Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2009

      Awesome! This is a warm, comforting dish. The only modification I made was to infuse the olive oil with fresh, cracked garlic cloves instead of using the powder. It gave it a subtle hint of fresh garlic. Also, I think that refrigerating it overnight to allow the flavors to combine and develop is essential if you have the time. Absolutely wonderful - well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is a soup that has perfectly balanced,deep,rich flavours.Elegant enough for a dinner party,yet satisfying enough for a working lunch. This recipe is also easy enough for those who are not terribly confident in the kitchen,to produce a great tasting dish. A triumph-thank you for posting. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I've made this recipe countless times and it is always a wonderful treat! I made it this weekend, and had to use swiss and mozarella cheese (no gruyere in the house) and it turned out beautifully, as always.
      Toasted up the french bread I made yesterday, with olive oil, salt, a bit of parmesan and oregano, cut into 2 inch cubes, makes it nice when you dig your spoon into that cheesy goodness to get a chunk of toast like that.
      Thank you for sharing a really great soup recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2014

      I was absolutely speechless after my first bowl of this soup. I have never made a soup from scratch before and found it to be amazingly simple and easy, too. I refrigerated the soup in the Dutch Oven for two days rather than one -- something came up and so it was in a day longer than it calls for in the recipe. It was delicious but since I am a new widower and there is just me and the dog, I saved and froze equal portions for my two adult daughters. Boy are they in for a surprise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Major yummy. Definitely make it a day ahead, the difference is notable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Great with our roast beef sandwiches tonight! I made a number of changes--only out of necessity and for fewer people. Only used 1 onion, and instead of beef broth (didn't have any), used beef Better than Boullion, along with a good splash of burgundy wine but, unfortunately, no brandy on hand (will have to get some just for this recipe). For croutons, used 2-day old ciabatta bread from Tish (Recipe 29253), and mozzarella cheese. Didn't wait a day (couldn't
      :-O). Leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for sharing, 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I was craving French Onion Soup and this hit the spot. My boyfriend ate it and he doesn't even really like French Onion Soup. (He was not a fan of the crouton, but that is personal preference.) I followed the directions as close as possible. I used cab merlot for the wine. And accidentally only bought 2 cartons of beef broth/stock (they don't sell broth where I live) which only equals 8 cups...so just made it with that. Also I used Dutch Havarti for the cheese (it was on sale, looked like swiss and I couldn't find Guyere) and that tasted good...as the melted cheese is my favorite part. Lastly, I didn't let it sit over night as I was craving it and wanted it for dinner. Still tasted good, but will probably taste just as good, if not better for tomorrows leftovers/dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Delicious. I made this for my dinner party late night and everyone rated it a 5. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      absolutely fABulous! Made and eaten same day ... i just had it simmering for a couple hours. Oh and I didn't add brandy cause i never drink it so don't keep it stocked - i personally don't think it would have that much difference. mmmmmmm so scrumptious, thank you for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Really loved this soup. I did make half a recipe and made it one day in advance for the flavors to meld. I don't think you would have to make it ahead but it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This recipe is AWESOME. It is BETTER than aby soup I have had in a restaurant. I think its the red wine. So yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I totally agree with the name of this recipe! It certainly is the best. I don't have a dutch oven so cooked it on the stovetop over the lowest heat. I also found that it fit nicely into my WW programme as a filling meal with relatively few points (I went light on the cheese of course... bf didn't!) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      We liked this recipe very much. I made this for a soup and sandwich night and the family really enjoyed it. I plan on making it again this winter, its a very economical soup and tastes great. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I made this a few days ago with great results. It really did taste like something out of a fancy bistro! And the homemade croutons really make this even more excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Yummy! I love French Onion Soup and think I've made it almost every way possible, lol. But, I've never added brandy to it before - it really added a great flavor. I did make it a day ahead and let the flavors meld. Leftovers were even better. Thanks 2Bleu for a great new favorite. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This was an excellent French Onion Soup! I have never used brandy when I've made this before, and I think that's the secret ingredient. It also always helps to let the soup sit overnight. I didn't realize that I didn't have any bay leaves until I'd already started cooking. I subbed some oregano and basil. It was still great, although different from the classic soup. I just started my new job, and I had a couple of girls over for dinner. I'm now famous for my French Onion Soup :-D Thanks Bird&Buddha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is a delicious French onion soup recipe. I love the flavor and love the Gruyere cheese with this. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Terrific recipe for French Onion Soup. I really enjoyed the flavor of this. The brandy and wine give such a wonderful taste to the onions. It was pretty chilly here in Maine last night, so it was a perfect choice for dinner. Only thing I changed was to use Jarlsburg cheese instead of the Gruyere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Mmmm good! I used veggie broth instead of beef, and did leave out the brandy. I used rye french bread which was great! Thanks Bird! Made for Review My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      You do know, don't you, that I now must forgo my favorite stand-by version of this soup for yours... *drums fingers*... Holy cow, this was utterly perfect! The thrill started for me while caramelizing the onions. As the minutes sauntered by, the aroma became more and more intoxicating as I stirred until (OMG!) I ended up caramelizing the spoon, and then my arm, which, of course, I had to nibble on. (Hey, it's my arm!) This is the first time I've used brandy in a French onion soup even though many versions call for it, and I'm not sure if that's what made this difference, but I don't care... I'm sticking to this recipe like super glue! Even my husband adored this and could be heard moaning with pleasure while slurping. (It's ok. I alerted the neighbors that we were having a particularly fine soup that evening.) Thank you SO much for this fantastic keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (857 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.0
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    32%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2782.4 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites