. I highly recommend this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (7 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.8
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    93%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 95.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    standing ribs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites