95 Reviews

I tried to make this and it did not come out that great so I ended up going to Whole Foods and I found some great low carb bread from the Julian Bakery that only has 1 Net Carb. It is called Smart Carb bread and it is delicious!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaym79 December 27, 2010

This bread is very good!!! It is my first low carb recipe and we love it. I increased the ingredients 3/4 water, 1/2 ground flax seed, 1/2 soy flour, 1 and 1/2 tsp butter and 2 tsp yeast because the size was a little to small for my bread machine Its the only bread we eat now. Thank you !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucygaliano February 10, 2010

I tried this yesterday. I added 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Spice, 2 Tbs of Erytheritol (it enhances the Spenda) and a Tsp of salt. My DH and I tried it warm from the machine with butter. It turned out excellent and boy did it smell great while it was baking. I will make it again but double the recipe as I have a 2lb machine. Thank you for sharing this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corki2 February 07, 2010

I made great hamburger rolls with this recipe! I let my bread machine (just purchased, so newbie here, not much bread making experience) cycle through the kneading and 2nd rise. I then divided the dough into 4 parts, rolled into balls and place them on a baking sheet with parchment paper, flattening them slightly. After letting them rise 30 minutes covered with a damp towel, I brushed them with egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 T water) and sprinkled sesame seeds on top. I baked for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.<br/>They came out with a beautiful glossy crust. I sliced them in half, sprayed with garlic spray and toasted them on the grill with the burgers. My cheeseburgers didn't look anything like diet food!. The buns were quite large; you should easily get 6 rolls out of this recipe.<br/>I did add salt as someone suggested. I also added some onion and garlic powders as my intent was to make the burger buns. I also added just a 1/4 t real sugar to make sure the yeast was fed.<br/>The texture of the crumb was not as spongy as the "world famous low carb bread" recipe also on this site. As a hamburger bun, it held together perfectly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWJuls May 30, 2014

I love love love this recipe, it is great, the bread taste wonderful, even our friends who do not usually eat low carb, love this bread and are always asking me to make sandwiches. I triple the recipe and make 3 loaves in the oven after mixing in the bread machine. I've made bagels, hamburger buns and plan on making hot dog buns and pizza crust out of this bread. This is the first review I have ever written, but this bread is just so fantastic and so adaptable. Thank you truebrit for this great recipe!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzy2777 February 19, 2013

I gave this 5 stars rating it on being a LOW CARB BREAD. Makes no sense to rate it compared to regular bread as some of the low raters did. Followed the recipe except added a pinch of salt, and next time will probably add a bit more...turned out PERFECT!!! @truebrit...THANK YOU!!!! I'm going to play with it more next time now that I know it works. Had a piece this morning with real butter, and some splenda and cinnamon. After two weeks of NO bread...this was close to utopia! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bennwyattsmom November 18, 2012

Made this exactly as written except I added a scant tsp of real sugar and 1/2 tsp of salt-both to help the yeast. My loaf rose to the very top of my bread maker :). Overall, its very chewy, just like the store bought low carb breads. Toasting seems to take a lot of the chewiness away and that's how I will enjoy it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursebigford January 01, 2012

This bread was very good but it has a "heavy" taste because of all the high protien flours but it is a good bread and will be nice toasted. I can tell. I did add 1 tsp of salt though. I do not like unsalted breads very well and it helped to bring out the flavors. If you are looking for a low carb bread to try, give this one a shot. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midi73 August 21, 2011

I have not had bread in well over 2 years. This is wonderful bread ,I slice the whole loaf cold from the fridge with an electric turkey carving knife,turn it on the side nice thin slices. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLA May 09, 2010

I'm really amazed by this recipe! Yes, the texture is a little spongey, but it really satisfies the bread cravings when you're doing low-carb. I'm thinking to maybe try adding in some herbs and a little salt. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere March 13, 2010
Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)