87 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is very good!!! It is my first low carb recipe and we love it. I increased the ingredients 3/4 water, 1/2 ground flax seed, 1/2 soy flour, 1 and 1/2 tsp butter and 2 tsp yeast because the size was a little to small for my bread machine Its the only bread we eat now. Thank you !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucygaliano February 10, 2010

I tried this yesterday. I added 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Spice, 2 Tbs of Erytheritol (it enhances the Spenda) and a Tsp of salt. My DH and I tried it warm from the machine with butter. It turned out excellent and boy did it smell great while it was baking. I will make it again but double the recipe as I have a 2lb machine. Thank you for sharing this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corki2 February 07, 2010

I love love love this recipe, it is great, the bread taste wonderful, even our friends who do not usually eat low carb, love this bread and are always asking me to make sandwiches. I triple the recipe and make 3 loaves in the oven after mixing in the bread machine. I've made bagels, hamburger buns and plan on making hot dog buns and pizza crust out of this bread. This is the first review I have ever written, but this bread is just so fantastic and so adaptable. Thank you truebrit for this great recipe!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzy2777 February 19, 2013

Love, love, love this bread!!! Although, when I first made it, it didn't go very well, because it didn't mix it well, and I also believe it was because I didn't mix the yeast with the warm water first. So, instead of throwing it all in the bread maker and turning it on, below is how I adjusted the recipe (and the loaves are beautiful now!):

1) Mix the yeast with warm water and the splenda.
2) Lightly beat the egg with the melted butter.
3) Add all the flours to the bread maker then...
4) Add the liquids
5) Mix together in the bread maker until combined.
6) Turn on the bread maker (basic setting, light crust)

I go through a loaf of this once a week! Wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IamMoni64 January 31, 2013

I gave this 5 stars rating it on being a LOW CARB BREAD. Makes no sense to rate it compared to regular bread as some of the low raters did. Followed the recipe except added a pinch of salt, and next time will probably add a bit more...turned out PERFECT!!! @truebrit...THANK YOU!!!! I'm going to play with it more next time now that I know it works. Had a piece this morning with real butter, and some splenda and cinnamon. After two weeks of NO bread...this was close to utopia! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bennwyattsmom November 18, 2012

Made this exactly as written except I added a scant tsp of real sugar and 1/2 tsp of salt-both to help the yeast. My loaf rose to the very top of my bread maker :). Overall, its very chewy, just like the store bought low carb breads. Toasting seems to take a lot of the chewiness away and that's how I will enjoy it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursebigford January 01, 2012

I have not had bread in well over 2 years. This is wonderful bread ,I slice the whole loaf cold from the fridge with an electric turkey carving knife,turn it on the side nice thin slices. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLA May 09, 2010

I'm really amazed by this recipe! Yes, the texture is a little spongey, but it really satisfies the bread cravings when you're doing low-carb. I'm thinking to maybe try adding in some herbs and a little salt. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere March 13, 2010

This recipe was a God-send. I doubled the recipe for my machine and I replaced the water with club soda which helped it to rise more. I also added a teaspoon of salt and a half teaspoon of sugar to help the yeast rise. Thans to truebrit for posting this recipe. We need more like this. Happy new year to all!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CONCIL2 January 23, 2010

I love this bread but decided to try making a variation using 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and about 1/2 c chopped nuts. I now have both a cinnamon nut and the original. They both are delicious. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistymom August 20, 2008
Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)