48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made two versions of it, with bacon and without bacon.. I love the with bacon but for my semi vegitarian friend I left it out in a portion of the salad. Great taste (even withou the bacon) Thanks Lennie it's a keeper

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 18, 2002

this was great, i followed the recipe exactly other than i used real mayo, since that was what was i had on hand. i served this at a bbq and it was a definate hit. BF has requested it twice since then. the bacon really makes this dish in my opinion, but all the flavors mix well together. another great one lennie!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty August 28, 2002

I just love the flavors in this salad. I don't eat bacon, so I used artificial bacon bits. Yummy, thanks Lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 20, 2004

I love this salad! I have had it before at bbq's and potlucks and its so good! Thanks for posting a great recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee November 16, 2003

Excellent salad and loved the addition of the tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 24, 2014

I made this last night exactly as written except I used a different variation of the cheese. I used Sargento Chef Blends Shredded 4 State Cheddar Cheese, super fine sugar, and regular mayo. I cooked fresh Oscar Myer thick bacon which required only 4 strips instead of 8. It has a really great taste! I used to make this without the cheese adn bacon but it does indeed make it better. This is now on my favorites and I have added it to my personal hardcopy recipe book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Telida's Gourmet Kitchen March 10, 2013

Delicious! I made two changes: I cut amount of sugar in half and used a goat milk white cheddar. Very easy to put together. Will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey September 30, 2012

Somewhat high in fat, though very tasty as a result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smig52 January 28, 2012

I took this to a cookout & everyone loved it - including me who doesn't care for bacon in my food! Loved the fact that it had tomatoes too. As some others suggested I added a handful of raisins & sunflower seeds which turned out great. My six yr old ate it up! Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boofus7 May 09, 2011

Tasty salad. When I tasted the dressing, I was afraid it would be too sweet but it worked well with the rest of the ingredients. I have made it with and without cheese. It's better with (isn't everything), but it works fine without it. It also works nicely with broccoli slaw mix. Thanks, Lennie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle May 03, 2011
Best Raw-Broccoli Salad