8 Reviews

Count me in as a fan of this recipe. Like another reviewer noted, it's got a few more steps and left the kitchen a mess, but the taste and attractiveness is worth it. Heed the directions to let cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes. I tried turning over to the streusel side a bit sooner than that, and one side fell apart a little. It still looked good when sliced and certainly didn't affect taste, but I could have kicked myself for being so impatient. Next time I'll know better. The best blueberry coffee cake I've eaten!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers September 21, 2011

This is the first time I've ever written a review, I made the recipe exactly as written and the cake turned out looking absolutely beautiful. But the amount of cinnamon was so over powering that I couldn't even taste the blueberries, not even the sweetness of the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonja M. March 09, 2016

Put the pecan streusel in the bottom of the pan! Then add a layer of batter, then berries and sugar streusel, repeat, spreading a third layer of batter after the second berry layer. I had enough sugar streusel to cover the "top." I baked it on the lowest rack for 40 minutes and switched it to the middle rack for a final 20 minutes (at sea level). Rave reviews! It's a large cake and more substantial than a breakfast coffee cake. Delicious and moist and just perfect with a cup of coffee! Husband says: "Keep this recipe!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherbee2 September 13, 2015

The BEST Blueberry Coffee Cake! No doubt this was a blue ribbon winner, it would take the prize in any contest I was judging. It does have the extra steps, not a big inconvenience for the nice clean look the cake has when done. yummmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VIRGINIA S. July 08, 2015

This is a FABULOUS coffee cake!! So glad I made it. Was looking for a yummy cake that I could use up tasty local New England blueberries and this cake was a great recipe to stumble upon. It's definitely top notch A+. I did though increase the amount of blueberries slightly as well as increasing the lemon peel (approximately used the peel from 2 1/2 - 3 lemons), and used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had on hand. No wonder it won a state fair ribbon. Thank you TXOLDHAM for another great addition to my "Keeper File".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ForeverMama August 20, 2013

Definitely deserved a blue ribbon......and even tho requires more steps than a lot of cakes the end result pays off. Some more lemon zest for us but otherwise wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 October 12, 2011

Just made this and it turned out fabulous, buttery rich and oh so moist, I increased the lemon zest to 2 tablespoons and also the blueberries to 1-1/2 cups, the streusel is out of this world, thank you for posted this great recipe Tx! this was made for KK's Strawberry patch tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 03, 2010

Absolutely delicious! This recipe is a little more complicated than most coffeecake recipes I've seen, but worth every bite. Super moist too! I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for the recipe :0)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SemiSweetooth June 11, 2009
Best of Show Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake