Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      I made it by hand since I don't have a bread maker. It baked perfectly but I didn't care for the flavor. I found it real easy to cut into slices. Texture of the inside and outside was perfect. I tried it warm with butter on it. The rest I will use for sandwiches like tunafish and lunch meats...hopefully the flavor will taste better with those ingredients on it. I bought a loaf of zero carb bread and this taste just like that. I think im spoiled by the low carb bagels I buy at my local low carb store. They taste like real bread and is 5.7 net carbs per bagel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Excellent!! Added a tsp of salt, an additional 1/8 cup of vital wheat gluten and cut Splenda to 8 packets. I mixed in bread maker and baked in oven (375 first 10 minutes, 350 for additonal 15 min). Let completely cool, then I wrapped in plastic and refrigerated overnight. Had no trouble cutting it the next morning into 16 slices. Easy and tastes good. Great toasted, and it's so nice to have a sandwich! This is a keeper for low carbers!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Finally I can have a Tuna Sandwich instead of just tuna! I too cut the splenda to 8 pkts and added 1 tsp salt. Yes, it is very spongy so today I am going to freeze the loaf before I slice it and, yes, toasting it is the key to diminishing that bizarre spongy texture. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Just bought a bread machine because I saw this recipe... I LOVE it! I added 6 packets of splenda and 1/2 tsp of salt and it was still too sweet for my liking but I can't wait to experiment with less to no splenda and other italian spices and cheese. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Love it but a little sweet.. I cut it to 8 packets of Splenda and then added 1/2 tsp of salt to balance.. Perfect! This bread saves me from many of cravings. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I've tried making "this type" of bread before and chucked it after one taste. That being said... I toasted my first piece, added butter and YUM! I immediately made a grilled ham and cheese sandwich... extra YUMMY! I used it again tonight w/a chicken patty and loved it. I just got done making 2 more loaves to share with my husband. I am surprised I liked it so much because I DO NOT like the taste of flax seed. THE BEST recipe I've tried! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Nice to have bread again. It is not the same as high carb bread, but with some lunch meat or cheese and vegetables I can hardly tell the difference. Also really good toasted with butter, splenda and cinnamon or low carb jam. This bread has made it possible for me to stay low carb. Because I am diabetic that is really important.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This bread has been a lifesaver on my low-carb diet! I don't have a breadmaker so I've been making this by hand and then baking it in a loaf pan for 25 minutes at about 400 degrees. No matter what I do I can't seem to get it to rise, though. My favorite way to make it is to add the sugar (I use the Splenda blend) right at the end, by rolling the ball of dough around in the sugar - this creates a sweet, crunchy crust that is really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Wow! I am so happy to have bread back in my life! I followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception that I used 1 T. Splenda and 2 tsp. sugar. I hoped the yeast would take care of the real sugar. It turned out perfectly. The texture is very good. Tastes like "healthy" whole grain bread. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I am so thankful for this recipe! I usually make it a couple of times a week to satisfy bread cravings. Considering how few carbs there are in a slice it's really delicious. You may need to add butter to a slice before eating it to make it taste more like "real" bread. Thanks so much for posting this! Update: I have found that by adding a cup of vital wheat gluten rather than the 3/4 cup keeps the dough from being too watery. It adds about another gram of carb per slice but it's worth it. I also use almond flour in place of the soy flour and have cut the Splenda to one tablespoon. It's every bit as good if not better now. Thanks again for this low-carb staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

    • on February 05, 2009

      WOW! I thought I would try this because I love bread, but I wasn't expecting this to be sooooo yummy! This is better than any bread you can buy in the store. I've added a tablespoon of italian seasoning and it is great that way too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Hi this is my second time trying this recipe ! I'm a low-carber, so I just Loved the texture and taste of my loaf ! I have a 1.5 to 2.0 loaf bread machine. I simply doubled the recipe, and add a pinch of much needed salt. I like a light brown crust, as seen in my photo. There is a taste to it this time...You REALLY need to add all that Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is by far the best low carb bread I have ever made. My husband likes it too. I don't have a bread machine so I added an extra 1/4 cup of gluten flour, extra 1/4 cup soy flour, 1/3 cup oil instead of butter, 5 eggs instead of 1, 1 teaspoon salt and 1 tablespoon baking powder. It turned out great. I think the next time instead of the extra soy and gluten flour I am going to try 1/2 cup of almond meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      I had high hopes for this recipe when I saw the reviews so I baked it. Took a bite of it untoasted and buttered, tasted it and threw out the slice. Tried toasting it and it wasn't much better. If this is good bread then I will do without. Terrible. REALLY terrible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I made mine in the regular old oven. I used the tsp of real sugar suggested. I also added another 1/4 of a cup of wheat gluten and a few Tbsps of dry milk and a little more water so it was dough like. I let it raise to the lip of the bread pan and baked it in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes then turned it down to 350 for 15 minutes. I took it out and let it cool. The center did fall, so I might of let it raise too high. The center was still cooked through. I toasted it and put some butter and jam on it, loved it! I also plan to use it for french toast. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      In response to the one star person: Yes, the bread has a slightly different texture. So what! It is low carb, full of protein, delicious and ever so healthy. My husband and I are on a low carb plan and it is so nice to send him to work with a tuna salad or egg salad sandwich. Bread is what we missed the most and thanks to this recipe (the lowest carbs out there) we can have some. My advice though is to completely leave out the splenda and add one scant teaspoon of real suger (the yeast eats it)and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of yeast. It makes the bread rise better. I also add a teaspoon of salt for extra flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I have already made this three times this week. My husband and I both really like this. We do also suggest toasting it, it also brings out the flax seed flavor when you do this. I did cut down on the gluten the 2nd time and it was far less spongy. We now feel like we can have bread on our Atkin's diet, which is something we missed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Very spongy. It was a very weird texture and the flavor wasn't there either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      Totally loved it! Was spongy--would probably decrease gluten a bit. I used unground flax seeds and yogurt instead of butter. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    41%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 19.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 19.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites