Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken - Southern Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken - Southern

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2009

      This is from a June 2000 Bon Appetit and I have been making it ever since I saw it in the magazine. It is excellent. To get the coating crispier, use panko bread crumbs. Excellent recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      I let the chicken marinate for 24 hours before cooking. I believe it imparted flavor and tenderness. I used split chicken breasts, since we only like white meat. I thought the melted butter was not enough to crisp up the chicken, so I also sprayed it with butter-flavored non-stick cooking spray. Even though it was cooked on a rack, I was surprised that the bottom were a bit soggy. I thought keeping it out of the juices would avoid that. The coating is very tasty, and it the baking aroma was wonderful! I'm so glad I tried this. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      We enjoyed this tasty chicken very much. It was nice and crispy on one side after cooking and a little wet on the other side. So I stuck it back into the oven to crisp up a bit more. The flavor is outstanding and the marinade made the chicken so tender and flavorful. Thanks for sharing. Made for Culinary Quest - Southern USA - for the Suitcase Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      My son refused to eat this. I started marinating it this morning. I loved coating it and letting it rest on the racks. I had never done that before and that is a neato bandido trick. I really did not like the crust. To me it was kind of like shake and bake. So, I think if I do this again, I am going to have to figure out a different coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This was very good. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and used spray margarine to reduce fat. I baked on a rack, and the tops got crispy but the bottoms were kinda soggy (still tasted great, however!). Next time I place directly on the baking sheet in hopes of the bottoms getting a little crispier. An easy make ahead dinner for weeknights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Sorry, But would not make this again.Seems like there is so much going on the taste of the chicken was gone.Made no changes, but the crust was a bit soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      THis was wonderful!! Thank you so much for sharing! I wouldn't change a thing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Fabulous!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. I surely didn't miss the clean up from the traditional fried chicken!! Thanks for this wonderful, and great tasting, alternative. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Wow. This was the best oven-fried chicken I have ever had. I've never used buttermilk before, but it must be the reason this chicken was so juicy on the inside yet nice and crispy on the outside. I split the recipe in half and used drumsticks, letting them marinate for just under 24 hours. Like someone else suggested, I sprayed the chicken with Pam instead of using butter. My boyfriend and I had these with roasted potatoes and green beans, and I can't wait for the leftovers! I took a few pictures of it, so I will try to post those soon. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Not being a huge fried chicken fan, I never tried this, but my husband loved it and actually thanked me for trying this one. He used to love Banquet's spicy fried chicken, but that is no longer available. According to him, this produces a similar flavor with a much better fat content. I used only thighs as he likes dark meat, but if I were to make it again, I might also use breasts so that I may like it also. Thanks for a healthier version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This is so good! I used chicken legs that I separated in drumstick & thighs, removed the skin and folowed your recipe. I cooked with potato wedges.What a treat! This will be our new Oven Fried chicken,Thanks so much for sharing this one. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      We thought the flavor of this chicken was at least ten stars, and we'll definitely have it again. However, the oven temperature of 425 is well past the smoke point of butter, and the entire house filled with smoke! I hadn't thought about that ahead of time, so things were pretty smoky before I turned the oven down! I think that I'll use something other than butter the next time rather than cook it at a lower temperature. Perhaps, if the chicken has skin on it, as ours did, one wouldn't even need the extra fat. Anyway, it was very tasty and not at all too hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I too used skinless boneless breasts and it worked fine. We loved the crisp coating with the moist chicken inside. I used panko crumbs in place of plain breadcrumbs and they crisped up beautifully. I am sure that this recipe used with bone in and with skin on pieces it would be ral close to the real commercial fried chicken only much much healthier. I served ours with a tossed salad and jacket baked potatoes. Thanks for a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Made this chicken today with all boneless, skinless chicken breasts and my family couldn't get enough. This is a winner! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      WOW! Fantastic marinade and very tasty coating. But wait, there's more! I followed the recipe EXCEPT I used skinless thighs, and replaced the butter with buttery cooking spray, which I sprayed on the coated meat, thus cutting the fat considerably. Then I cooked it right on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray and baked 375* for 45 minutes. This tasted rich and SO GOOD, and we didn't miss the skin at all! It was spicey and wonderful, and I will be making this recipe forever. Thanks Mrs Goodall, my Seattle neighbor! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      We loved this chicken. I followed the recipe exactly. It is very well written and easy to follow. Just the right amount of "heat". I served this with a salad and garlic buttermilk mashed potatoes. Great, we all enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken - Southern

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.2
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    57%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 22.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1341.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken pieces

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites