33 Reviews

Like Junebug, I found these to be good and easily made with normal ingredients. I did make a few adjustments. Those were to half the recipe and make in an 8z8 pan, added a little extra sugar(1 1/4 cups-recipe halved-but still found it to be a little tart for my taste), used bottled lemon juice instead of fresh, and used margarine instead of unsalted butter and omitted the salt in the crust. Also, I didn't use my food processor, just cut my butter, flour, and sugar with a pastry blender. Thanks for sharing your recipe, seahorse73!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ October 18, 2003

3 Stars and I am being generous. Easy to make, but they did not have near the flavor of previous lemon bars I have made. Oh yeah, they were crumbly and unattractive to boot. People typically love my dishes. They didn't eat half of this one and I don't blame them. I was embarrassed to serve them at a party. Never again.<br/><br/>Tex

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexBunda July 04, 2013

Fantastic! These really are the best lemon bars. Perfect amount of tangy lemon flavor balanced by a tender butter crust bottom. Used fresh lemons from my tree for a real treat. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 16, 2012

OMG!!! I love it! This recipe is exactly what I was looking for in a lemon bar...more tart than sweet. And it's easy to make too. I followed the instructions to a "T" and it's perfect as written in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate January 12, 2012

Wow! I made these as a special treat for something different for our Easter dinner tomorrow. They might not make it until then! I had to try a little corner to make sure they were okay to share. ;) Now I might not share! I added 3/4 tsp. of baking powder to the filling because I saw that most of the other recipes for lemon bars had that. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vosmom2 April 23, 2011

Made as is. I would double the curd if you decide to use this recipe. Most likely, I would not make this again. Crust is so-so on taste, a little on the bland side. The curd is thin and light on the lemon flavor. The powdered sugar on top couldn't even make this two stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Mom July 04, 2010

These are some pretty great lemon bars. I almost followed the recipe almost to a "T." I only had 3 eggs - so I had to sub the 4th egg with egg beaters, but that didn't change the consistency. The bottom crust probably could have been done a little but more, as I couldn't tell when it was "golden brown" because of the brown sugar speckled through. But, it was extremely tasty, very lemony without being too sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
80sQueen April 27, 2010

WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! I have FINALLY found my go to lemon bar recipe! I adore a tart lemon bar (why bother with the sugary sweet ones, I can't taste the lemon!) and this fit the bill! The crust is amazing, it stands up well to the bold lemon filling, a typical pastry one would not do. I used 1 1/4c. of sugar and added 1 t. of Penzeys powdered lemon peel. My husband took one bite and said "Now THAT'S what I am talking about!". Definitely first class all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 22, 2010

Very tasty! I agree. The crust is wonderful and the lemony taste is perfect. We enjoyed these a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer April 21, 2010

The crust is what really makes this bar. It is absolutely delicious - don't make any changes, it really doesn't need it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krisis March 29, 2010
Best Lemon Bars