22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! This is a warm, comforting dish. The only modification I made was to infuse the olive oil with fresh, cracked garlic cloves instead of using the powder. It gave it a subtle hint of fresh garlic. Also, I think that refrigerating it overnight to allow the flavors to combine and develop is essential if you have the time. Absolutely wonderful - well done!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyGrl87 April 09, 2009

This is a soup that has perfectly balanced,deep,rich flavours.Elegant enough for a dinner party,yet satisfying enough for a working lunch. This recipe is also easy enough for those who are not terribly confident in the kitchen,to produce a great tasting dish. A triumph-thank you for posting. Made for PRMR.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo December 04, 2008

I've made this recipe countless times and it is always a wonderful treat! I made it this weekend, and had to use swiss and mozarella cheese (no gruyere in the house) and it turned out beautifully, as always.
Toasted up the french bread I made yesterday, with olive oil, salt, a bit of parmesan and oregano, cut into 2 inch cubes, makes it nice when you dig your spoon into that cheesy goodness to get a chunk of toast like that.
Thank you for sharing a really great soup recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere October 13, 2012

I was absolutely speechless after my first bowl of this soup. I have never made a soup from scratch before and found it to be amazingly simple and easy, too. I refrigerated the soup in the Dutch Oven for two days rather than one -- something came up and so it was in a day longer than it calls for in the recipe. It was delicious but since I am a new widower and there is just me and the dog, I saved and froze equal portions for my two adult daughters. Boy are they in for a surprise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ron H. October 15, 2014

Major yummy. Definitely make it a day ahead, the difference is notable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiriZ July 19, 2013

Great with our roast beef sandwiches tonight! I made a number of changes--only out of necessity and for fewer people. Only used 1 onion, and instead of beef broth (didn't have any), used beef Better than Boullion, along with a good splash of burgundy wine but, unfortunately, no brandy on hand (will have to get some just for this recipe). For croutons, used 2-day old ciabatta bread from Tish (Recipe 29253), and mozzarella cheese. Didn't wait a day (couldn't
:-O). Leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for sharing, 2Bleu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B March 21, 2011

I was craving French Onion Soup and this hit the spot. My boyfriend ate it and he doesn't even really like French Onion Soup. (He was not a fan of the crouton, but that is personal preference.) I followed the directions as close as possible. I used cab merlot for the wine. And accidentally only bought 2 cartons of beef broth/stock (they don't sell broth where I live) which only equals 8 cups...so just made it with that. Also I used Dutch Havarti for the cheese (it was on sale, looked like swiss and I couldn't find Guyere) and that tasted good...as the melted cheese is my favorite part. Lastly, I didn't let it sit over night as I was craving it and wanted it for dinner. Still tasted good, but will probably taste just as good, if not better for tomorrows leftovers/dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobynTF March 21, 2011

Delicious. I made this for my dinner party late night and everyone rated it a 5. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. February 12, 2011

absolutely fABulous! Made and eaten same day ... i just had it simmering for a couple hours. Oh and I didn't add brandy cause i never drink it so don't keep it stocked - i personally don't think it would have that much difference. mmmmmmm so scrumptious, thank you for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel#608 December 19, 2009

Really loved this soup. I did make half a recipe and made it one day in advance for the flavors to meld. I don't think you would have to make it ahead but it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 11, 2009
Best Ever French Onion Soup