89 Reviews

I tried this bread because I've been recently relegated to low carb eating. I enjoyed it the first time I made it but had trouble preparing it in my bread machine. It was almost impossible to get out of my machine and (my machine has a horizontal pan) both paddles became very stuck inside the loaf. So, I decided to try taking the dough from the machine and finishing it in the oven. Also, I read some of the suggestions regarding coconut flour and salt so I replaced half the soy flour with coconut flour and added 1/4 tsp of salt for a 1.5# loaf. When the dough is ready I gently pull it out of the machine's pan, punch it down, shape it and place it in a loaf pan. Bake it for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven and then let it cool 30 minutes before removing it from the pan. It is totally awesome and has a texture not unlike "regular" bread. I am grateful to truebrit for posting the recipe. This bread has zero affect on my blood sugar levels!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farmers Attic February 10, 2011

Oh Wow! This is amazing! I used this recipe exactly as posted to make a deep dish pizza crust. We cooked it in a cast iron skillet, topped with 1/4 cup tomato sauce, mozzarella, veggies, pepperoni. It was the yummiest low carb item I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe! Gluten flour is soooo yummy...

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colette35 April 06, 2011

I just made this last week and added jalapenos to my bread machine as it was mixing, and it is awesome! I ate a couple slices and then froze the rest and pull out a piece each morning to toast for breakfast. It sure does satisfy the bread craving!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charleyc1 March 21, 2011

I wanted to try this for my daughter-in-law who is 7 months pregnant and has just been told to lower her carb intake. Her test showed her to be borderline for gestational diabetes. She loves bread but she is picky and doesn't like wheat bread so I figured she wasn't going to like this, but it was worth a try. I did make some changes as per the suggestions of another reviewer because I wanted the best chance of my daughter-in-law liking this the first time, for her own good! She liked it, ate it untoasted the first time, and wants me to make a batch with cinnamon and raisins! If you can't have carbs then this is a 5 star way to get that bread fix. I didn't like it at first bite, then I tryed it again and liked it more. Then I toasted it as suggested by other reviewers. I liked it. OK here's what I did. I followed one of the reviewers advice to add 1/2 teaspoon more of yeast to ensure rising. I also added 1 scant teaspoon of sugar in place of the Splenda, just for the first try. I also added 1teaspoon of salt. Next time I am going to make it with the Splenda and only 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I could taste the scant teaspoon of salt but nobody else could. I also put my crust setting on dark brown which gives the outside a toasted taste right from the beginning. At first I was really turned off by the sponginess so the other thing I did was to cut the whole loaf into slices and put it in a baggie but I left the baggie open for 4 hours. This allowed it to "dry out" just a little, voila - much less sponginess, which is the point at which my daughter-in-law tryed it. Try this and don't stop at the first bite, it's just different so keep that in mind. But if you seriously can't have carbs you will like it. Keep an open mind and know that it will be different than you're used to. And I agree it's at it's best toasted with butter, but I can see it being good as a sandwich too, with mayo. I was shocked that even my husband liked it. Usually if he knows a regular food item is altered to be healthy, his mind set is to dislike it and he knew it was going to be made with "weird healthy things". So if he liked it - most of you will too!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
always cookin' May 01, 2010

I've been using ground chia seeds instead of flax and replaced the soy flour with coconut flour. Tastes pretty good this way to. I also used olive oil instead of butter. The texture is different but it's still a lot better than no bread at all. Regular bread spikes my BG and this bread does not.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindi2457 May 26, 2010

I have made this recipe 3 times and I'm just thrilled. First of all, to have bread that is so low in carbs that me, a diabetic, can eat 2 slices of it for breakfast is just a thrill! I, too, didn't enjoy the taste of the soy flour and substituted coconut flour with very good results. It's my first bread machine, too, and I'm just so happy to have a low carb bread that I can eat with relative abandon and still keep my blood sugar well in control.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plparisi December 09, 2011

This turned out great! Even my husband liked it, though we both thought it was a little bland. Then I realized there is no salt in the recipe! So next time I think I will add a teaspoon of salt. I also doubled the recipe since my machine only does 1.5 and 2 lb loaves. I replaced the Splenda with Xylitol and the soy flour with coconut flour. I used a tablespoon of yeast. It came right out of my bread maker, I took it out while hot, and my pan is non stick, don't know if that made a difference

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherylc57 March 29, 2011

Love, love, love this bread!!! Although, when I first made it, it didn't go very well, because it didn't mix it well, and I also believe it was because I didn't mix the yeast with the warm water first. So, instead of throwing it all in the bread maker and turning it on, below is how I adjusted the recipe (and the loaves are beautiful now!):

1) Mix the yeast with warm water and the splenda.
2) Lightly beat the egg with the melted butter.
3) Add all the flours to the bread maker then...
4) Add the liquids
5) Mix together in the bread maker until combined.
6) Turn on the bread maker (basic setting, light crust)

I go through a loaf of this once a week! Wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IamMoni64 January 31, 2013

made some revisions.
instead of 2 TBS of splenda (don't do artificial sweetners), I added 1 TBS of Sugar (24 g carbs)
instead of 1/4 cup of soy flour I put 1/4 cup of oat flour (don't do soy anything) (20 g carbs)
instead of 1 TBS butter I put 1 TBS of olive oil
also added 1/2 tsp of salt
and an additional tsp of yeast (the trick is 1 tsp of yeast per 1 C of dry ingredients/flour)
when adding to bread machine add all liquid ingredients first. make sure the water is hot (it will cool down by the time you turn the machine on). then add the dry ingredients.

Yes it added 44 grams of carbs to the loaf of bread but at about 14 slices its 5 g of carbs per slice which is WAY better than 20 grams. Also I've had the Julian Bakery zero carb bread and it has no flavor - couldn't do it. The Vital Gluten Wheat Flour makes it spongie like the other reviewers said, but toasting it makes it perfect. Subbing the soy and spenda for oat flour and sugar makes it taste like real bread

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taniac14 September 02, 2012

This bread rises unbelievably. When I watch it cooking It reminds me of that famous scene from Alien where .... okay that's not very appetising. It's so light and the texture is so similar to bread. The first batch was great with a bit of peanut butter and as the base for cheese on toast, but there was a little hint of soya, which wouldn't make it so good when you want a neutral flavour for a slice of butter with topped with a sliver of jam. The second batch I made a 1 kg loaf by doubling all the ingredients. I halved the soy flour and replaced it with wheat bran and it's now more neutral. It rose just as well. The other unexpected thing is the crust, which is the equal of the best loaves you can buy. I have to say a huge thank you to truebrit - my low carb diet is starting to look easy. Toasted hamburger salad sandwich tonight with salad and mayo. Regards to all, Ed. (London).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eeldergill October 17, 2011
Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)