26 Reviews

Yummy! My mom is going to love these when I bring some home for Christmas. She is a big fan of pecans and this is right up her alley. Of couse the man and I also really like them. I double rolled them in the sugar like Barb suggested. I will say that these don't really spread much while baking so I was able to put them pretty close together. Thanks Barb for a new Christmas cookie standard!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 December 21, 2003

These cook up light. I think next time I will brown the pecans first. I double rolled them in the powered sugar… perfection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom December 29, 2008

I loved these. I prefer them without the powdered sugar, just a hint of sweetness. I agree with the other reviewer, they are too delicate for a cresent shape. I refridgerated them overnight and they were hard to shape even into balls. They don't spread much so you can space them closer if you like.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CArabbit December 25, 2007

Delicious!! I followed the recipe except for chilling the dough, since other reviewers had trouble with it. I was able to form crescent shapes without any problem. I also cut the recipe in half and made only 24. I must say they were scrumptious! I say WERE because they didn't last very long! I plan on making these often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runnersway October 01, 2015

These are awesome. I skip the powdered sugar as well as the chilling. I just briefly microwave the butter so it's malleable enough to work with but not so soft that they would lose their form when you're shaping. Chilling for hours would just make it a tremendous pain to shape. I also add two cups of dried cranberries. Be sure to use a huge bowl or you'll make a mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TigerNightmare April 07, 2014

Excellent recipe! My one difficulty was with the chilling of the dough. I did cool it in the frig overnight, and the dough became quite unmanageable. (My frig is pretty cold.) Next time I'll chill it just about an hour so the cookie scoop can still work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland December 17, 2011

These cookies were very very good. They are like mexican wedding cookies or little balls of shortbread with pecans inside. I am on this crazy pecan loving kick right now so they were perfect for me. Just what I was looking for. Very easy and absolutely no complications. Practically idiot proof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco November 21, 2010

Wonderful recipe! I didn't have 4 hours to chill the dough, but it seemed to work fine after only 2 1/2 hours in the frige. I highly recommend a stand mixer as the dough gets harder to mix as you add the flour. I used a small 1.5" ice-cream type scoop, then flattened the balls just slightly. I did double roll with powdered sugar, as the first coat seemed to soak into the cookie. (You can never have too much sugar, in my opinion!) Everyone loved them, and I will definitely make again! Thanks, Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katavenger June 19, 2010

Very good cookie! I cut the recipe in half, as I am the only one in the family that will eat nuts, and I LOVE pecans! The recipe turned out fine with only half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn January 14, 2010

These were really good. I did have to bake them an extra 5 minutes or so, but that could be my oven, etc. Toasting the pecans first definitely added alot of flavor. I used a small scoop and got 46 of these out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikey Kone December 24, 2009
Best Pecan Sandies