Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best-Ever Chocolate Cake , Heritage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best-Ever Chocolate Cake , Heritage Recipe

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2009

      We made this again, but this time using our KitchenAid (the first time was a hand mixer). Both ways are to die for, but I did want to add to the review that using the hand mixer produces a denser cake. I am guessing that because with the KitchenAid, it can whip up the butter/sugar fluffier at a higher speed. Again, both ways make this an over-the-top delicious chocolate cake and it remains our favorite. :) This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 01/06/08 - This was a very simple chocolate cake to make, and I enjoyed making it for Buddha, with that said, the remainder of the review will continue with him remarking on the flavor..... This is the nicest, most wonderful gift my beloved Bird has given me. Thank you for sharing the recipe Annacia. The cake is full of flavor, moist, yet not obviously moist. While this cake is slightly denser than I normally prefer, this recipe gave my palate new sensations and pleasures that I wouldn't change one bit. The icing had the best flavor that this chocoholic has had in a long time. The icing, too, is not as light as I expected, yet perfect. The complementing textures right out of the ice-box is perfect. This cake compels me to eat slower, savoring each taste, texture, and feeling it embodies. While these are only the euphoric emotions of me, I would recommend this to anyone who loves chocolate with this warning: YOU MAY EMBARRASS YOURSELF AS YOU WEEP WITH JOY OVER THE DINING TABLE AS YOU EAT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Great cake recipe! Prepared as written with the exception of the cocoa. I used half cocoa and half special dark cocoa. There was too much frosting for our taste. The cake was very moist and VERY good. Not even sure it needed frosting it was so good. I was confused by the ingredient list for the frosting. I read 7/8 cup powdered sugar but the directions said 4 1/2 cups. One review said this cakewas no better than a boxed cake mix. I could not disagree more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Since everyone else seems to love this recipe I'll leave off a starred rating. I think it is an easy to make good chocolaty cake but not the "Best-Ever" which is promising a lot. It's not much better than cake mix to me. It may be partially my fault for baking it in a 13x9 glass baking dish and it turned out a little dry. I will say it is MUCH better after sitting in the fridge overnight. I'm not sure I like the sour flavor in the frosting either. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Very rich, delicious old-fashioned home-style chocolate cake. Just like you remember from childhood. The only thing wrong with this cake is that it may not make it to the point of assembling, if you keep sneaking tastes of the batter and frosting. Ahem. Good thing the amount of frosting produced is enough to cover a 9-inch two layer cake generously. Ahem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Best chocolate cake & chocolate icing EVER! Took this to a chocoholic's birthday party & EVERYONE was in heaven! Even b-day girl's notoriously picky eater gobbled it down. FTR when Mr. Picky asked me what the icing was made of - I replied "Chocolate" & he nodded & then asked, "What kind of chocolate?" This made me chuckle as I had to use what I had - 1/2 milk chocolate & 1/2 bittersweet - the only stray from the recipe. TRUE ALLSTAR recipe - thanks for posting Annacia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      This is a great basic chocolate cake recipe that everyone raves over. Be sure to whip the butter and sugar together for a while (it should look white and fluffy with no traces of the sugar left). I've also found that the time between almost done and overdone is VERY short so keep an eye on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      My daughter and I made this recipe. She did most of the work so not sure if we made a mistake somewhere but it came out dry. The icing was delicious and used on another recipe for cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was very good...maybe not my favorite chocolate cake recipe, but one of the best. Be sure not to overcook your batter! Made for Best of 2008 Cookbook Game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Oh my GOODNESS!!!! My DH was in chocolate heaven with this cake!!!! He has asked me to make this for every birthday, holiday and whenever I get an urge to bake! Just wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This chocolate cake is really good baked it in a bundt pan and it came out beautifully moist i used Jeni's Chocolate Ganache to frost the cake n sprinkled silver peppermint balls on top. It looked so cute n tasted amazing ! Thank you Annacia .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This recipe was included in Book#228608. September 2, 2008 -- This is a terrific and rich chocolate cake, and easy to make too! It was so moist and had a great crumb -- it didn't fall apart when I cut it. And the icing is to die for!! I doubled the frosting recipe just to be sure there would be enough for a two-layer cake, but I didn't need to. There was plenty making just the amount of icing in this recipe. This is our new cake to make for birthday parties and snacks. Yum; thanks for this recipe Annacia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      You are right. Best ever Chocolate cake. And with all your wonderful coffee recipes I will have to come back to you cookbook again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      You definitely will need a tall glass of milk to eat with this very chocolaty and rich cake! It is simple to make but the results are outstanding. You will impress anyone that you serve this cake to. I used the round cake pans and I did have a little bit of frosting left over. Thanks for sharing, Annacia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best-Ever Chocolate Cake , Heritage Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 691.7
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    46%
    Total Fat 36.1 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 113.0 mg
    37%
    Sodium 444.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.9 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 62.6 g
    250%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites