59 Reviews

For people having trouble with blueberries sinking to the bottom, this seems to be a thinner batter. If you substitute 1 cup of sour cream for the 1 cup of buttermilk you will have a nice thick batter, and no sunken blueberries. You could also decrease the flour to 2 1/2 cups that way. This is a good lightly lemon pound cake with blueberries. I increased the blueberries to 3 cups.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grn13 February 16, 2013

I'm sorry to give this cake only 4 stars.. was really looking forward to it with all the rave reviews.. but it wasn't as lemony as I had hoped by far. A very nice fine grained, mild lemon cake which the blueberries compliment nicely (although i would have added more). note: you can also make a delicious and beautiful glaze with ordinary sugar and lemon juice which wll intensify the lemon flavor and poured onto a warm cake leaves a coating of crystalised crunchy bits. I believe it's about 1 cup lemon juice to 1/2 cup sugar.. or sweeten to your taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ange du soleil June 23, 2009

I made this with Splenda for baking and it turned out perfect....very good and moist cake.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 13, 2008

Wow! What a cake! Mine came out so smooth and buttery. It is a very dense and moist cake. I used frozen blueberries and most did sink to the bottom, but not all and the cake still looked beautiful. Also, I used an old angel food cake tin because I don't have a bundt pan and I didn't have any problems with sticking though I did use baking Pam generously and then floured the pan as well. I think a key to this cake is making sure you beat the butter, sugar, and eggs enough. I will definitely be making this again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 October 05, 2009

Unbelievable cake, one of my new favorites to make/eat! I made a few minor modifications, after reading that the batter was on the thin side I replaced the buttermilk with sour cream (one 8 oz package) and just added in a small box of instant lemon pudding. It made for a very thick batter, which kept the blueberries nicely suspended and turned out as a lovely, moist, dense cake. I followed the recipe for the glaze to a T and will make modifications next time on that as well, it turned out very thin and I would prefer it to be on the thicker side. The flavor was incredible though, and the cake itself turns out absolutely gorgeous, great to impress a crowd. I cannot wait to make this again with a thicker glaze and a sprinkling of blueberry-infused sugar on top. Divine!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahBluth December 08, 2014

I bake this cake all the time. My family LOVES it. Its not too sweet and the warm blueberries fresh out of the oven are YUMMY!! I don't use the glaze, which cuts down on the sweetness. Its a great breakfast cake too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdsweet February 08, 2011

Loved it! Did not use glaze - it was great without it, and very pretty. Used two cups of fresh blueberries. Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beaumonty June 21, 2010

Good, pretty, but this one stuck in myy pan, the first bundt cake to do so in more than a year of bundt cakes, so use extra Pam or buttering and flouring. Subtily lemon, next time I will add some lemon extract too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha July 19, 2009

Awesome, just awesome. This is an amazing recipe. I followed the recipe almost to a T, except instead of blueberries I used ripe blackberries, and I added more lemon zest. Also, I found the glaze a bit runny for what I wanted, so I increased the amount of Confectioner's sugar. By chance I made this the night before Mother's Day, which gave the cake time to soak the glaze. It is very sweet, but not sickeningly so, especially with the fresh lemon flavor. Thank you for posting this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kawaiiorenji May 11, 2009

WOW!!!! This really is the best blueberry bundt cake I've ever made (and I've made A LOT of bundt cakes). I made three modifications - only used 1 1/2 cups sugar (because I like it less sweet), used a combination of milk and yogurt for the buttermilk (because I didn't have any), and I left the corn syrup out of the glaze (also because I was out). The cake was perfectly moist with a fine crumb and a delightful balance of blueberry and lemon flavor. I would be sure to use fresh lemon juice in this recipe because that canned stuff tends to taste funny. Absolutely perfect. Thanks for sharing, Redsie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhubarbarella August 28, 2007
Best Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake