19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this salad, but when I looked at the recipe it seemed like it needed something more than just lettuce and fruit. So when I made this for a main dish for dinner the other night, I used mandrin oranges, added slivered almonds, and half a sliced chicken breast on top. Turned out great. We also ate it with grilled pita bread. I wasn't sure about the dressing at first, but it came out really good. My husband insisted we add it to our collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds June 30, 2009

I've never made a cooked salad dressing and I was very pleased with the result. I threw the mix into my Magic Bullet to made the dressing smoother and prepared the salad as directed. Next time I would cut the dressing in half. It made far more dressing than we needed for one salad. For the lettuce I used baby spinach and mixed baby greens. Made for ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 09, 2012

This was a quick and simple salad, we enjoyed the lovely dressing. I chose to do mandarin oranges as I am allergic to strawberries and it was nice. My husband would have liked the strawberries, so next time I will make it for him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 02, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed it! It wasn't AMAZING, thus not a 5-star rating, but I would make it again. :) VERY simple to make! Which is good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan September 19, 2011

This is yummy!! It just had a slightly eggy taste though and the amount of dressing was too much or too sweet for the amount of fruit and vegtables. I used white vinegar, vindalia onion, fresh sliced strawberries, plus the rest of the ingredients. I might make this again cutting the sugar down a bit and maybe using less dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 02, 2011

This is a delicious and quick salad that we all enjoyed. I used strawberries but can't wait to try it with mandarin oranges when strawberries aren't in season. The only change I made would be to cut back on the onion. I used the amount called for and it was a bit overpowering for my taste. It will be perfect for me when I cut back.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F June 14, 2011

My dh & I really enjoyed this quick and easy to make salad. I knew that it would be tasty but what a lovely surprise it turned out to be. The strawberries and red onions complimented the greens perfectly, while the dressing made the salad sing. Thanks so much for sharing this treat that is going into my keeper box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 03, 2010

Yummy! I love it! There is a lot of dressing, I am glad I did not use it all for the amount of greens. I will definitely use this again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 July 08, 2009

A totally fabulous salad but how could it be otherwise with these ingredients? Amazingly delicious dressing. I do confess to adding some minced garlic (just couldn't resist). I couldn't decide between the strawberries and mandarin slices (I used Aldi's canned mandarin slices) so I used some of each. Can't wait to make this again - in larger quantities - for guests. Another great ZWT 5 find! Made for Ali Baba's Babes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder May 22, 2009
Best Ever Summer Strawberry Spinach Salad