Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2014

      Southerner here, born and raised. I used a Purdue roasting chicken (in a sealed bag) so didn't do all the rubbing and such. Figured Purdue could handle that. Prepared the stock as instructed. Dumplings as instructed. Couldn't really wrap my mind around chicken and dumplins with veggies in it (Grandma's didn't have that...lol) so I kind of winged it. Guess that was a mistake. Found the dumplins as prepared far heavier than mine and the instructions were a little weird ("cake like consistency"<br/>...cake batter cake cake? huh? it was as expected doughlike ) <br/>I think I didnt' really follow the recipe...the supreme sauce just sounded like a LOT of calories extra. <br/>Some would say no wonder I didn't like it. BUT dumplins were just bland, tasteless...should have put in some poultry seasoning per usual. ANd definitely you need pepper to cut the starchy taste. They were not really as I'm accustomed. I checked out a couple more C & D recipes one here at different times. Guess I'm just too southern. Grandma didn't go to NEAR as much trouble and hers were melt-in-mouth delicious. (no veggies there, either...lol). Even my ex-mother-in-law made the BEST (what she called) "chicken and pastry" I 've ever tasted. and, well, I gave it a shot. .<br/><br/>I also have noticed that the baking powder-to-dry ingredients varies WIDELY in these recipes. <br/>I think I'll stick with White lily SELF-RISING --it always turns out right ,smile>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      I gave this recipe a 4 star rating because of a few things.

      -I wish that the writer would have put the measurements in the actual instructions, instead of seperating the ingredients and amounts of ingredients and ONLY putting them at the top of the page. I found myself scrolling UP and DOWN over and over.

      -I do think that there was far too much batter for the dumplings, I only ended up using about 1/4-1/2 of the batter that I had from the amount made.

      I used 3 lbs of chicken thighs, and everything with the roasting of the chicken came out just fine, of course I did have to adjust temp and time for cooking, because the recipe called for a WHOLE chicken. I did the rub and ingredients just as called for, except I couldnt stuff the chicken obviously, so I used lemon pepper and put garlic and onion under the skin of the thighs.

      The sauce is SO FREAKING DELICIOUS. It was easy to make, I followed the sauce recipe completely and fully. Its the BEST PART OF THE RECIPE. And since I already told you about the dumplings and the abundance of wasted product that concludes my review of this recipe.

      Maybe next time, Ill do this sauce with a different roasted chicken recipe or different dumpling recipe. Who knows?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This was AMAZING!!! I was to lazy to use a whole chicken and do all that it required so I used 3 frozen chicken brests put them into an oven bag with the spices all on top and a pat of butter on top of all that and baked for an hour, let it coll and made the entire recipe from there exactly (san's chicken bones in stock-obviously) I also added a Tbl spoon corn meal into the dumplings and added some of my own extra seasonings but it really was the BEST I have ever had, and my first attempt at making chicken and dumplings since childhood!! Thanks we all loved it kids and all...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Very yummy! I really wanted to give it 4 1/2 stars, because it needed a few things IMO- I added thyme and rosemary towards the end. Next time I will add some to the dumpling mix too. I added a bunch of frozen mixed veggies when I realized that the veggies called for was not nearly enough for my tastes (so I would recommend you either add more carrots and celery or throw in some frozen peas once the added chicken broth is added) I also added some chopped onion with the carrots and celery.
      OK- I have to fess up.. I cheated a bit! I baked up some bone-in chicken breasts with herbs and a touch of garlic instead of using a whole chicken and I used some homemade chicken broth I had made last month and froze- so the flavors may have been a touch different.
      I had a hard time getting the final broth to thicken enough for my liking (it was too much like soup- I like it more the consistency of buttermilk), so I added a bit of cornstarch at the end- before I dropped in the dumplings.
      I really enjoyed this recipe as did my family (even my daughter who doesn't usually like soup). I will defiantly make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Really good, suprisingly filling soup (and I forgot to add the cream!). I used the carcass from a leftover roast chicken and followed the recipe from the stock onward. I didn't have any extra chicken, and DH missed it, so next time I'll make sure to include the shredded chicken. Will try extra carrots next time and maybe a little sherry to sweeten it up. You won't use all of the dumpling mix! I tried and made my dumplings too big and they "ate" the rest of the sauce, so I'll have to work on that next time. A little effort, but very satisfying results. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is the best dumpling recipe ever, I cook it about 4 or 5 times a month and everyone loves it.. my rating for this is 10 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I've been looking for a great recipe for chicken and dumplings for a long time. I decided to roast 2 chickens because they were on sale and wanted to make the most out of the herbs. The chicken tasted and smelled so good that my roommate and I ate 1 entire bird right off the roasting pan. Best roast chicken ever! The chicken stock is fabulous, and after I made it I didn't have enough food left over to make the dumplings. I make matzoh ball soup with the meat and stock for passover also. AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Takes time for sure but worth every second when complete. I am 26 years old and a city girl so when my husband requested his favorite dish "Chick-n-dumplings" I knew I had to come strong. This was wonderful. Only thing would change is the dumplings I modified my own to taste. I would recommend to EVERYONE. I def beat my grandmother in law :). At 26 thats an accomplishment! LOL Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I love chicken and dumplings! Not sure I could ever rate them less than 5 stars, regardless of the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was fantastic! I had my husband's grandmother's dumplings to compete with and may I just say, I passed with flying colors! I had to add a little cornstarch (mixed with cold water of course) to thicken it. It really turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      This was the first time I've tried to make this dish. I used freezer dumplings and boiled them in the saved broth from the chicken I boiled instead of roasted. I used garlic powder and plenty of salt. I've tasted my mother-in-laws receipe and it doesn't compare to this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      The only reason why I give 4 stars is the amount of time it takes to make this dish, when other yummy chicken and dumplings recipes are not even half the time. However, if you do have the time, the steps are fun and it is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      This was a delicious recipe!! I made it a little simpler and it was still wonderful. I boiled chicken breasts (with bones, onions, celery)for a couple of hours until the meat started to fall off. Took out the breasts, shredded the meat (I boiled more than I needed for chicken enchaladas for the next day)added in the carrots and let it cook until the carrots got tender. Pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. I like easy steps, and it came out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      This is one of those fabulous comfort food recipes, and a real treat for chicken and dumpling lovers. Although it takes a lot of time for all the steps, it's mostly oven and simmering time - not much hard work. I did cut some of the fat - reducing the amount of butter to spread on the chicken by half - it was plenty. To make it a little healthier yet, next time I will use all olive oil and no butter in the recipe. I had to have a little taste of the chicken when it finished roasting - WOW! I almost didn't finish the recipe - thought about just having that roast chicken meal! Thanks so much for sharing this chelgilm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Oh my goodness, was this ever good! I did see this on Food 911 on the Food Network and wanted to try it. The only change I made was to add a tiny bit of poultry seasoning to the stock. This is an easy recipe, although a bit time consuming. However, every second I put into this dish was well worth it. Scrumptious dumplings with a nice thick creamy stock. I would give this 10 stars if I could!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      My Vermont born "I'll never eat that" husband who has for years talked about the chicken biscuit mush he got in boot camp, scarfed up several bowls of this. Best chicken and dumpliings recipe ever, by far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (720 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 941.0
     
    Calories from Fat 525
    55%
    Total Fat 58.4 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 23.6 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 241.7 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1162.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 41.7 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes