Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Pecan Sandies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Pecan Sandies

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2003

      Yummy! My mom is going to love these when I bring some home for Christmas. She is a big fan of pecans and this is right up her alley. Of couse the man and I also really like them. I double rolled them in the sugar like Barb suggested. I will say that these don't really spread much while baking so I was able to put them pretty close together. Thanks Barb for a new Christmas cookie standard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      These cook up light. I think next time I will brown the pecans first. I double rolled them in the powered sugar… perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I loved these. I prefer them without the powdered sugar, just a hint of sweetness. I agree with the other reviewer, they are too delicate for a cresent shape. I refridgerated them overnight and they were hard to shape even into balls. They don't spread much so you can space them closer if you like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      These are awesome. I skip the powdered sugar as well as the chilling. I just briefly microwave the butter so it's malleable enough to work with but not so soft that they would lose their form when you're shaping. Chilling for hours would just make it a tremendous pain to shape. I also add two cups of dried cranberries. Be sure to use a huge bowl or you'll make a mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      Excellent recipe! My one difficulty was with the chilling of the dough. I did cool it in the frig overnight, and the dough became quite unmanageable. (My frig is pretty cold.) Next time I'll chill it just about an hour so the cookie scoop can still work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      These cookies were very very good. They are like mexican wedding cookies or little balls of shortbread with pecans inside. I am on this crazy pecan loving kick right now so they were perfect for me. Just what I was looking for. Very easy and absolutely no complications. Practically idiot proof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I didn't have 4 hours to chill the dough, but it seemed to work fine after only 2 1/2 hours in the frige. I highly recommend a stand mixer as the dough gets harder to mix as you add the flour. I used a small 1.5" ice-cream type scoop, then flattened the balls just slightly. I did double roll with powdered sugar, as the first coat seemed to soak into the cookie. (You can never have too much sugar, in my opinion!) Everyone loved them, and I will definitely make again! Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Very good cookie! I cut the recipe in half, as I am the only one in the family that will eat nuts, and I LOVE pecans! The recipe turned out fine with only half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      These were really good. I did have to bake them an extra 5 minutes or so, but that could be my oven, etc. Toasting the pecans first definitely added alot of flavor. I used a small scoop and got 46 of these out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      These little gems are addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Just made these with my 9 year old daughter. We had fun making them and eating them. They are so easy to make and I like them better without the powdered sugar. Make sure they cool before rolling them in it or the sugar will melt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Outstanding cookie. Besides being delicious they are super simple to make. I made them for my holiday cookie plates and everyone wanted the recipe. I agree with others that you can put these closer than 2" apart as they do not spread at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Very good cookie. Hard to eat just one of these little morsels! For some reason, I had better luck rolling the cookies in the powdered sugar after they were cooled, not while warm. I think next time, I may try dipping some of them in melted chocolate. These will be on my yearly Holiday cookie tray from now on, as well. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This a very good recipe. I didn't have pecans,used walnuts and they were great. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Very good recipe. My sister used to make these at Christmas and I wanted to make them this year. The only problem I encountered was that I shaped the cookies into cresents which had a tendency to break apart when I coated them with powdered sugar. I recomend shaping these into balls! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Thanks, Barb! These little gems are also part of my childhood. I think they taste a little like heaven must taste. This is an absolutely perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

    • on December 14, 2006

      I made these for my mom for christmas. I have to be honest in that I don't like any pecan sandies so these are not my favorite. but my kids and husband have been snatching them up pretty quickly to dunk in their milk and coffee. The recipie was easy and went to gether quickly. I made all the dough into balls, and let my 2 yr old put them on the pans when it was time to cook them. I used half butter half butter flavored crisco, half course chopped pecans and half finely chopped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Pecan Sandies

    Serving Size: 1 (1390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.8
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    65%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 67.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites