29 Reviews

I've been trying (and ruining) gingerbead boys for many years. So far, this has been my best batch! I like a flavorful cookie, so I added about a tablespoon or cinnamon and 1/2 tablespoon of cloves. Had no luck with the batter before I refrigerated it. Then it was fine. This year, my mother in law actually asked to take some home - so I'm pretty happy with this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MimiKooks December 30, 2009

I'm giving this recipe four stars b/c the dough was not workable with just 5 cups of flour. I had to chill it for a few hours and use a good deal of flour to roll it out. The cookies are delicious and a few are being used on our Christmas tree as ornaments. They look lovely. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daniellem December 14, 2008

Love Love Love! How sad is this I'm terrible at remembering to rate things but I've been making these cookies for three years now at Christmas time and every year it's the most requested return cookie. I'm a cheater and make the mini sized men and dip half of their body in white almond bark. Oh and I've been putting them in cookie gift baskets every year too and they're a huge hit. Even my two year old barely lets them hit the table before he gobbles them up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille December 11, 2008

Delicious cookies. Gingerbread cookies are supposed to have a taste of molasses in them, and I thought this tatsted like an authentic recipe. My 4 yr old daughter cannot stop eating them. We used all organic ingredients and black strap molasses. I did sub king arthur white whole wheat flour and they still turned out great; although due to the change i made in the flour aspect of the recipe, as you were chewing the cookies there was a very very slight indication that they had whole wheat flour; but not enough to not want to finish it! Thanks for sharing; great recipe with a nice short list of ingredients on hand and an excellent result.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey December 18, 2007

Dedicate to my lover. When it find a precious thing, it bring to the our heart : these cookies talk about you, simple and refined. Like these littles men, beautifuls with a fine stream of water that make theyself smooths, so you, appear in all your beauty with me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
giuliamonelli.an January 28, 2016

I followed the recipe just like it said & apparently, by all the other positive reviews, i did something wrong! I felt the dough was IMPOSSIBLE to work with. Not only was it a mess to work with, but I thought the flavor was not all that great either...maybe these are great & I just cant bake ???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chavez1123 January 03, 2010

These are wonderful. I did add the Cinnamon and Alspice as suggested. I did chill my dough and they turned out perfect. I wasn't sure the grandkids would like them, but they loved them... I have a second batch in the frig chilling now. thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davisjunk December 20, 2008

These cookies were TERRIBLE! My daughter and I spent several hours on them. With the orignal recipe, we tried the dough, and the molasses flavor was WAY too strong. So, we added more of everything. It was still too strong. We then added cinnimon, nutmeg and more ginger. We thought maybe, the flavor would cook out when we baked them. But guess what, it didn't. I will NEVER EVER makes these AGAIN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
{*Frosting December 15, 2007

I use a very similar recipe but with nutmeg cinnamon and cloves added. In my recipe I add the soda to the vinegar and add it when I add the molasses. During WW2, we had a hard time getting butter or other shortening, so tried bacon fat. I have never used anything else since. I use only 3/4 cup or the cookies are too crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frances618 December 12, 2007
Best Gingerbread Cookies