13 Reviews

My review is for those who, like me, may not have all the ingredients so the recipe was modified. Used all ground beef, no fresh herbs but substituted dried, omitted anise and green pepper. I cooked the meatballs in the sauce as directed but couldn't fit them all in the pan so baked the remaining ones - those in the sauce came out better. Didn't touch it for 25 minutes, turned them, simmered another 10-15. The sauced meatballs (12) were much larger than the size of a golfball and the baked ones (14) about the size of the golfball - so with 1 1/2 lbs. of meat, this makes quite a bit. Simmering them softens the onion where baking doesn't allow enough time for the onion to mellow. I'll use all fresh herbs next time - which I always prefer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jemcomeau September 16, 2015

Maybe I am crazy, but these meatballs were terrible. I have cooked the Ina Garten recipe for years, and that recipe rocks! I was in the mood this afternoon for a change and found this recipe via google. I followed the directions exactly, and I can cook. I have done so professionally for a living and personally for my family for 20+ years. These meatballs tasted like something you would eat at a retirement center, and smelled weird after cooking. I didn't make homemade sauce this time, as these meatballs need more prep time than my usual recipe, so I went with Rao's Marinara. It wasn't the marinara. I am confused? Perhaps I had a bad ingredient...will not try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
john598919 February 15, 2016

This recipe is AMAZING! I omitted the anise because I didn't have it but it turned out yummy anyway. I've read the other reviews to leave out the green peppers so I'll try that next time. Also, the sausage I used for this was the Jimmy Dean sage flavor (it was all I had) which itself is seasoned to perfection so I also went easy on the salt. DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gee M.P January 26, 2016

Definitely the best meatballs ever! I use a bit more mince, almond instead of wheat flour, and exclude both the anise and capsicum. I've also made in bulk and frozen the meatballs to good effect. Thank you so much for this recioe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fran G. January 25, 2016

I made these meatballs with a couple changes and they were fantastic! I omitted the green pepper and did not use the anise seeds. I also put the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 5-7 minutes before putting them into my sauce. Then I simmered them in the sauce for about 10 minutes. I was hesitant about dropping raw meat into my sauce. My family really enjoyed them. This is now my meatball recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sylvia E. September 16, 2015

I just made these meatballs tonight and they turned out delicious. I did not however use Anise seeds as I didn't have them so they may be too spicy for some people. I also adapted the recipe where I cooked them for about 25 minutes in the oven and out them in sauce to simmer as another recipe said to do. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter except for using more cheese and omitting the green peppers. They came out awesome and would be really great for meatball subs or over pasta. Thank you for this recipe, I will definitely use it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alice.l.campbell August 28, 2015

I've had many varieties of meatballs over the years. My grandmother is Italian. I followed recipe, but doubled it and left out green pepper (which is a huge NO in Italian meatballs) and it was fantastic!!! I'm never making another recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisadimasssimo August 09, 2015

These meatballs are by far THE BEST we have ever made or tasted! I'm Hungarian so I take pride in everything I cook, cooking them in the sauce is it's a secret I never knew. I am on my second batch, I got my two kids to help me mix everything together I doubled the recipe! I'm making two batches tonight and freezing one for the next time. I'm actually going to slow simmer an entire meatloaf submerged in sauce this way and then carefully pull it out of my Dutch oven to cool. I will have enough this time around to make meatball subs afterwards and to slice them when they're cool and put them on our homemade pizza! thank you so much Colleen for putting out this recipe my family and friends love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie c. July 18, 2015

This recipe is amazing. The only thing I found not to my likening was the bell pepper. It gave it extra zest but with the onion garlic and bread crumbs it made the meatballs too chunky. Many people skipped the anise but I found that this ingredient is neccessary to combat the spicy-ness that the cayenne pepper gave. The only other thing I would do is use lean ground beef and pork because much of the fat is left in the sauce since there is no way to drain the oil. I didn't mind the fatty sauce but it make it look orange instead the traditional red of tomato sauce. But that's the brilliance of these recipes is that some of the weird things work for some and others not. It is then up to you to make the final touches to make it your "World's Best".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funnygummie March 31, 2015

Phenomenal! I am usually weary of recipes preceded by 'the best' but this one is no joke. This is going to be my go to recipe for meatballs. The only two things I omitted were the anise and the green pepper but only because I forgot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellatell70 November 18, 2014
Best Ever Italian Meatballs