22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried several other top rated cobblers and this one is by far the best! The only changes I made were using butter instead of shortening, adding 1tsp of lemon zest and 1tsp vanilla to the batter. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Crystal* February 22, 2009

This was great! It was really easy to make and absolutely delicious. the berries I had were very sour so I added a little extra sugar. I didn't have any shortening so I subbed in butter and as per other reviews I added a tbsp of cornstarch to the berries and a tbsp to the sugar mixture. It thickened up the sauce really nicely and it was very sticky and sweet. I will make this again anytime I have some fresh berries because it was fabulous. thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebellemichelle September 29, 2008

Great recipe!! I used fresh raspberries and frozen blueberries. I also used butter instead of shortening and I doubled the cornstarch. I also used a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg mixed with the berries. Will make again for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird September 24, 2011

This is the best berry cobbler I have ever made. I did sprinkle the greased 8 inch square pan with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madray14 September 03, 2011

This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. I made it and I am a novice cook. Fortunately, it was the first cobbler I ever made by myself! It is delicious and wonderful. I use 2 tbsp cornstarch (upper end) and butter instead of shortening, although the first time I made it with shortening. This is the best recipe I have found online. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My.Hero.Is.Jesus June 13, 2011

I was intrigued by this recipe. I had some raspberries to use - and made this. I did use butter instead of shortening - just preference - and I used a full 2 TBS of corn starch in my sugar mixture. It took an hour to bake - and that was with turning up the heat to 375 after 35 minutes...

I was skeptical about the boiling water - but I ended up with a lovely juicey berry filling and a puffy topping with a sugar crisp crust.

We ate it hot from the oven with vanilla bean icecream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom August 22, 2010

And I thought I didn't like berry desserts. This is delicious! BUT, it has to bake a lot longer than these directions. 60 minutes in a 375 oven does it for me. And the 1 Tblsp of cornstarch added to the fruit is a must. I used a lb. package of Aldi's frozen berries for an 8" square baking dish; that was the perfect size. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski June 23, 2010

Because I used frozen blueberries I think there was way too much liquid in this. Next time I'm going to thaw the berries and drain the liquid off them or will use fresh berries instead. The flavor was good but I left about 1/4 cup of the sugar out of the recipe as my DH doesn't like sweet desserts. Other then that this recipe was very tasty and I'm going to make it again with the changes I mentioned above. Thanks for a really good recipe, I'll review it again with the changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. May 17, 2009

Made this for dessert on Valentine's Day. I used one carton of fresh blackberries, one carton of fresh blueberries and a bag of frozen raspberries. I read the instructions wrong and put too much sugar in the crust mix but it still turned out delicious! I also added the tablespoon of corn starch to the berries as another reviewer suggested...the berries were still pretty runny right out of the oven that night but the leftovers the next day were a thicker consistency. I will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saxonct February 22, 2009

this was easy to make and has become the desert everyone ask me to bring.I never have had luck in cobbler turning out right until I made this one. Thanks for the recipe. We just love it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ardent ma November 22, 2008
Best-In-The-West Berry Cobbler