Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2011

      I tried this bread because I've been recently relegated to low carb eating. I enjoyed it the first time I made it but had trouble preparing it in my bread machine. It was almost impossible to get out of my machine and (my machine has a horizontal pan) both paddles became very stuck inside the loaf. So, I decided to try taking the dough from the machine and finishing it in the oven. Also, I read some of the suggestions regarding coconut flour and salt so I replaced half the soy flour with coconut flour and added 1/4 tsp of salt for a 1.5# loaf. When the dough is ready I gently pull it out of the machine's pan, punch it down, shape it and place it in a loaf pan. Bake it for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven and then let it cool 30 minutes before removing it from the pan. It is totally awesome and has a texture not unlike "regular" bread. I am grateful to truebrit for posting the recipe. This bread has zero affect on my blood sugar levels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Oh Wow! This is amazing! I used this recipe exactly as posted to make a deep dish pizza crust. We cooked it in a cast iron skillet, topped with 1/4 cup tomato sauce, mozzarella, veggies, pepperoni. It was the yummiest low carb item I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe! Gluten flour is soooo yummy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I just made this last week and added jalapenos to my bread machine as it was mixing, and it is awesome! I ate a couple slices and then froze the rest and pull out a piece each morning to toast for breakfast. It sure does satisfy the bread craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I wanted to try this for my daughter-in-law who is 7 months pregnant and has just been told to lower her carb intake. Her test showed her to be borderline for gestational diabetes. She loves bread but she is picky and doesn't like wheat bread so I figured she wasn't going to like this, but it was worth a try. I did make some changes as per the suggestions of another reviewer because I wanted the best chance of my daughter-in-law liking this the first time, for her own good! She liked it, ate it untoasted the first time, and wants me to make a batch with cinnamon and raisins! If you can't have carbs then this is a 5 star way to get that bread fix. I didn't like it at first bite, then I tryed it again and liked it more. Then I toasted it as suggested by other reviewers. I liked it. OK here's what I did. I followed one of the reviewers advice to add 1/2 teaspoon more of yeast to ensure rising. I also added 1 scant teaspoon of sugar in place of the Splenda, just for the first try. I also added 1teaspoon of salt. Next time I am going to make it with the Splenda and only 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I could taste the scant teaspoon of salt but nobody else could. I also put my crust setting on dark brown which gives the outside a toasted taste right from the beginning. At first I was really turned off by the sponginess so the other thing I did was to cut the whole loaf into slices and put it in a baggie but I left the baggie open for 4 hours. This allowed it to "dry out" just a little, voila - much less sponginess, which is the point at which my daughter-in-law tryed it. Try this and don't stop at the first bite, it's just different so keep that in mind. But if you seriously can't have carbs you will like it. Keep an open mind and know that it will be different than you're used to. And I agree it's at it's best toasted with butter, but I can see it being good as a sandwich too, with mayo. I was shocked that even my husband liked it. Usually if he knows a regular food item is altered to be healthy, his mind set is to dislike it and he knew it was going to be made with "weird healthy things". So if he liked it - most of you will too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I've been using ground chia seeds instead of flax and replaced the soy flour with coconut flour. Tastes pretty good this way to. I also used olive oil instead of butter. The texture is different but it's still a lot better than no bread at all. Regular bread spikes my BG and this bread does not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      I have made this recipe 3 times and I'm just thrilled. First of all, to have bread that is so low in carbs that me, a diabetic, can eat 2 slices of it for breakfast is just a thrill! I, too, didn't enjoy the taste of the soy flour and substituted coconut flour with very good results. It's my first bread machine, too, and I'm just so happy to have a low carb bread that I can eat with relative abandon and still keep my blood sugar well in control.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This turned out great! Even my husband liked it, though we both thought it was a little bland. Then I realized there is no salt in the recipe! So next time I think I will add a teaspoon of salt. I also doubled the recipe since my machine only does 1.5 and 2 lb loaves. I replaced the Splenda with Xylitol and the soy flour with coconut flour. I used a tablespoon of yeast. It came right out of my bread maker, I took it out while hot, and my pan is non stick, don't know if that made a difference

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This bread is very good!!! It is my first low carb recipe and we love it. I increased the ingredients 3/4 water, 1/2 ground flax seed, 1/2 soy flour, 1 and 1/2 tsp butter and 2 tsp yeast because the size was a little to small for my bread machine Its the only bread we eat now. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I tried this yesterday. I added 1 Tsp of Pumpkin Spice, 2 Tbs of Erytheritol (it enhances the Spenda) and a Tsp of salt. My DH and I tried it warm from the machine with butter. It turned out excellent and boy did it smell great while it was baking. I will make it again but double the recipe as I have a 2lb machine. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I love love love this recipe, it is great, the bread taste wonderful, even our friends who do not usually eat low carb, love this bread and are always asking me to make sandwiches. I triple the recipe and make 3 loaves in the oven after mixing in the bread machine. I've made bagels, hamburger buns and plan on making hot dog buns and pizza crust out of this bread. This is the first review I have ever written, but this bread is just so fantastic and so adaptable. Thank you truebrit for this great recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      made some revisions.
      instead of 2 TBS of splenda (don't do artificial sweetners), I added 1 TBS of Sugar (24 g carbs)
      instead of 1/4 cup of soy flour I put 1/4 cup of oat flour (don't do soy anything) (20 g carbs)
      instead of 1 TBS butter I put 1 TBS of olive oil
      also added 1/2 tsp of salt
      and an additional tsp of yeast (the trick is 1 tsp of yeast per 1 C of dry ingredients/flour)
      when adding to bread machine add all liquid ingredients first. make sure the water is hot (it will cool down by the time you turn the machine on). then add the dry ingredients.

      Yes it added 44 grams of carbs to the loaf of bread but at about 14 slices its 5 g of carbs per slice which is WAY better than 20 grams. Also I've had the Julian Bakery zero carb bread and it has no flavor - couldn't do it. The Vital Gluten Wheat Flour makes it spongie like the other reviewers said, but toasting it makes it perfect. Subbing the soy and spenda for oat flour and sugar makes it taste like real bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      This bread rises unbelievably. When I watch it cooking It reminds me of that famous scene from Alien where .... okay that's not very appetising. It's so light and the texture is so similar to bread. The first batch was great with a bit of peanut butter and as the base for cheese on toast, but there was a little hint of soya, which wouldn't make it so good when you want a neutral flavour for a slice of butter with topped with a sliver of jam. The second batch I made a 1 kg loaf by doubling all the ingredients. I halved the soy flour and replaced it with wheat bran and it's now more neutral. It rose just as well. The other unexpected thing is the crust, which is the equal of the best loaves you can buy. I have to say a huge thank you to truebrit - my low carb diet is starting to look easy. Toasted hamburger salad sandwich tonight with salad and mayo. Regards to all, Ed. (London).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I tried to make this and it did not come out that great so I ended up going to Whole Foods and I found some great low carb bread from the Julian Bakery that only has 1 Net Carb. It is called Smart Carb bread and it is delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I have not had bread in well over 2 years. This is wonderful bread ,I slice the whole loaf cold from the fridge with an electric turkey carving knife,turn it on the side nice thin slices. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I'm really amazed by this recipe! Yes, the texture is a little spongey, but it really satisfies the bread cravings when you're doing low-carb. I'm thinking to maybe try adding in some herbs and a little salt. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This recipe was a God-send. I doubled the recipe for my machine and I replaced the water with club soda which helped it to rise more. I also added a teaspoon of salt and a half teaspoon of sugar to help the yeast rise. Thans to truebrit for posting this recipe. We need more like this. Happy new year to all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I love this bread but decided to try making a variation using 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and about 1/2 c chopped nuts. I now have both a cinnamon nut and the original. They both are delicious. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      The best low carb bread I have ever had. I made one loaf and immediately refilled the machine to make a second loaf after I tasted this. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      this is the "best" breadmachine recipe i have every tried. i doubled the recipe to a two pound loaf, it came out really nice. the taste was the best result yet, especially when toasted and buttered! this is absolutely "wonderful!" thanks for sharing this marvelous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      I made great hamburger rolls with this recipe! I let my bread machine (just purchased, so newbie here, not much bread making experience) cycle through the kneading and 2nd rise. I then divided the dough into 4 parts, rolled into balls and place them on a baking sheet with parchment paper, flattening them slightly. After letting them rise 30 minutes covered with a damp towel, I brushed them with egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 T water) and sprinkled sesame seeds on top. I baked for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.<br/>They came out with a beautiful glossy crust. I sliced them in half, sprayed with garlic spray and toasted them on the grill with the burgers. My cheeseburgers didn't look anything like diet food!. The buns were quite large; you should easily get 6 rolls out of this recipe.<br/>I did add salt as someone suggested. I also added some onion and garlic powders as my intent was to make the burger buns. I also added just a 1/4 t real sugar to make sure the yeast was fed.<br/>The texture of the crumb was not as spongy as the "world famous low carb bread" recipe also on this site. As a hamburger bun, it held together perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Low Carb Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    41%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 19.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 19.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites