Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Easy Ginger Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Easy Ginger Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2012

      I love this recipe. It is so simple to make, and it makes you look like a baking goddess to all that taste it. I get requests from friends most weeks to make this cake for them. I sometimes ice it, but it's just as good on it's own. I also usually half the recipe and put it in a loaf tin, as it has been known to sink when cooked in one large tin. It does really taste so much better after a night in the fridge, so if you have time, cook it the day before. Whether you are a pro cook, or a novice, this recipe is a no fail, so go for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      absolutely delicious! have always bought ginger cakes from the grocers but this one is just as good as store bought..easy to make and keeps well in the fridge too!! If there are any leftovers slice thinly and bake in oven until crispy to make your own spicy biscotti..great to dunk with a cup of coffee!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Delicious! I used light corn syrup instead of golden syrup and it worked great. Exactly what I was looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This is a really great cake. I used 1/4 cup treacle to 1 3/4 cups golden syrup. When I first made it I wasnt that impressed but by the next day the consistency had changed and it was delicious. Tastes just like Jamaican Ginger Cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I tried this the other night as I was looking for a recipe similar to McVities Jamaican Ginger Cake and I always like to try a recipe when the writer states they've been searching for 20 years and found the holy grail. I was not disappointed!! This was best left until the next day when the cake goes all sticky. I made the icing but didn't have crystallized ginger but did have stem ginger in syrup so added 3 tablespoons of the ginger syrup and it was amazing! This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

    • on January 28, 2007

      Very good - and easy to make. Instead of icing, I dotted blobs of home-made plum jam onto the mixture in the tin before cooking. Somehow the plum and ginger go very well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This was super easy and turned out great (even looked Martha-Stewart-perfect!) I increased the amount of both ginger and cinnamon to about 1 1/2 tbsp though... my family likes a spicy cake! Thanks Kookaburra!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Absolutely easiest ginger cake ever! and gorgeous with it too! Now, 1 day later, the top has gone all sticky and goes down well with a nice cup of tea! Jackie Warwick, Liskeard, Cornwall

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      Thanks Kookaburra! I made this cake w/o the frosting for my dad for father's day and he loved it and said it was tasty, moist, not too heavy, nor too light! I subed the ground ginger for 3 tablespoons of chopped crystalized ginger coz we had soo much on hand as he is a ginger freak!I also did end up using molasses( black treacle)instead of all golden syrup and nobody thought it was overpowering. anywho, this is certainly an easy ginger cake that everybody loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      Two words! Mmmm! Mmmm! This was so great! Family is anticipating for me to bring some to them tomorrow! Thanks KOOKA! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      I really wish I could give this recipe ten stars. I too have been looking for the definitive ginger cake - it had been dark and gingery and not too sweet, and here it is. I made mine in a round pan and it needed nearly an hour in the oven to be cooked through, but it is absolutely awesome. Thanks so much for sharing this one, I'd love to know where you found the recipe as it really is fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Easy Ginger Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.1
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    23%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 35.0 mg
    11%
    Sodium 142.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites