Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! Unfortunately I only got to eat one sandwich, cause hubby and son wolfed it down. Not even any leftovers! I put the diced tomatoes in the blender for a few secs and passed it off as New and Improved Manwich! Didn't tell them till they finished it was homemade! Will be making this alot Inez. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      OK, Inez, this is no longer a "one-hit wonder". We've made this twice now, have loved it and I just forgot to review it. It's easy and deee-licious ... beats the heck out of Manwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This is much better than Manwhich-so fresh tasting. My kids weren't so keen on the chunks of tomato so I think next time I will give them a little smoother texture by throwing the canned tomatoes in the food processor for a few seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      This was a good sloppy joe recipe. It was easy to prepare and all of the ingredients are what anyone would have on hand. I liked the diced tomatoes, not something I usually add. I did find it a bit sweet, so next time I will add some black pepper and 1 or 2 crushed garlic cloves. I served these on crusty buns and made some oven fries with them - thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      EXCELLENT! I followed the directions to a T, and it had a Wonderful Flavor as is, the recipe is very aptly-named. My famiy likes sloppy joes a bit more tomatoey, and I added a 6-oz. can of tomato paste...AWESOME!! Thank-you Inez for Another KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      The recipe says it all, "Best Ever Sloppy Joes" I will be making this recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      My idea of sloppy joes is a can of Manwich and ground beef. This is sooooo much better and my family has now tasted the real deal. They all loved it. The seasoning was superb. Thanks Inez. Another keeper here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This is a great basic recipe. My family tends toward a sloppier, and spicier, sloppy joe, so I ended up adding a can of tomato paste and a 1/2 cup beef stock, along with about 2 Tablespoons of chili powder. It was the first night my son has been back home for dinner in almost a year, and this recipe put him and DH over the moon with that comfort food feeling of coming home. :) Thanks for sharing, MizzNezz! Made & enjoyed in honor of your courageous fight. Fight Like A Girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      All I can say is ummmm good! Will never use a different sloppy joe recipe. The only thing I did different was to substitute(1)15 oz can of tomato sauce for the diced tomatoes and left out the green pepper. Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Very good recipe! Easy to prepare and most ingredients on hand or easily modified for those not available in my kitchen on occassion. Taste is lighter than that of the "canned" version and it has less bind-ability. Served this over homemade cornbread for a variation! Will fix it again! YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      This scratched an itch where my daughter couldn't reach! Just in time to satisy her craving. She just loves sloppy joes, and this was perfect for her. She kept watching the pot while it was simmering, saying how good it smelled, and asking when it would be done. I have never seen her hawk over a recipe like that before! And she just loved the way they tasted. Excellent recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      We really enjoyed these sloppy joes - it was a nice change from manwiches and plain hamburgers. I did add some tomato sauce and more salt. My husband's only complaint was that it didn't have a lot of body to it, and I have to agree. It seemed like a loose meat sandwich. I will definitely make this again and try to add a bit more flavor. Overall it was very good, and I think it will be even better tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      These were good and had a nice flavor. It does make a lot though. Half of it is now in the freezer for another time. As others suggested, I did put the tomatoes in the food processor to make them less chunky. There was a lot of liquid to drain off and I used extra lean ground beef. It is an all-around good recipe and not very difficult. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Best sloppy joes I've made! My family & I really enjoyed them. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I made these last night and we all enjoyed them. I was looking for something that wouldn't heat the house up and this was it. Easy, and good, perfect. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      This is a very good recipe for sloppy joes. I tend to like the many different recipes that are out there for 'joes', and this one will definitely be on the menu again in our home. I do like to cook the ground meat in a cup of boiling water with a bouillon cube or a cup of beef broth rather than just frying it in the pan - this seems to facilitate the meat breaking up into smaller, similar sized pieces, like loose meat. The extra water just evaporates away over high heat and I'm left with a very moist (if not juicy) pan of meat - depending on how long it's left to simmer.
      My family appreciates this recipe very much, Thank-you for taking the time to post it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      We really liked these! I needed to find a sloppy joe recipe without tomato sauce and not too much ketchup (didn't have much left). The flavor intensifies with simmering, so be sure to give it the full half hour. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      My family didn't really like these. I think they were a little dry and bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Very good!! The longer it simmered, the thicker it got . . full of flavor! I omitted the celery, and put a bit more brown sugar into the mix . . a keeper for sure. I have made this a few times, and have decided to double the recipe from now on. Leftovers are even more delicious than the original serving! Thank you, MizzNezz for another great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I used to hate being asked to make sloppy joes...the mixes are terrible and I couldn't find anything that turned out really tasty ...til this recipe! I followed directions exactly and ended up with a savory, rich sloppy joe that my family LOVED! I had some left over and actually made some pasta and had that for lunch the next day...it was at least as good as the sloppy joes! I've actually been making this recipe for a few years, just never got around to reviewing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.5
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    55%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 187.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites