Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Gingerbread Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Gingerbread Cookies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2009

      I've been trying (and ruining) gingerbead boys for many years. So far, this has been my best batch! I like a flavorful cookie, so I added about a tablespoon or cinnamon and 1/2 tablespoon of cloves. Had no luck with the batter before I refrigerated it. Then it was fine. This year, my mother in law actually asked to take some home - so I'm pretty happy with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I'm giving this recipe four stars b/c the dough was not workable with just 5 cups of flour. I had to chill it for a few hours and use a good deal of flour to roll it out. The cookies are delicious and a few are being used on our Christmas tree as ornaments. They look lovely. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Love Love Love! How sad is this I'm terrible at remembering to rate things but I've been making these cookies for three years now at Christmas time and every year it's the most requested return cookie. I'm a cheater and make the mini sized men and dip half of their body in white almond bark. Oh and I've been putting them in cookie gift baskets every year too and they're a huge hit. Even my two year old barely lets them hit the table before he gobbles them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Delicious cookies. Gingerbread cookies are supposed to have a taste of molasses in them, and I thought this tatsted like an authentic recipe. My 4 yr old daughter cannot stop eating them. We used all organic ingredients and black strap molasses. I did sub king arthur white whole wheat flour and they still turned out great; although due to the change i made in the flour aspect of the recipe, as you were chewing the cookies there was a very very slight indication that they had whole wheat flour; but not enough to not want to finish it! Thanks for sharing; great recipe with a nice short list of ingredients on hand and an excellent result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I followed the recipe just like it said & apparently, by all the other positive reviews, i did something wrong! I felt the dough was IMPOSSIBLE to work with. Not only was it a mess to work with, but I thought the flavor was not all that great either...maybe these are great & I just cant bake ???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

    • on December 20, 2008

      These are wonderful. I did add the Cinnamon and Alspice as suggested. I did chill my dough and they turned out perfect. I wasn't sure the grandkids would like them, but they loved them... I have a second batch in the frig chilling now. thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      These cookies were TERRIBLE! My daughter and I spent several hours on them. With the orignal recipe, we tried the dough, and the molasses flavor was WAY too strong. So, we added more of everything. It was still too strong. We then added cinnimon, nutmeg and more ginger. We thought maybe, the flavor would cook out when we baked them. But guess what, it didn't. I will NEVER EVER makes these AGAIN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I use a very similar recipe but with nutmeg cinnamon and cloves added. In my recipe I add the soda to the vinegar and add it when I add the molasses. During WW2, we had a hard time getting butter or other shortening, so tried bacon fat. I have never used anything else since. I use only 3/4 cup or the cookies are too crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      These were the best gingerbread cookies I've ever made. They stayed nice and soft and chewy. This recipe makes A LOT of cookies! I used raisins for the eyes and buttons. Both my parents raved over these cookies. Thanks for sharing a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      These are terrible cookies! The dough is impossible to work with without adding more flour AND yes, chilling. The ginger spice alone is not enough. And there is WAY too much baking soda! My Pumpkins ballooned into puffy balls. What a disappointment! I cannot understand all the rave reviews. This is my first try at this web site and I am wondering if the reviews can be trusted. Maybe I will go back to Allrecipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      We love his recipe!! We love that you don't chill it! We love that it is easy for the kids to work with! We love the flavour!! Thank you soooooo much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Let me say what a pleasure making this recipe was! I did add 1 tbsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tbsp of cloves to the mix, and did not find it too sticky, but i use a flour shaker to add flour/flour my counter anyway so it worked out and did not take away from the flavour. I LOVED this does not need to be chilled. I am so impatient, and often have not enough fridge space with a family of 5 to accomodate dough chillage. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      It was great! I loved it. A lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Gingerbreads turned out perfectly, but it did take a bit of tinkering to get it right. Firstly, 5 cups of flour wasn't quite enough to turn the mix into dough. I probably ended up mixing in 6 to 6.5 cups. I reduced the baking soda to 2/3 of a tbsp, and I was glad I did cos they expanded quite a bit! Finally, the mixture was really quite bland (probably because I had to add the extra flour) and I'm used to gingerbread a bit spicier, so I added more ginger, as well as cinnamon and ground cloves. Make these adjustments, and it's a superb recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I have failed many attempts at making Gingerbread People, but this is the first recipe that I have successfully made and enjoyed! The result was a hit with my husband and son, and unfortunately no one else got a taste because they had polished them off! The last few batches came out more like "cakes" since I was running out of time; so thickness was abit well... thick... Trust me, the thinner they are, the better! Although, the Gingerbread "Cake" People weren't that bad either!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      A nice easy recipe and dough was nice to work with. I decreased the ingredients by half, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. cloves because I like gingerbread a little more spicy! I used half of the dough to make a huge gingerbread man for a gift for a friend's son, decorated him (the GB man!!) with frosting, he was adorable and loved by everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      These were wonderful! I also added 1 T cinnamon and 1/8 t all spice. Baked for 8 minutes and they were nice and soft. Dh said, "I don't like gingerbread cookies, but these are really good!" Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I love gingerbread cookies and I have been on a search for the perfect gingerbread cookie dough and I think I just may have found it!! This dough was easy to work with and the cookies were perfect. I made these with my kids cooking group, then I made 12 dozen for 1 bake exchange decorated with Sugar Cookie Icing and 6 dozen for another excahnge that I dipped in white chocolate. I will be making this recipe again! Thanks for posting :) :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      the cookies are very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Gingerbread Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1557 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.6
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    30%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 5.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 86.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites