Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Lima Beans You'll Ever Eat! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Lima Beans You'll Ever Eat!

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! Words do not describe how good these are. I could have eaten only these for dinner. Next time I'll double the recipe so I have leftovers. The curry is not at all overpowering but adds a distinctive flavor that shouldn't be skipped. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Delicious!! The curry, bacon, onions, and mushrooms combine together to compliment the lima beans perfectly. Since my family loves all of these ingredients, I knew these beans would be a big hit and it was...they devoured them. I made this recipe as written, using thick-sliced black pepper bacon and 6 large mushrooms. The recipe instructions were well written and easy to follow. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for 2008 Football Pool*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Lima beans are my very favorite vegetable in the world and this recipe is now my all-time favorite way to prepare them. I usually just have them plain, but this recipe has changed that. I do have to admit I only used about 1/4 t of the curry powder because I am not a big fan of that, but the other reviewers said it was a must so I compromised. I will definitely be making this recipe again. It's wonderful! Made for the Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap#19.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      I also enjoyed these very much. Wonderful taste blending, and nice look too. I will say that I didn't enjoy them nearly as much re-heated. But I don't think there will ever be many to re-heat anyway. Thanks for a new keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      These were wonderful. Even my 4 and 5 year old sons ate them. I'll *definitely* make these again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Simply wonderful. I will never make lima beans any other way. I added some fresh cracked pepper too. I will try this sauce with other beans too in the future. Thanks so much twissis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      These were wonderful! The flavor of them is exotic, like an Indian curry and very creamy from the sour cream. And the bacon gives it that extra touch that puts it over the top. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      There are the only way I make lima beans now. They are THAT good! I skipped the bacon and it still came out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Oh this is the lima bean recipe of the season. Eat em' in the summer, freeze em' and put this together in the winter. THIS is the recipe you will want. I didn't change anything about this recipe and followed to a "Tee" The curry is a must, gives a wonderful "background" taste that only curry can do. My button mushrooms turned out beautifully, and the bacon also a must. I would suspect that you can interchange the bacon if you want to turkey bacon, or vegetarian bacon, but I prefer the real thing. Thanks, twissis will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I loved these lima beans as did my whole family! I didn't have any curry powder or sour cream, so I used garlic, salt and pepper and they were still very tasty. I love curry so I'll have to pick some up and try the original recipe as well. Thank you twissis for this comforting dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      okay, these were the best lima beans I've ever tasted. My father loves lima beans and out of all things he specifically requested lima beans on his birthday. Over the years, I've grown to despise lima beans. I needed something different. These lima beans were a great change and so good. When I was cooking them I couldn't stop tasting them. I ended up adding a bit more curry and bacon, but overall I recommened everyone try this recipe once. Thanks Twissis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      You're right - they were the best! DH refuses to eat curry so after cooking, I split the dish & curried mine. Just perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      This is a lovely side dish. Looks good on the table and taste great. I chose this recipe for PAC Spring 2006. This dish would be nice for a "bring a dish" event. Thanks twissis for a new fancier lima bean dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Excellent! Hubby does not like mushrooms so I left them out, but otherwise I followed the directions. This was creamy, comforting, but just different enough to not be your plain ol butterbeans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Very tasty! The only change I made was leaving the curry out, as I didn't have any. I added about 1 t. Lantana seasoning salt. Will definitly make again. Thanks twissis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Lima Beans You'll Ever Eat!

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.1
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    51%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 195.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites