243 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome. A nice mix of oatmeal and cookie dough texture! A good amount of raisins too. They stay chewy, which is the most important part of all! Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ittybitty July 05, 2003

This recipe is identical to "Oatmeal Cookies "the Best"" published in the excellent Colorado Cache Cookbook Published by Treasure Chest Books, 1997 ISBN 10: 0960394656 / ISBN 13: 9780960394654 pp. 329. <br/><br/>It truly is the best oatmeal cookie recipe, and the origin should be referenced in this post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbsintheMinded March 12, 2014

Yummy! I actually DO know at least one original source for this recipe! I have been making it for years out of a beloved cookbook, Colorado Cache. Exactly the same recipe. Never fails, never fails to impress. Original recipe in the book also suggests that you can throw in 1/2 cup wheat germ for part of oatmeal for healthier cookies, although I have never tried it that way. Am planning to jazz them up tomorrow with a few chocolate chips as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjacktoo December 17, 2013

These cookies were perfect just the way it's written. I wouldn't change a thing although I have added about a tablespoon of rum to the egg raisen mixture and soaked them for over a day in a covered container in the fridge. Also the egg soaks in alittle to much so I add about a tablespoon of water to them before adding to my mixture. Perfection!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmeat83 September 15, 2012

These were really really amazing, and I love having "the secret" to oatmeal raisin cookies. ;) I told my aunt about these, and she said another great secret is to substitute ground oats for half the amount of flour. Not only is it healthier, but it's fluffier. I'll always make my cookies like these, thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmJoMay October 31, 2007

These cookies are Amazing! Instead of butter I used organic coconut oil and they came out so delicious! I highly recommend replacing butter with coconut oil. These may be the tastiest cookies I've ever made. And I make a lot of tasty cookies!:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer M. March 19, 2014

The best oatmeal cookies ever! I cant even eat oatmeal cookies from stores now because they don't compare! I used cake flour and organic light brown sugar and they were wonderful! Soft, chewy... I even changed the raisins and pecans for cranberries and walnuts...wonderful! Thanks for the best first cookie recipe ever...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haletiff February 20, 2014

These are wonderful. Not too sweet and a perfect combination of chewy and slightly crisp on the edges. I made the following changes: only 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar; 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour + 1 cup all purpose flour; 1-1/2 tsp. kosher salt; used unsalted butter (recipe does not specify salted or unsalted); and toasted the pecans before adding them to the dough. I used a level 2-tsp. cookie scoop and the recipe yielded exactly 96 (8 dozen) cookies. I love the fact that this recipe is so simple and unfussy but produces, indeed, the best oatmeal cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorelei Lee February 17, 2014

These were exactly what I was craving! I always make my oatmeal cookies with Craisins (and almonds and chocolate chips) - and they work great in this recipe! Yum!<br/>I do concur with the earlier reviewer.. it's not a 'wet mix', so finish mixing with your hands.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura R. February 15, 2014

I have been searching for years and years for a good oatmeal cookiee recipe, and this FINALLY was it. I'm sure soaking the raisins is the key but the cookies were perfect and the flavor was exactly what I was looking for. This will be the only oatmeal cookie I bake from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suepotters January 03, 2014
Best Oatmeal Cookies