Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2002

      This is the perfect recipe for mashed potatoes! I have adopted this recipe as my standard and will never go back to just using plain old butter and milk. The sour cream makes a big difference in the creamy texture....(I like just a few lumps, too!) Excellent recipe, Canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      these are awesome potatoes! they are so good you don't need any gravy. i did end up using a whole stick of butter (8 tablespoons) and almost 1 teaspoon of kosher salt but other than that i followed the recipe. once you make mashed potatoes this way you won't want to go back. the sour cream makes them very creamy and gives them a slight tang. delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      Extremely yummy! I am not good at making homemade mashed potatoes, I usually do instant, however, these came out the perfect consistency and the whole family loved them. One thing I would suggest, and of course this is a matter of taste: In my opinion they needed salt and pepper, in fact I added at least a teaspoon of salt when I was mashing and they still needed more at the table. But, I am VERY happy to have a recipe that comes out this good and I will be making homemade mashed potatoes more often! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      I'm so glad I found this recipe! For the first time my mashed potatoes aren't a sticky goo mess. :) I followed the recipe as stated (except I baked my potatoes instead of boiling them). Nice and creamy mashed potatoes. Thanks, canarygirl! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      The best mashed potatoes on earth. I made these for Christmas Eve dinner and my family was gob-stopped!! Very smooth and creamy texture. I did add lots of salt and pepper because that is how we like em. Thanks canarygirl. Brilliant!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a Hit!! My husband says that these are the best he has ever had. I cannot comment on how difficult, because cooking a whole Thanksgiving meal by yourself for 13 people,means you just go with the flow.Anyway everybody loved the creamy texture of these potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      This potatoes are similiar to the ones I make. I do add 1/4 teaspoon of pepper because we like the taste and also add 3 oz of low-fat cream cheese along with no fat sour cream and skim milk. It helps to keep the calories down. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Loved it! Next time I'll try it with some shredded cheese on top! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      I liked these potatoes a lot but DH and DS less than me. Thanks canarygirl :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Really good recipe. I liked the texture and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      My first review didn't go through, so I wanted to say again how much I loved these taters! I used evaporated milk from a can and added lots of black pepper with a pinch of white pepper. Perfect for Sunday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I was looking for a new recipe to make mashed potatoes and am so glad I made these. They are so creamy and have just the right proportions of milk/sour cream to the potatoes. Definitely much better than my usual recipe -- I'll be making these many times again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      YUM! I made this recipe tonight to have with a pork roast & it was wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      These are so simple and good! I made these potatoes for our Thanksgiving Feast today... even my super picky dh who thinks everything should be made traditional enjoye them. Only change I made was to add a bit more butter, and a little salt to the final product. Thanks for sharing CanaryGirl :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.0
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    44%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 34.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 200.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes