37 Reviews

This is a very tasty dish! I went to an Indian grocery store to buy chili powder but I was fearful that it would be too hot for us, so I used a total of 1 teaspoon for a triple batch of sauce, and it was just the right amount of heat. I made the sauce ahead of time, and then added 12 skinless chicken thighs and baked at 300 F. until they were tender. I did not add any water when I added the chicken. The sauce was fairly thick at that point, but the juices from the chicken while baking gave the perfect consistency to the finished sauce. I'm thinking that next time I might add coconut milk instead of cream to finish the sauce, just because I like it so much.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo May 18, 2010


My wife is Chinese, so I'm well rounded with various foods, and this was a fantastically simple recipe with a FANTASTIC result!

I actually used twice the powders suggested, 1/2 the amount of chicken, and began by frying the chicken with the powders to begin with to ensure taste sunk into the chicken

but yea, brilliant...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darkedge3 April 18, 2012

I have made Indian meals before but this was better than any of them! It was the perfect mixture of sweet & spicy. I recommend doubling the sauce especially if you are making 4 or more chicken breasts. This allows you to have extra sauce to mix with the rice or dip the bread in. Will make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pyneapple July 01, 2010

This is terrific. The flavors blend in such a nice way to create a delicious tasty sauce. I made this with only two chicken breasts and threw in some stirfry vegetables. I actually think you could easily double the sauce part of the recipe - I reckon that's the best part, and the recipe makes just enough to coat the ingredients with a little bit left over (I tend to like having a lot extra to really get that flavor). I added about 4 tablespoons more coriander as I felt it could use a bit more, and I feel coriander is one of those things that's hard to overdo. Overall, great recipe. I will definitely be adding this to my list of curries to make again. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefdownunda June 02, 2010

This is so awesome! New to Indian cooking this was easy to prepare and the result was just what I was hoping for!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ January 28, 2010

awesomeness!!!!!! definitely not a balti, but who cares... the recipe is so easy to follow and the end result is an amazing spicy sweet curry blend. Personally I add the chillies in sooner, also chuck in any veg i can find, be it pepper, onion or potato. Single handedly the best home-made curry of all time. 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tuckerr03 January 21, 2010

This is the first time I a have tried this style of chicken and we found it very enjoyable. Th only changes I made were to use parsley instead of coriander (which I do regularly as we we don't really like the taste of coriander) and as my chilli bushes had died of I used a teaspoon of minced chilli paste but I thinkI put in too much water in step 3 (about 1/2 cup - would reduce that to about a 1/4 or less) as the result was the sauce was a little watery but was still packed with flavour. Would personally prefer to use chicken thigh but the DH prefers breast meat but I found it a little dry but we all had a bead of sweat of our brown without having our mouth burning, a definate plus. I served with steamed rice and vegatables and naan bread, an enjoyable meal thank you Noo, made for 123 Hits tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 30, 2012

This is great! We will make again! After reading the other reviews, we doubled the sauce. Mainly because we had a very large package of chicken breasts. Great flavor! Not too spicy. We put in a whole can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Ro-Tel) and used a whole container of Greek yogurt (6 oz). We added water when we added the chicken but it ended up too watery so we had to add cornstarch to thicken everything up at the end. We served with basmati rice and will enjoy the leftovers this week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
decarli1 April 25, 2010

Really delicious! I served this with jasmine rice and naan. I did increase the garlic a little, and didn't have any green chiles, so I used jalapenos instead...just less of them! I like it hot, so this worked fine for me! I only used 2 chicken breasts, but used all the sauce. The ratio seemed to be good, so maybe my chicken breasts were large. Thanks for posting a delicious recipe! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 13, 2009

Very easy to follow & it tasted excellent, perhaps next time I will use more chillies but overall it was tasted & had fun making it....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary H. September 06, 2015
Best Ever Chicken Balti