251 Reviews

~AWESOME COOKIES~ THIS is by far beyond a "GREAT COOKIES!" I did make 2 small changes; I added a tablespoon of butter than what was called for & I added about 1/4 teaspoon of allspice to recipe. THE PICTURE THAT IS POSTED TO GO W/ THESE COOKIES DO NOT DO THIS RECIPE JUSTICE. I agree,....soaking the raisin in the egg & vanilla mixture for 1 hour is a luscious trick. I pondered a lot on which recipe to use. the SOAKING THE RAISINS IN EGGS & VANILLA MIXTURE FOR I HOUR made the smartest sense to me. I AM SO GLAD I TRIED YOUR RECIPE. I HAD A REALLY GOOD RECIPE THAT I HAD LOST OVER 20 YEARS AGO...WAH-LAH I WILL NEVER CRY OVER THAT LOSS. SINCERELY THANK YOU ....& HAPPY BAKING

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILOVEYOUJACK May 21, 2013

This is it! This is the one you are looking for, look no further. Two choices, go to the greatest bakery and have the most perfect cookie in the world or make this recipe and have lots of them. Seriously, it's good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usafwife_403304341 May 10, 2013

Definitely THE BEST & ULTIMATE oatmeal cookies!! Even though I managed to over bake the last tray erroneously, they are still crispy and chewy at the same time. Absolutely love this easy and fail proof recipe ^_^

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ricreg April 07, 2013

I must admit I was skeptic about how this recipe would turn out when I saw how dry the dough was while mixing but was pleasantly suprised when I pulled the first batch out of the oven. The aroma was also amazing! I used half raisins ans half craisins, no nuts and they were "to die for." One tip while mixing if using a hand mixer...I set my mixing bowl in a clean sink while mixing as I had some difficulty with cookie dough flying off the mixer intermittenly. This helped with clean up afterward. In my 35 years of baking cookies, this is by far the best oatmeal recipe with no changes necessary. Just remember to have your glass of milk ready when these delectable cookies come out of the oven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingCarol0325 April 03, 2013

delicious and textured just right! and is is the texture that brings a depth to the cookie experience. Other reviews mentioned not to skip the raisin soaking and it does seem to make a difference, Its a very forgiving recipe if you need to substitute, I used up my raisins and didn't have enough so I supplemented chopped dates to the soaking mixture,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ostlies February 25, 2013

Like this recipe because it has a little less fat/margarine/butter. Someone commented these are 'cakey' and not chewy bendable OC you may be used to.True. My experience is to cut back on the flour amount. Maybe b 1/3 C? I used 1 tsp BPowder and 1 tsp Baking Soda,. I also added a little Maple Syrup and Allspice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXTXTX April 18, 2012

These are amazing!!! best oatmeal cookies I have ever had/made. Do not like the reviews that give this low stars after saying they changed the recipe!!!! Do no believe them it is a great recipe. Husband and son just ate them up!! saving this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ValerieStixrud April 06, 2012

Simply the best! Soaking the raisins seems to put their flavour throughout the cookie. Love that it makes a nice big batch! Thanks. Update: everytime I think of an oatmeal cookie, this is the recipe I choose! I made them today with dried apricots cut up. Also very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doughy June 20, 2011

The cookies are really good. I add an extra 1/2 cup of oats because I like my cookies more round than flat. Such good flavor. This is definitely my go to Oatmeal cookie recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggiegalNY April 24, 2011

sooo good and good for breastfeeding mothers. I also added a bit of nutmeg and allspice. It gives it a wonderful smell and taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah G November 18, 2010
Best Oatmeal Cookies