Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2003

      Like Junebug, I found these to be good and easily made with normal ingredients. I did make a few adjustments. Those were to half the recipe and make in an 8z8 pan, added a little extra sugar(1 1/4 cups-recipe halved-but still found it to be a little tart for my taste), used bottled lemon juice instead of fresh, and used margarine instead of unsalted butter and omitted the salt in the crust. Also, I didn't use my food processor, just cut my butter, flour, and sugar with a pastry blender. Thanks for sharing your recipe, seahorse73!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      3 Stars and I am being generous. Easy to make, but they did not have near the flavor of previous lemon bars I have made. Oh yeah, they were crumbly and unattractive to boot. People typically love my dishes. They didn't eat half of this one and I don't blame them. I was embarrassed to serve them at a party. Never again.<br/><br/>Tex

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Fantastic! These really are the best lemon bars. Perfect amount of tangy lemon flavor balanced by a tender butter crust bottom. Used fresh lemons from my tree for a real treat. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      OMG!!! I love it! This recipe is exactly what I was looking for in a lemon bar...more tart than sweet. And it's easy to make too. I followed the instructions to a "T" and it's perfect as written in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Wow! I made these as a special treat for something different for our Easter dinner tomorrow. They might not make it until then! I had to try a little corner to make sure they were okay to share. ;) Now I might not share! I added 3/4 tsp. of baking powder to the filling because I saw that most of the other recipes for lemon bars had that. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Made as is. I would double the curd if you decide to use this recipe. Most likely, I would not make this again. Crust is so-so on taste, a little on the bland side. The curd is thin and light on the lemon flavor. The powdered sugar on top couldn't even make this two stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      These are some pretty great lemon bars. I almost followed the recipe almost to a "T." I only had 3 eggs - so I had to sub the 4th egg with egg beaters, but that didn't change the consistency. The bottom crust probably could have been done a little but more, as I couldn't tell when it was "golden brown" because of the brown sugar speckled through. But, it was extremely tasty, very lemony without being too sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! I have FINALLY found my go to lemon bar recipe! I adore a tart lemon bar (why bother with the sugary sweet ones, I can't taste the lemon!) and this fit the bill! The crust is amazing, it stands up well to the bold lemon filling, a typical pastry one would not do. I used 1 1/4c. of sugar and added 1 t. of Penzeys powdered lemon peel. My husband took one bite and said "Now THAT'S what I am talking about!". Definitely first class all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Very tasty! I agree. The crust is wonderful and the lemony taste is perfect. We enjoyed these a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      The crust is what really makes this bar. It is absolutely delicious - don't make any changes, it really doesn't need it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I picked this recipe because of the amount of lemon juice. I like very lemony lemon bars. The other recipes do not have enough lemon juice. I also like that it does not call for lemon jest, I find it distracting when you bite into the bar and get a piece of zest, it interferes with the smoothness. If you like a tart lemony bar, this is a good recipe. My crust was a little dense but maybe I overworked it. Next time I may try this topping with a different shortbread base with powder sugar and corn start. My crust Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Super! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      My family and I loved these! Very easy to make (even using the food processor). Perfect amount of crust and lemon filling, and sweet/lemon tartness taste. If someone is looking for a great lemon bar recipe, this is it! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Very good. Very, very lemony though! If I ever make these again I will take the lemon juice amount down a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I really liked this one too! I used a 8 x 11 inch pan, so it came out as thick bars (I cooked it just a little longer). Not too sweet, not too sour. Very good! Easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I have made lemon bars before, but these were phenomenal! My mom loved them and she isn't even a lemon fan. They had just the right balance of tart & sweet with a strong lemony flavor. The shortbread was great - very buttery but not overpowering and the right balance of crust to topping. I did add in 2 extra egg yolks and the zest of 2 of the lemons I juiced to give a little extra kick, and it was perfect. I will definitely keep using this recipe, especially since it was so easy using the food processor for the crust! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I followed this recipe exactly, and I thought they were absolutely perfect! I won't change a thing next time I make them-- and there will be a next time! Thanks for a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Luby, I tried a few other lemon bar recipes, your right this one is the best by far. I should know to go to your recipes first and I will from now on. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      These are the first lemon bars I've made, and I loved both the ease of preparation and the tartness of these bars. I did halve the recipe (only 2 eggs in the house!) and baked in an 8x8 pan; also, I beat the eggs by hand for quite a while, and probably overbaked these by a bit. They were a bit eggy, but a great chocolate- and nut-free dessert to serve with strong tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I found this way too tart. If you compare this recipe with others, it has double the lemon juice. I also made the mistake of adding the lemon rind and they were way too tart for my guests. Sorry! I prefer others

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.3
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    33%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 112.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes