Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Hot Cocoa Mix

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2009

      I was JUST about to post this amazing recipe that I saw this morning on the www.cookscountry.com website and VOILA! Here it is. Here's what is said on the website: "Best-Ever Hot Cocoa Mix - Forget about the watery hot cocoa with dehydrated marshmallows you sipped as a kid--our instant hot cocoa recipe is creamy, rich, and big on chocolate flavor. Test Kitchen Discoveries - Nonfat dry milk adds a sweet dairy flavor to the cocoa, especially if you reconstitute the mix with hot milk instead of hot water. Confectioners sugar works best in this recipe--it dissolves quickly and the cornstarch (an ingredient manufacturers add to the sugar to prevent clumping) helps thicken the cocoa. White chocolate provided our cocoa with a soft, creamy texture and pushes the chocolate flavor to new heights." Thanks for posting. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I used coffee creamer and dark chocolate cocoa powder...I was afraid it would be too bitter, so I added a little extra sugar, which was not necessary. It was really sweet, which was totally fine with my 7 yr old. I made with water, because that's how he likes it. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      This is fabulous! My family absolutely loves it. Beats that store bought stuff to pieces! I really love the addition of the white chocolate chips. A very rich, smooth and chocolatey hot chocolate. Thank you! <br/><br/>Cathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This was a bit bitter to our tastebuds. It might have been the cocoa I used which was a blend of alkaline (Dutch process) and "normal" cocoa. We found we needed 1 more Tablespoon powdered sugar per serving. It may have something to do with the fact my husband prefers his hot cocoa made with water, and I did omit the salt. I'll try it again with milk (but I've already added extra powdered sugar to the mix). I did like how easily this disolved in the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Yum yum yum! My boyfriend currently lives in another city for school and I sent him a jar of this mix seeing that finals were coming up and a cold snap was to be expected. He said he really enjoyed it, and even used hot water! I used almond milk&found the hot cocoa absolutely divine. I cheaped out&didn't want to spend the $8 on powdered milk so I used vanilla-caramel coffee creamer instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Thank you for posting! I was looking for a delicious homemade hot cocoa mix and my search has stopped! Very rich, chocolately and creamy. I didn't have Dutch-process cocoa on hand so I just used Hershey's and it still tasted wonderful. I can't wait to try it with the Dutch-process... the teachers this year are going to love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Oh my! This is definitely the best ever!! It tastes just like hot chocolate from the Hema (Netherlands) which has the best Hot cocoa - or Warm Chocomel - that I've come acrossed. I lay in bed last night thinking - what can I give my pa-in-law for Christmas - it's only 2 days away, and I thought of Hot Cocoa mix - I'm so glad that I chose this recipe - it's awesome! THANK YOU! (i will delete all the other hot cocoa mixes b/c i've already found the best :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      We had this at a beach bonfire recently, topped with whipped cream. The kids and adults all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This is a fabulous recipe for homemade hot cocoa! I've been eyeballing this recipe for a few months, and had it saved to post from Cook's Illustrated. Then my friend Greg posted it. I've been making it up for holiday gift baskets, and it is DELISH! I went ahead and added the whole 12 oz. package of white chocolate chips, and I found some that were 20% cocoa butter, (The Ghirardelli's are not, much to my surprise.) I found that pulsing a few times, then processing this for a full minute made a very fine mix, you'll see it take on that texture, and there were no visible bits of white chocolate left. I've filled my jars and now daughter says I must make up another batch so we have some at home. Be sure to mix this with hot milk, NOT water! Very nummy! Thanks Greg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This is my favorite Hot Chocolate Mix! The white chocolate and the Dutch-processed cocoa is what sets it apart from the others. I made this last year for teacher gifts and kept a batch for ourselves. I orginally got it from Cook's Illstrated, but I am glad to see it posted, everyone should try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Hot Cocoa Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.2
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    23%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 6.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 138.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 28.7 g
    114%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes