Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best New England Corn Chowda (Chowder) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best New England Corn Chowda (Chowder)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2001

      Great Recipe! Creamy, filling and the kids liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      My husband's comment says it all, "Is there more?" We all loved it! I didn't know what "light cream" was, so I used half-n-half. I also used pre-cooked bacon, and it worked just fine. I ended up using about 3 Tb of flour, for a nice creamy chowda. Thanks for sharing, this is bound to become a regular recipe in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. Here are my adjustments: I did use bacon fat but was out of bacon so I added some diced deli ham instead. Used heavy cream and milk (what i had), super sweet white corn (will use regular white corn next time) and I processed about 2 1/2 cups of the finished soup in food processor and added it back to the pot. My preference of texture. The taste was so good! I can't wait to try it with bacon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Loved the recipe, thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      This was really good and very simple to make. I used half and half for the cream. I have made it before and used 1 percent milk instead of the cream. I just put in 3 tbsp. of flour to thicken it a bit more. Still yummy but lighter and better for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      My mom and I , and rest of family have made corn chowder exactly the same way for years, some reviewers thought this should be spicier, I myself always thought corn chowder should be a rather sweet tasting dish (to bring out the natural sweetness of the corn) this is the perfect recipe for my husband and self. We usually have corn bread with this, (my late moms most favorite lunch ever), and maybe a salad occasionally. I will be making this today, as we are expecting (yet again) another snow storm here. Only change (we) make is we fry up a little salt pork, and add it diced to the chowder when served. I have used bacon in a pinch, but the salt pork is oh so good in this! Thanks for reminding me of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This recipe came out great! The only adjustments I made were to add a little celery and carrots to the onions, and add some flour to make a roux after the veggies were tender. For the corn, I used a 50/50 mixture of whole kernel and creamed. Tastes just as good as the best restaurant corn chowders!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This is really tasty. Everyone who I've served it to loves it. They might add their own salt or peper to it, but I would rather have to little than to much.One thing I would say is that it normally does take longer to really cook it and prep then is said, but that isn't a big deal...and maybe it is fine for some people. Thanks for posting this great recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Not as much flavor as we are used to, but it was ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This was just ok for us. Sorry! I should have known when it didn't say cream style corn it wouldn't be as good, as that is what gives corn chowder it's richness and flavor. Also, I used 1 lb. bacon and it was way too much for our tastes. Sorry but I don't think we will be making this again. There are much better recipes out there. I am going to keep checking and trying other ones until I find the "Best" one for us. Thanks for sharing though. Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I didn't use bacon (we didn't have any on hand) or onions (bf is allergic), and used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1 cup of milk instead of 2 cups of light cream (just what I had on hand) but it still came out good. For seasonings I added pepper, garlic, basil, and a pinch of red pepper, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This soup was good but I had to add some spices. My company liked it real well. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Great simple soup! To cut back on fat, I skipped adding the bacon fat to the soup, and crumbled the cooked bacon later. The flavors of the bacon did not blend in well, so next time I have to try it with the bacon fat in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      This was awesome! I was hesitant to try it but it was so yummy! I made it twice! I used left over corn on the cob and put about 4 ears in and instead of bacon I used ham cut into bite size pieces. Best chowda I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      I was a skeptic about this one. My mother-in-law makes a corn chowder that my husband loves. He now has a new favorite (although I'm not allowed to tell his mother). I added a bit more corn and used 1 1/2 cups half and half cream and topped it up with milk. I also thickened it as indicated. Wow! What a treat on our cold Canadian nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      After making this recipe for a year, now a family favorite, I thought it was time to review. It is an easy, quick chowda (yes I am from New England) to make which means I can make it up at the last minute. To make it faster, I skip the bacon and use 2 tbls of butter to saute the onions. On Saturday nights, I like to make this and serve it with a sandwich. Thank you for the recipe Jennifer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      This has become a staple food in my house. It's excellent and quick. I've tried adding some pre cooked chicken at the end of step 8 which makes it a bit heartier. I don't eat regular bacon; I had to add a bit of corn oil (step 4) since turkey bacon has so much less fat. I've also made it without the bacon using a little corn oil with the onions to serve to vegetarians. To cut down on fat, I use 10 ounces of cream and made up the rest (6 ounces) with milk. It is still delicious and very easy. I was sceptical that it would take only 30 minutes to cook, but it did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best New England Corn Chowda (Chowder)

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 660.6
     
    Calories from Fat 451
    68%
    Total Fat 50.1 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 23.2 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 117.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1084.0 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites