23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is awesome,,,,,,, Hint: Substitute orange pop for the water in the cake mix AND use 1/2 cup cold orange pop in the jello instead of plain cold water. :)))))))

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anabeck April 22, 2011

This is an excellent cake with wonderful flavor. I couldn't stop eating it! Be sure to refrigerate before serving, as it's best when it's cold.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelAnn March 13, 2010

I've had this cake before and made this cake before. I've lost my recipe so started following this one. The recipe started to not make sense so I found the one from Duncan Hines website and it was very different. There is way too much water in this recipe! I mixed up the jello mixture and poured about 1/3 of it on and the cake floated to the top of the pan!! I checked the DR recipe and I calls for 1-3.5oz box jello and 1 c water. That would've been sufficient. My cake is really soggy now. Great :( I followed the DH frosting recipe so at least that's going to turn out right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindypie May 18, 2014

While casually browsing- ok, I?ll just admit it- while getting my daily Pinterest fix, I found a recipe for Orange Creamsicle Cake. What could be better than combining the taste of Orange Creamsicles and Cake? Too many times recipes on Pinterest don?t live up to my expectations but this recipe did. The cake was delicious. <br/>After reading through the recipe I thought the cake might be soggy because the recipe calls for pouring jello into holes poked into the baked cake, but the cake was just right. It was moist but not soggy. The flavor of the cake combined with the frosting was really good. It tasted just like an orange creamsicle. The frosting combines all kinds of yumminess: cream cheese, jello, pudding, and whipped topping. This is not a recipe you want to try if you are on a diet. This cake is very easy to make. It is best if chilled before serving. Orange Creamsicle Cake is the perfect fun and refreshing treat for a hot day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kay H. September 13, 2013

This was an instant hit in our house. I've already made this several times. I never find the orange cake mix but vanilla mix works fine. Also, I forgot to pick up the cream cheese one time and the frosting was still marvelous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teenylee June 26, 2013

I just made this cake for Easter tomorrow, and I ate all the corners out and poured in some icing to cover it up. (Shhhh!) :) It was soooo good. When you make the frosting, don't make the same mistake I did by pouring in the Jello and pudding mix and letting it set for too long. (I wouldn't pour those in unless you have your beater in hand.) It turned out kinda clumpy, but it tastes just fine to me!! This recipe is extremely easy. I cannot cook. at. all. And I made this and it's scrupmdiddlyumptuous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssarahmaxx April 07, 2012

I've made this for a potluck and got rave reviews. I could not find the orange cake so I used a yellow cake mix. One time I also added one packet of unsweetened orange cool aid to the cake to make it orange. Thanks for a great easy recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii June 21, 2009

Made this last night for my little boy's 3rd birtday (he specifically asked for an orange cake with orange frosting). It was really good! The cake tasted like a Push-up-Pop. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma December 31, 2008

Excellent recipe. Very easy to make and very, very tasty. I am working on another one now for my sons birthday party tommorow. I am making one change however, in place of orange cake and jello I am trying white cake with margarita jello. Hopefully it will be just as tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjwilliams April 12, 2008

This was really good but I had a problem with the jello. I let it set up just until the consistency was a little thicker but it left some hard chunks on the cake later on. Not sure what happened but next time I will just pour it directly over the cake to avoid this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom March 24, 2008
Best Orange Creamsicle Cake