22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This really is very good. Most of the mayo recipes I'd tried didn't have a good "bite" but this is just sharp enough with a clean flavor. Very easy to make in a quart jar with a stick blender. I did not find it too salty at all ( be sure to use level teaspoon measures ;-) ).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EyeGuy January 17, 2012

This is a very good recipe. It makes quite a bit. I used grapeseed oil and apple cider vinegar. It came out beautifully and tasty. Only 1 tsp of real salt. Next time I may use half vinegar and half lemon juice. Don't use evoo it tastes bitter. Have fun playing with this one. Perhaps some fresh cracked black pepper! Enjoy GMO free!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keegansruler November 29, 2012

I was a little worried at first when I tasted the mayo because it seemed to salty. Put it in the fridge to set for awhile and used it to top Crafty Lady 13's The Perfect Hamburgers and the mayo was great. I did use my blender but next time I would use the food processer as the mayo had trouble blending at the top. Didnt find free range eggs so I used Eggland's Best and the 2 cups of vegetable oil. So much better and fresher tasting than store bought mayo. Made and reviewed for Recipe Swap #19.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 09, 2008

Great recipe, I used only half a teaspoon of mustard and i used 1 cup of olive oil and one cup of sunflower oil. I put the oil in 2 pop top drink bottles and this made a very consistent stream when pouring the oil, the mayonaise came out much thicker this way and it also thickens up more in the fridge. I also clean the eggs with abit of vinegar before cracking them to kill any harmful bacteria, as the dangerous bacterias that are a risk when using raw eggs are actually preesnt on the shell not inside the egg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 May 05, 2013

This was an easy recipe to follow and make. Since I do not use salt I cut the salt by 1/4tsp and next time will only put in 1tsp instead. This is a very good fresh tasting mayonnaise and will be making this instead of buying it. I would recommend this recipe to anyone to make it is very good.

Jane

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Angel January 20, 2013

I tried this several ways. All were easy and good however malt vinegar tasted the closest to store bought Best Foods or Hellman's. (not Merical Whip which has high sugar content. I too thought it was salty UNTILL I let it get cold, like regular Mayo. As any good cook knows, chilling decreases seasoning. It's why homemade Ice-cream will taste too sweet until it's chilled. So once chilled this mayo was not salty at all. Had I reduced the salt, tasting it warm, it would not have tasted as authentic once chilled. Christopher Lowell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmadden212 May 04, 2015

I used 1 c canola oil and 1 c veggie oil & only 1-1/2 tsp of salt. Tastes very similar to the real Best Foods mayo but without all the preservatives and NO GMO! Will do again and use garlic and red wine vinegar. I don't think I'll be buying store-bought mayo again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jann_5210524 March 17, 2015

Was looking for a good mayonnaise. And I have the freshest free range eggs available. .most times they are still warm, I have chooks. ( chickens for those in the USA) Cant wait to make more

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nekogoddess August 13, 2014

WOW! Just made it and it was so easy and so delicious. I am shocked at how easy it was in my nutribullet. I will be doing homemade from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soda girl July 24, 2014

I made this recipe to the letter! Other than it being too salty, it turned out really well. It had good consistency and overall flavor. I will make this again but next time I will use 1 tsp. salt instead of 2. We raise chickens, so we always have fresh eggs! ;)<br/><br/>Thank you for uploading this recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PirateCook February 08, 2014
Best Ever Homemade Mayonnaise