29 Reviews

This recipe is a great starting point, but here is the SECRET for awesome sticky wings: Use this same recipe, but add 1/3 cup brown sugar and about 4 tablespoons of hot sauce. Line baking sheet with aluminum, and "dip & flip" the wings every 5-10 minutes (takes a while for them to get sticky, be patient). With these simple changes, it is now BEYOND 5 stars!! Best wings I've ever had, hands down. I've made these for lots of people, and every single person raves about them :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katielgarcia April 09, 2010

Oh my Lennie you really out did yourself. This recipe is fabulous. I made 4 lbs of wings and admit it took about 20 minutes or so longer to get the glazed sticky coating but it was well worth the wait. Messier than all get out but finger licking good! Darn good wings!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher March 22, 2004

We had these as an appetizer during the Super Bowl. They were good but definitely needed a little "kick." Next time I think I'll add some hot sauce or red pepper flakes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaLouWho February 02, 2004

We wanted sticky wings, but drumsticks were what was on sale today (kosher chicken is expensive). Skipped the pre-bake (they're skinless drums, so far less fatty to begin with) and tossed everything into the crockpot. After 5 hours or so, they were a little overcooked, in that crockpot kind of way, and not at all thick and sticky, but nevertheless, delicious. Next time, I will try it with wings, in the oven because it's sure to be GREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer March 05, 2010

Awesome wings!! Thanks for posting this recipe Lennie! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowangel October 13, 2009

Oh my gosh, Lennie...it's been a long time since I prepared a recipe that made my taste buds sit up and take notice, but these wings did. They are absolutely fantastic!! I swear I could have eaten every one of them. Every member of my family loved these and the wings were just devoured. The only complaint was that I didn't cook enough of them. It's hard to believe that a recipe so easy to prepare and quick to cook could pack such a punch in flavor. The title is correct...these are the "Best Ever". Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess March 13, 2004

My family enjoys these too! They taste really great, with a nice tangy-sweet sauce. They are easy to make without having to do a marinade, and quick to get into the oven and start. Thanks for posting! I'll keep this one on hand in "my favorite wings" collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau January 22, 2004

Oh. My. God. I have been looking for a recipe for perfect spicy sticky chicken wings for many years and these are hands down, no contest, the BEST. I added the things suggested by katielgarcia plus one very finely diced hot chili which makes them absolutely SUBLIME!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwfyfe1 December 23, 2015

This is a delicious starter recipe. I add some Siracha sauce or hot pepper powder for more heat. I tend to roll in sesame seeds near the end of the cooking time because it adds some flavor and a little better appearance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 March 23, 2015

Fabulous flavor and super easy to make! Thank you very much for posting this wonderful recipe.

When I did this recipe, I cooked the wings in a Freshware 6-Cavity Silicone Mini Loaf Pan (http://www.amazon.com/Freshware-6-Cavity-Silicone-Mini-Loaf/dp/B003VFUY0C/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1361144855) that kept each drumstick soaking in the sauce. That worked very well, and make cleanup very easy.

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/best-ever-sticky-wings-81666/review?oc=linkback&sr=8-8&keywords=freshware silicone pan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Weston February 17, 2013
Best-Ever Sticky Wings