242 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i really can't bake anything! I'm learning?.and i made these with success! my husband is an ex chef of a 5 star hotel and he even had a million compliments for me!:-) really yummy cookies thanks for the recipe!:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline T. May 24, 2014

I just finish baking these cookies, they are delicious! I followed the recipe, precisely. It came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rombl May 18, 2014

Really excellent! You know how when you have raisins that have been baked and they get hard and burned? That's doesn't happen with this recipe at all! They stay very tender and are perfect. The best oatmeal raisin cookies ever. They are best within a few days of baking. Makes a lot, but you will have no problem with them hanging around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sanot May 13, 2014

This is really one of the best oatmeal cookies I've tasted. Soaking the raisins in the egg really made a huge difference. The cookies are soft. Thanks for sharing this Merrie! I documented the process in my blog.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauriedy_1288 May 01, 2014

These cookies are ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. Soaking makes a world of difference. I thought they weren't going to be this good because it was an easy recipe, but boy was I wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mykids2_12415081 March 19, 2014

These cookies are Amazing! Instead of butter I used organic coconut oil and they came out so delicious! I highly recommend replacing butter with coconut oil. These may be the tastiest cookies I've ever made. And I make a lot of tasty cookies!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer M. March 19, 2014

did not have quick oats so i rehydrated whole oats, and mixed the eggs in after it cooled. i never use as many eggs or butter as the recipe says, but i added some coconut cream, and used brazil nuts, because i had them. i think you could double up on the raisins, i buy raisins from the bins and they are a bit more moist. i forgot the salt first batch, then added it to the rest, and can't tell really. i spooned them as drop cookies, and had to boost the oven to 400. i use my cast iron griddle and parchment paper, and change batches each 15 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davee r. March 14, 2014

Easy to make Dairy Free! - These cookies turn out plump, chewy and flavorful. To make dairy-free, I just substituted the 1 cup of butter for a 1 cup combination of coconut oil and non-dairy margarine. I also didn't have raisins, but used cranberries instead. So yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmcal82 March 02, 2014

the idea for soaking the raisins is great and earns this recipe five stars just on that alone. It has way too much butter for my diet, so I only put in 1/4 cup (1 stick) instead of the 4 sticks it called for. It also has too much sugar (most things do, I don't have a sweet tooth) so I put 1/4 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used walnuts instead of pecans as I had them on hand. As I was mixing all ingredients together I drizzled 1/4 cup olive oil and 6 Tbs of water over the mixture just to bring it together. I formed dough balls by hand (wetting my hands with a bit of water) and then used the back of a wooden spoon (wet) to flatten them out a bit. Baked as per instructions and Wow! They are super tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reddogtavern January 01, 2014
Best Oatmeal Cookies