Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    238 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 238

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2013

      Definitely THE BEST & ULTIMATE oatmeal cookies!! Even though I managed to over bake the last tray erroneously, they are still crispy and chewy at the same time. Absolutely love this easy and fail proof recipe ^_^

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      I must admit I was skeptic about how this recipe would turn out when I saw how dry the dough was while mixing but was pleasantly suprised when I pulled the first batch out of the oven. The aroma was also amazing! I used half raisins ans half craisins, no nuts and they were "to die for." One tip while mixing if using a hand mixer...I set my mixing bowl in a clean sink while mixing as I had some difficulty with cookie dough flying off the mixer intermittenly. This helped with clean up afterward. In my 35 years of baking cookies, this is by far the best oatmeal recipe with no changes necessary. Just remember to have your glass of milk ready when these delectable cookies come out of the oven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      delicious and textured just right! and is is the texture that brings a depth to the cookie experience. Other reviews mentioned not to skip the raisin soaking and it does seem to make a difference, Its a very forgiving recipe if you need to substitute, I used up my raisins and didn't have enough so I supplemented chopped dates to the soaking mixture,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      Like this recipe because it has a little less fat/margarine/butter. Someone commented these are 'cakey' and not chewy bendable OC you may be used to.True. My experience is to cut back on the flour amount. Maybe b 1/3 C? I used 1 tsp BPowder and 1 tsp Baking Soda,. I also added a little Maple Syrup and Allspice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      These are amazing!!! best oatmeal cookies I have ever had/made. Do not like the reviews that give this low stars after saying they changed the recipe!!!! Do no believe them it is a great recipe. Husband and son just ate them up!! saving this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Simply the best! Soaking the raisins seems to put their flavour throughout the cookie. Love that it makes a nice big batch! Thanks. Update: everytime I think of an oatmeal cookie, this is the recipe I choose! I made them today with dried apricots cut up. Also very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      The cookies are really good. I add an extra 1/2 cup of oats because I like my cookies more round than flat. Such good flavor. This is definitely my go to Oatmeal cookie recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      sooo good and good for breastfeeding mothers. I also added a bit of nutmeg and allspice. It gives it a wonderful smell and taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      A really great cookie recipe that is now my favourite! Soaking the raisins makes all the difference it really makes them plump and juicy. I decreased the amount of sugar slightly,but I tend to do that will all sweet recipes so it has nothing to do with this particular recipe. Sometimes I even put a chocolate chip on the top of my cookies once they are almost done,just long enough for the chocolate to melt on the top. I have spenty years looking for a good oatmeal cookie recipe,I am so glad I came across this one,thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I made these last night, mostly for myself because the kids don't like oatmeal. Well, after baking the first batch I offered one to my teenaged son. After one bite he said, "Maybe I DO like oatmeal!" You are right about soaking the raisin, too. I followed the recipe and added an extra kick by putting a little dark rum into the eggs and vanilla. The raisins were so sweet and moist! Great recipe, Merrie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Excellent! Chewy on the inside, crisp on the outside, just perfect the way a cookie should be. Made as suggested, using 1/2 cup toasted wheat germ and all butter. Was amazed what a difference whacking the cookie sheet on the counter made, and surprised I'd never heard this before! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      "These are the BEST oatmeal cookies you've made!" said my husband. A definite keeper recipe! Update: This has become my go-to recipe for oatmeal cookies. Using half butter and half shortening works great, and I usually get 60 cookies with a bake time of about 9.5 minutes to prevent over-browning. Thanks very much for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Good stuff ! I used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening since I was running low on butter.. and added a little bit of chocolate chips since I had some left from a previous recipe... yum ! I Thanks for the easy recipe ! I cooked some longer for a crunchier cookie - and some less for a softer one - pleased all of us !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      These are very good cookies. The recipe is great, as is, but I can see that I might try some substitutions for the raisins next time (choc. chips, cinn. chips, chopped dried apricots, etc.). I will probably double the cinnamon because we love it, and I need to stick to the 10 minute bake time since any longer and they were a little overdone for our tastes. I will definitely be using recipe often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      These are indeed the best oatmeal cookies. I did omit the raisins, instead added pecans and cinnamon chips, also added a cup of Skor toffee chips, but that was unneccesary as the cookies are decided toffee-like without them, but who knows, maybe that did increase the yum factor! I think the 3 eggs instead of the usual 2, gave them more chewy inside and yet crisp outside. I will try 3 eggs on my next choc chip recipe. Thank you Merrie for sharing this!!! Kat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      These were really really amazing, and I love having "the secret" to oatmeal raisin cookies. ;) I told my aunt about these, and she said another great secret is to substitute ground oats for half the amount of flour. Not only is it healthier, but it's fluffier. I'll always make my cookies like these, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Most people frown at oatmeal cookies but everyone loves these cookies! I keep getting asked when I'm going to make them again! I actually made them vegan by substituting ground flax seed mixed with water for the eggs and 1/3 cup canola oil for the butter. They still turned out great! I had to leave out the pecans because I didn't have enough. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Quite a tasty and attractive cookie! Followed Chef 453119's advice in using half shortening/half butter (personal cookie preference), and they turned out great. Thanks for sharing your wonderful cookie recipe, and providing explicit directions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      These are really the best. I did make a couple of changes, as follows: I used 2 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter, I left out the cinnamon and used walnuts instead of pecans. A great cookie, and really good frozen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      Found these this morning and made them. In fact, the last tray is in the oven as I'm typing this. I changed the recipe for 48 cookies as I thought 72 was too much. I used a Pampered Chef small scoop (about a level tablespoon) and still got 66 cookies out of it! The house smells wonderful right now! I used walnuts instead of pecans and added a 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I'm not really an oatmeal cookie fan, I can take them or leave them. These however, I will definitely take. My 17-yr. old stepson hasn't come down to have any yet. I'm sure they won't last long once he has. Thanks for a great recipe. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.6
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    39%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 21.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 141.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes