18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Recipe! Creamy, filling and the kids liked it too!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly1 December 08, 2001

My husband's comment says it all, "Is there more?" We all loved it! I didn't know what "light cream" was, so I used half-n-half. I also used pre-cooked bacon, and it worked just fine. I ended up using about 3 Tb of flour, for a nice creamy chowda. Thanks for sharing, this is bound to become a regular recipe in our house.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1012201 November 02, 2008

This is an excellent recipe. Here are my adjustments: I did use bacon fat but was out of bacon so I added some diced deli ham instead. Used heavy cream and milk (what i had), super sweet white corn (will use regular white corn next time) and I processed about 2 1/2 cups of the finished soup in food processor and added it back to the pot. My preference of texture. The taste was so good! I can't wait to try it with bacon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carah'sMama March 20, 2006

Loved the recipe, thank you for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelebell April 10, 2013

This was really good and very simple to make. I used half and half for the cream. I have made it before and used 1 percent milk instead of the cream. I just put in 3 tbsp. of flour to thicken it a bit more. Still yummy but lighter and better for you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebC March 27, 2013

My mom and I , and rest of family have made corn chowder exactly the same way for years, some reviewers thought this should be spicier, I myself always thought corn chowder should be a rather sweet tasting dish (to bring out the natural sweetness of the corn) this is the perfect recipe for my husband and self. We usually have corn bread with this, (my late moms most favorite lunch ever), and maybe a salad occasionally. I will be making this today, as we are expecting (yet again) another snow storm here. Only change (we) make is we fry up a little salt pork, and add it diced to the chowder when served. I have used bacon in a pinch, but the salt pork is oh so good in this! Thanks for reminding me of the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnylove in NEW ENGLAND February 23, 2013

This recipe came out great! The only adjustments I made were to add a little celery and carrots to the onions, and add some flour to make a roux after the veggies were tender. For the corn, I used a 50/50 mixture of whole kernel and creamed. Tastes just as good as the best restaurant corn chowders!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beantown Dave October 25, 2009

This is really tasty. Everyone who I've served it to loves it. They might add their own salt or peper to it, but I would rather have to little than to much.One thing I would say is that it normally does take longer to really cook it and prep then is said, but that isn't a big deal...and maybe it is fine for some people. Thanks for posting this great recipe! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creating Pearls September 06, 2009

No pictures cuz we couldn't wait to eat it and there was nothing left!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maree M. June 19, 2014

Not as much flavor as we are used to, but it was ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittanywigginnh August 19, 2009
Best New England Corn Chowda (Chowder)