Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Flan Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Flan Ever

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

    • on April 14, 2009

      I am a flan enthusiast. I rate flan everywhere I go - I think I'm the expert. Loved this flan. A lot of body and true what is said about the cream cheese aiding the texture. The only thing I had problems with was that I carmelized the sugar too long so some of it stuck like a hard rock to the bottom of the pyrex. But enough syrup for a great dessert for Easter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I agree its a great recipe, the flan is not overly sweet, with a great texture (not too soft, just perfect). I had to do the recipe twice, first time, even though it tasted great, it fell apart when I flipped it. The second one turned out great, so here's what I did ... to melt the sugar I added 1-2 tablespoons water, it took me approximately 30 minutes. Right before I added the melted sugar, I buttered the pan (8X8), to ensure the sugar covered the bottom of the pan, it hardens very fast so butter gives you more time and flexibility to cover the bottom of the pan before it hardens. I didn't do the sides with the melted sugar since it got uber frustrating (keep reading to see what I did). I then put the pan aside to cool off, and made the batter in the blender. Before adding the batter, I buttered the sides of the pan and then coated them with sugar (not the melted sugar), just plain white sugar, and go rid of all excess. I poured in the batter in the pan and followed Barbi's instructions for baking. It took 30 minutes at 350. I let it cool off for 20 minutes (don't wait too long otherwise, the sugar will hardened in the bottom of the pan). I took a sharp knife and gently worked the edges. I flipped it onto a beautiful dish and gently lifted the pan. OMG came out beautifully with a nice layering of sugar and most importantly the edges were intact. Thank you Barbi for a great recipe. Coming from Spain, I have had my share of flan, and must say this one is a winner. My dad loved it too (he gave me the sugar/butter idea).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This flan is the best. I was looking for the best flan, tried this recipe, and now it's going to be a normal dessert in my house! My mother wants the recipe also.. :) It is sweet and tastes luxurious, I like to take my time eating one piece. I was wondering if I should use fat free cream cheese and maybe egg subsitute in place of some eggs for a healthier flan? Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

    • on May 06, 2007

      I made this for Cinco De Mayo. What a hit!! I doubled the recipe and ended up using the whole 3 oz packet of cream cheese. My family and our guests loved this. I baked this in a 9x13 pan in a water bath. After this cooled I inverted it onto a large cookie sheet without any problem. This recipe is a Cinco De Mayo keeper. My mother in law wanted this recipe to make for the people at her church - and she is a fussy cook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      I love it. I like the texture of the flan. A little too sweet, but definitely delicious and original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

    • on February 25, 2006

      amazing smooth flan! loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      I used this recipe the first time I ever made or tasted flan. It was so easy to make and so delicious. My in-laws told me that it was better than any flan they have ever tasted in any fancy restaurant. It is sweet and not eggy and has a firm but tender consistancy. This is the only flan recipe I use, and it is my favorite dessert. A big hit at family gatherings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Creamy, dense, amazing! I should know I am a huge flan fan. This was the perfect ending to an amazing evening A++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      Dense, creamy taste...truly the Best! Easy process, and mixing it in the blender made for easy clean up. I baked it in a large bread pan, placed inside the larger container. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      This is so good, I can't wait for breakfast so I have room for more. I took it to dinner at my in-laws and it was a big hit. Everone agreed this is a five. It was easy too! Thank you for a great recipe. I followed your directions and used a 11 x 7 pan for the flan and set it in a 9 x 13 pan of water. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Flan Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    29%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 57.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 59.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 18.0 g
    72%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites