Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best-In-The-West Berry Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best-In-The-West Berry Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2009

      I have tried several other top rated cobblers and this one is by far the best! The only changes I made were using butter instead of shortening, adding 1tsp of lemon zest and 1tsp vanilla to the batter. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was great! It was really easy to make and absolutely delicious. the berries I had were very sour so I added a little extra sugar. I didn't have any shortening so I subbed in butter and as per other reviews I added a tbsp of cornstarch to the berries and a tbsp to the sugar mixture. It thickened up the sauce really nicely and it was very sticky and sweet. I will make this again anytime I have some fresh berries because it was fabulous. thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Great recipe!! I used fresh raspberries and frozen blueberries. I also used butter instead of shortening and I doubled the cornstarch. I also used a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg mixed with the berries. Will make again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      This is the best berry cobbler I have ever made. I did sprinkle the greased 8 inch square pan with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. I made it and I am a novice cook. Fortunately, it was the first cobbler I ever made by myself! It is delicious and wonderful. I use 2 tbsp cornstarch (upper end) and butter instead of shortening, although the first time I made it with shortening. This is the best recipe I have found online. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I was intrigued by this recipe. I had some raspberries to use - and made this. I did use butter instead of shortening - just preference - and I used a full 2 TBS of corn starch in my sugar mixture. It took an hour to bake - and that was with turning up the heat to 375 after 35 minutes...

      I was skeptical about the boiling water - but I ended up with a lovely juicey berry filling and a puffy topping with a sugar crisp crust.

      We ate it hot from the oven with vanilla bean icecream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      And I thought I didn't like berry desserts. This is delicious! BUT, it has to bake a lot longer than these directions. 60 minutes in a 375 oven does it for me. And the 1 Tblsp of cornstarch added to the fruit is a must. I used a lb. package of Aldi's frozen berries for an 8" square baking dish; that was the perfect size. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Because I used frozen blueberries I think there was way too much liquid in this. Next time I'm going to thaw the berries and drain the liquid off them or will use fresh berries instead. The flavor was good but I left about 1/4 cup of the sugar out of the recipe as my DH doesn't like sweet desserts. Other then that this recipe was very tasty and I'm going to make it again with the changes I mentioned above. Thanks for a really good recipe, I'll review it again with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Made this for dessert on Valentine's Day. I used one carton of fresh blackberries, one carton of fresh blueberries and a bag of frozen raspberries. I read the instructions wrong and put too much sugar in the crust mix but it still turned out delicious! I also added the tablespoon of corn starch to the berries as another reviewer suggested...the berries were still pretty runny right out of the oven that night but the leftovers the next day were a thicker consistency. I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      this was easy to make and has become the desert everyone ask me to bring.I never have had luck in cobbler turning out right until I made this one. Thanks for the recipe. We just love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This recipe was fantastic! I was looking for an quick and easy dessert to throw together and this one amazed me! I added close to 4 cups of berries (I did saskatoons and rasberries), and next time I may add a little more cornstarch to thicken up the berries, but other than that it was a complete hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Sooo surprised how simple this recipe is! Excellent! The topping is terrific-nice and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This topping made for a GREAT cobbler. I also added the extra corn starch for a thicker filling. I also used about 5 cups of mixed berries. I wanted the fruit to be the main part of the dessert not the topping. LOVED IT !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Great tasting, quick and easy. This is a make again desert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This is a delicious recipe, we loved the topping. For doubled recipe in 9x13 pan I had to bake for 40 extra minutes. Also, the juices boiled right out of my baking dish. . . be prepared!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Absolutely Fantastic! The best cobbler yet! I used fresh blueberries(3c) and sprinkled 1/2 T cornstarch over them before spreading batter. The fruit was amazing-not runny at all and everyone went nuts for the crust on top. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      This was wonderful. I added orange zest to the frozen berries instead of lemon. All the reviews were also so helpful. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      I have made this several times, now, and I really like it (once I made some minor changes to the recipe)! The sugar crust is what makes this recipe really special! First of all, I sometimes need to increase the amount of fruit so that there is one complete layer in the pan. I like my cobbler to have as much fruit as topping. Then I added another TBSP corn starch (as suggested by the recipe), but mixed it with the fruit instead of putting it on top. (So there is 1 TBSP corn starch mixed with the fruit and 1 TBSP corn starch mixed with the sugar on top of the crust). Then I had to bake it for the longest time mentioned, in order for the sauce to thicken around the fruit. This makes the crust rather dark, which is OK, but I may cover with foil for the last 15 minutes, for a slightly lighter crust. One optional addition which I really like was to add 1 tsp. lemon zest either to the fruit or to the crust -- it tastes good either way. (I have also made other modifications to fit my personal diet, which worked well, too -- I used whole wheat flour instead of white, reduced the sugar to 1 cup, divided in half, substituted unsalted butter for shortening, and omitted the salt. The results were satisfactory, suit my low sodium, low refined foods diet and I got complements from others to whom I served it.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      What a unique recipe! Very different process -- pouring the hot water over the entire dish. It was yummy. I used some frozen berries --- a combination of several, and it was wonderful served with vanilla ice cream. Since my husband is diabetic, I used Splenda in place of the sugar. The "sauce" in my filling was not quite as thick as I would have liked, but I think using the Splenda might be the cause. But even with the thinner sauce/juice, it was absolutely devine with the ice cream (no sugar added vanilla ice cream, of course). I hope more folks will try this recipe. It's so very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This was pretty good. I love how easy it was to make, but this is a bit different from the sort of cobbler I usually make. I've never seen any like this one, the top is liek a biscuit or something. I'm used to having bottom and top layers of pie crust over berries. However, I'll hang onto this recipe for whenever I want to use up my frozen berries or vanilla ice cream. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best-In-The-West Berry Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.2
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    21%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 254.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.8 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 62.4 g
    249%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    berries

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes