Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    228 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 228

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2003

      Delicious cookies! My daughter and I made these together this afternoon. I found the directions to be very accurate - even down to the number of cookies. I used a small meatball scooper to measure and came up with exactly 72 cookies. They hold their shape well while baking - not much spreading at all. The raisins stayed moist and plump - I liked the unique method of pre-soaking them. On a personal note, I am so happy that Merrie shared this recipe online- I am part of the family mentioned in the description, but since I live very far away, I don't often get a chance to taste her yummy dishes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      The cookies are wonderful...I agree, the secret is in the 'egg-raisin-soak process'. I have discarded my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe and added this one to my file! Thanks for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      This is a great recipe. The cookies came out just crisp enough to be really delicious. Not too soft, not too crisp. My wife considers herself to be an Oatmeal Cookie connoisseur and she raved about the cookies. She even took some to her work place and everyone there enjoyed the cookies. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      I don't usually like cookies, I'm more interested in the dough...but these are more than great, they are awesome!!! I have had to make these 4 times since I got the recipe a week ago, and 3 of the 4 times I had to double the batch. I did add some nutmeg (1 tsp.) to the spices and a little less than 1/4 cup milk to the egg mix. Now I have neighborhood kids coming over just to see if I have baked any more of these wonderful little things. What an awesome recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      YUM! My fiance is very particular about oatmeal raisin cookies and he loved them! They have such a good flavor. I think I may add a few more raisins next time. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      Great oatmeal cookies! Better than my mother's recipe(don't tell her). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Best. Oatmeal. Cookies. EVER! Have made these 3 times in the past month....4 if you count the batch I'm getting ready to make and they are AMAZING! I've made with raisins, craisins, and mixed berries and they've all been terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      After searching for years I finally found the perfect Oatmeal Cookie recipe. My husbancd loves them and all the recipes I have tried never were quite to his liking. But, this recipe had him moaning how good they were. All other Oatmeal cookie recipes have been tossed out. Soaking the raisins made them moist and the cookies were firm but soft, not hard as a rock. LOVE!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Yummy! I actually DO know at least one original source for this recipe! I have been making it for years out of a beloved cookbook, Colorado Cache. Exactly the same recipe. Never fails, never fails to impress. Original recipe in the book also suggests that you can throw in 1/2 cup wheat germ for part of oatmeal for healthier cookies, although I have never tried it that way. Am planning to jazz them up tomorrow with a few chocolate chips as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      These cookies were perfect just the way it's written. I wouldn't change a thing although I have added about a tablespoon of rum to the egg raisen mixture and soaked them for over a day in a covered container in the fridge. Also the egg soaks in alittle to much so I add about a tablespoon of water to them before adding to my mixture. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      I registered, just so I could come here to say that this cookie recipe is amazing. I skipped the nuts, added another 1/2 c of raisins, a tsp of nutmeg, a half tsp of cloves, and a half tsp of allspice. AMAZING. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Awesome. A nice mix of oatmeal and cookie dough texture! A good amount of raisins too. They stay chewy, which is the most important part of all! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      This recipe is identical to "Oatmeal Cookies "the Best"" published in the excellent Colorado Cache Cookbook Published by Treasure Chest Books, 1997 ISBN 10: 0960394656 / ISBN 13: 9780960394654 pp. 329. <br/><br/>It truly is the best oatmeal cookie recipe, and the origin should be referenced in this post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      The best oatmeal cookies ever! I cant even eat oatmeal cookies from stores now because they don't compare! I used cake flour and organic light brown sugar and they were wonderful! Soft, chewy... I even changed the raisins and pecans for cranberries and walnuts...wonderful! Thanks for the best first cookie recipe ever...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      These are wonderful. Not too sweet and a perfect combination of chewy and slightly crisp on the edges. I made the following changes: only 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar; 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour + 1 cup all purpose flour; 1-1/2 tsp. kosher salt; used unsalted butter (recipe does not specify salted or unsalted); and toasted the pecans before adding them to the dough. I used a level 2-tsp. cookie scoop and the recipe yielded exactly 96 (8 dozen) cookies. I love the fact that this recipe is so simple and unfussy but produces, indeed, the best oatmeal cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      I have been searching for years and years for a good oatmeal cookiee recipe, and this FINALLY was it. I'm sure soaking the raisins is the key but the cookies were perfect and the flavor was exactly what I was looking for. This will be the only oatmeal cookie I bake from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      ~AWESOME COOKIES~ THIS is by far beyond a "GREAT COOKIES!" I did make 2 small changes; I added a tablespoon of butter than what was called for & I added about 1/4 teaspoon of allspice to recipe. THE PICTURE THAT IS POSTED TO GO W/ THESE COOKIES DO NOT DO THIS RECIPE JUSTICE. I agree,....soaking the raisin in the egg & vanilla mixture for 1 hour is a luscious trick. I pondered a lot on which recipe to use. the SOAKING THE RAISINS IN EGGS & VANILLA MIXTURE FOR I HOUR made the smartest sense to me. I AM SO GLAD I TRIED YOUR RECIPE. I HAD A REALLY GOOD RECIPE THAT I HAD LOST OVER 20 YEARS AGO...WAH-LAH I WILL NEVER CRY OVER THAT LOSS. SINCERELY THANK YOU ....& HAPPY BAKING

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      This recipe has become my goto recipe for oatmeal cookies. I don't know about "best", but these are a tasty oatmeal cookie. I am trying to make my cookies a little more nutritious so substituted 1 cup of white flour for 1 cup of whole wheat and 1 cup of sugar w/1 cup of Splenda. No one could tell the difference! Also, i make my cookies a little bigger I guess because I only get 48 cookies. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      This is it! This is the one you are looking for, look no further. Two choices, go to the greatest bakery and have the most perfect cookie in the world or make this recipe and have lots of them. Seriously, it's good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Definitely THE BEST & ULTIMATE oatmeal cookies!! Even though I managed to over bake the last tray erroneously, they are still crispy and chewy at the same time. Absolutely love this easy and fail proof recipe ^_^

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.4
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    39%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 94.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites