210 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW! What a GREAT cookie this recipe makes! I did make a change regarding the amount of butter used in the recipe. Instead of 1 cup of butter, I cut the amount in half and substituted and extra 1/2 cup of pumpkin! These cookies turned out fantastic! They are really moist and delicious! The glaze is really sweet, but I think it goes really well with the cookie! I can't wait to try them tomorrow (like the others suggested) to see how they taste! Thank you for a great recipe, Sara! We will certainly be using this one often! :) ** The glaze is great to use for coating nuts, too!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaMeag December 16, 2009

If I would have rated this cookie recipe the day I made it, I would have only given it three stars. It's a good thing I waited because these cookies taste soooooooooo much better the second day!!! The day I made them, the cookies seemed a little bland and the glaze seemed a little sweet. However, after the second day, the glaze and cookie seemed to join forces to bring out a full body of flavor. The only change I made was to sprinkle the glazed cookies with chopped walnuts. Great recipe..........if you have the patience to wait for the flavors to blend! Thanks, Sara!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear November 19, 2006

My favorite cookies in the world! I love these cookies! I've been cooking for team of middle school wrestlers, and these were the only cookies they actually thought to ask for repeat of. I made them ahead of time for the kids once and that was a mistake. I had to make them again :) I LOVE these cookies. Edited to add: I've adapted these also to make for my toddlers. I cut out the butter, adding instead a TB of oil and doubling the pumpkin. I then cut the sugar nearly in half. I also used whole grain spelt flour and I did replace the egg with flax meal and water (egg sensitivity). I also did not glaze them. The kids loved them - when I was cleaning the bathroom, they snuck off to eat more! DH even liked them this way and if it's not sweet enough for you, you can still glaze them - still taste amazing, plus you get a little less sugar and more pumpkin! They do take a little longer to cook this way though.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laugh2survive November 02, 2009

Delicious cookies! Soft and cakey with a delicious penuche frosting (do not omit!). Plenty of frosting for the cookies, used 2 cups powdered sugar for the perfect consistency. Used a silicone basting brush to frost the cookies which was so fast and easy. Thanks for sharing that tip, and thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 04, 2010

Very yummy cookie, tastes like pumpkin pie, and I like the cake-y texture for a change. I added just a touch of freshly grated nutmeg to the dry ingredients, and put a walnut half on top of the icing. As one other reviewer mentioned, the glaze is VERY sweet (almost too sweet for me); next time I will try using a cream cheese frosting instead. Thanks for posting - I'm sure I'll be making them again. -M =)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert October 13, 2006

LOVE this recipe! My only complaint is that I didn't get quite 48 cookies out of it! These cookies are soft and moist and the because the cookie is not overly sweet the glaze is delicious on them. I used a basting brush to put on a thin layer of the glaze because my oldest always complains about things being too sweet, but not this time...Rave reviews all around. This is a keeper for sure!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
futrcnm_11727882 December 11, 2010

Very good!! I loved them and made them just as the recipe stated. We even loved the glaze - it was the perfect finishing touch. The only thing I did was top each one with a pecan half. Mmmm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Sarah November 07, 2010

WOW This a fabulous cookie. We just tried it and since have had to make 4 more batches. Friends and family can't get enough. I did up the spices by adding pumpkin pie spicing and they are awesome. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cbuum December 26, 2009

Awesome ! Some of the best cookies , of any kind, ever ! We cooked the first batch a little less (barely any brown on the edges) and after they were completely cooled, they nearly melt in your mouth! Great idea to use a silicone basting brush for the glaze. Better the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Girl-R-D October 08, 2014

This is a great recipe. The whole family loved it. I could eat the frosting all by itself..<br/>I used the 2 tsp. cinnamon and added<br/>2 tsp Nutmeg<br/>1 tsp ground ginger <br/>used the whole can about 1.5 C<br/>and just added 1/2 tsp more baking powder and soda.<br/>bake longer but really turned out moist, and Great. these will not stick around for long...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thomas K. September 19, 2014
Best Pumpkin Cookies