59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Wife and helper, with 60 years cooking experiance, added a glove of crushed garlic, used a teaspoon of both thyme and basil, changed the topping to 1/4 cup brown sugar and (1) cup of tomato sauce. Absolutly the best meatloaf I have ever tasted and my wife will replace her old tried a true recipe with this one. GREAT! ..Jim

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamessantacroce December 07, 2001

this was some stunning meatloaf. i omitted the cheese from this recipe, but it still came out flavorful, moist and yummy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla November 20, 2001

Add me to the list of reviewers who loved this recipe. Flavorful and moist - fantastic! The sauce was a bit sweet for our taste, and I will cut the brown sugar in half the next time. I made this meatloaf as a Halloween dinner. I used a hand-shaped mold then inverted the meatloaf onto a baking sheet. The fingernails were slices of onion. The wrist bone was a peeled onion, with enough layers removed so the "bone" was proportional to the hand. I topped the meatloaf with sauce, then added sliced provolone cheese to create a burned skin effect. To serve, I piped mashed cauliflower between the fingers and surrounding the hand. Totally gross, and so cool!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 17, 2013

Excellent meatloaf! To make it guten-free, I subbed 1/2 cup quinoa flakes for the bread slices (could also use quick oats). Love the addition of carrots and cheese. Hubby loves meatloaf and he gave this 2 thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks September 19, 2014

Great recipe....thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sperry66 June 10, 2013

This is the meatloaf Mom used to make, so moist and delicious. thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. October 17, 2012

my family Love it and thing is my hubby really doesnt care for meatloaf until i made this recipe and now this is the only one he will eat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladydarkness August 13, 2012

I made this recipe last night and we enjoyed it very much. I was leary about the carrots in this but you couldn't taste them, they blended in with the flavor. I doubled this recipe and put two loaves in my big pan....worked perfectly. I served this with mac and cheese and baked beans. Now, I can't wait for lunch today to have meatloaf sandwiches....yummy. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 25, 2010

This was yummy! I used fresh basil and mozzarella, and halved the brown sugar. It really is perfectly moist. Mine stuck to the bottom of the pan though, I think I will grease it next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick March 15, 2010
Best Ever Meatloaf