451 Reviews

This is delicious. Tastes like dessert. The tartness of the grapes pairs wonderfully with the sweet dressing and topping. Took to a BBQ and people were raving and asking for the recipe. I was hoping to bring some home but the bowl was practically licked clean at the party! I used low fat sour cream and cream cheese, and it tasted just like the full-fat stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillster July 17, 2010

I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. Out of all the wonderful recipes that I have found on Zaar, this is by far the one I have made the most. It's so easy to prepare, makes enough for a large group and the leftovers are just as good as the first day. Now every time I show up to a party, all I hear is "where is the grape salad". The only thing I do different is to use almonds instead of pecans. Mainly because they are normally half the price. I also toast the nuts with the brown sugar in the oven for a few minutes for a little extra crunch. Thank you so much Jamie. This is a new family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 July 28, 2009

DEEE-licious!! I made this the first time with the topping, and the 2nd time I was too lazy to bother with that. It was excellent (and devoured!) both ways. I love grapes anyway, but with this recipe, I could not stop eating them. Try this reciepe you won't be disappointed! I used a lot more vanilla than called for, and it didn't hurt it one bit. This recipe deserves all the 5 star ratings it has. (sorry for the rave, it just really is that good)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two July 16, 2009

Really excellent!! I cut the recipe in half with the exception of the sugar. Instead of 1/4 c. granulated sugar I only used 1 tbsp. and it was perfect! Thanks for a great recipe - I'll be sure to make it a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid July 02, 2009

Wow! This is WAY good! I wasn't too sure of the "dry" topping so I improvised. I was cooking ribs in the oven, low and slow, so only had the stove top availiable. Harkening back to a childhood favorite I decided to "cook" my pecans in butter and a dusting of salt (to die for!). Mixed in the brown sugar. The sugar wasn't melting fast enough for me and I was afraid of burning the pecans so I scrambled for a liquid. 1/2 & 1/2 was available. Great! A cheap take-off of a Praline!! Just what I had in mind! Melted the brown sugar right away and a quick taste proved I was on the right track flavor wise. I then added a small amount of corn syrup, stirred and dumped on to a buttered piece of wax paper hoping the mixture would "set". It didn't really harden so I just dumped it in the cream cheese/grape mixture. It turned it an ugly brown but it sure is TASTY!! And definitely gives me something to work on in the future. Dinner isn't even served yet and DH has asked twice where the "Grape Goodness" is...This is a keeper. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe November 23, 2008

I bet this would be good with fresh cherries too. Just cut them in half and pit them then add the other ingredients. Hey, I just made up another recipe :) Loved it this way though and so did everyone else who was over for dinner! Everyone went home with the recipe and couldn't believe how easy it was to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Maven September 28, 2008

I had a "round-up" party for friends and neighbors who had helped us to get our cattle in. I wanted the meal to be special, not the typical summer party fare. So I search recipes by ratings and I thought it sounded different, I gave it a try. I had print out the recipe for everyone! Even the men commented about the salad. The grapes were especially good, so that made it even better. Give it a try you will be surprised.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathyneels October 25, 2007

Made this for a get together and kind of hoped after the original dinner people would forget about it and I would be left with the rest. WRONG!! Kids and adults loved it. I didn't even get seconds, so I am making it again today. Wonderful salad, Thanks so much,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper September 05, 2005

This salad was just delicious.Refreshingly juicy grapes under a blanket of sweetened vanilla cream cheese, it couldn't get any better, but it does!!! - to top it all off, finely chopped pecans mixed with brown sugar, so delicious!My husband and I doubled the vanilla, as we are devout vanilla lovers. Though I have always loved grapes, how am I to eat plain grapes again without lamenting that I could be having this grape salad?!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturalbohemian July 21, 2005

I received this same recipe from another source and have made it several times. It is easy, very delicious and a big hit every where I have served it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buddy P April 04, 2004
Best Grape Salad