9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my goodness was this yummy! I'd rate it way higher than 5 stars. :) My son requested this for his 11th birthday a few days ago. I made the cake and my hubby whipped up the icing. This was WAY better than any other carrot cake I've ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer July 30, 2008

I can't believe I forgot to review this- must have been too busy eating it! I HATE grating carrot so this recipe is perfect for me. Don't use baby food, but about 500g of cooked pureed carrots. Perfect! Also perfect as gluten free mini cupcakes (see pic!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee September 27, 2007

Perfection! Light, fluffy, moist, wonderful flavor, no fuss, no mess, quick and easy, thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec February 27, 2007

This was easy and very moist and rich. It was a delicious cake, reminded me much more of spice cake or pumpkin cake than carrot cake. I made two 8 inch rounds and it took 30 minutes to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes August 30, 2005

Very moist and tasty. I added walnuts to the cake and also a few on the top after frosting. It was very well received at the party by young and old alike. Several people asked for the recipe saying it was the moistest carrot cake they had ever tasted. I used a 10" x 14" and it was a bit overdone at 55 minutes. I'll check after 50 minutes next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava Girl April 22, 2005

I thought this was the best ever! I didn't have baby food carrots, so I steamed and puree and measured 16oz of carrots and it didn't lose it's moisture. I also replaced 1/2 cup of oil with puree pineapple . Sandy Mendenhall

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy Mendenhall April 12, 2005

I have been cooking this cake for years too. Instead of adding a factory prepared baby food, however, I puree the boiled carrots with a little honey, as I would for my baby, and also add thawed cubes of carrot that are very soft and add that little bit of texture to the cake. This cake also tastes great with a little sweet ginger root grated into it, and extra spices such as nutmeg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ntemby April 03, 2005

I've been making this cake for absolutely years, and it is as wonderful now as it was the first time I tasted it. I add 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts. About 20 minutes before the cake is done, I take it out of the oven and sprinkle a mix of 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar over the top of the cake and return it to the oven to finish baking. Once the cake is out of the oven, I let it cool for about 15 minutes then cover the pan(13"x9")tightly with foil. This makes the cake soooooooo moist that half the time I don't even frost it. Thanx for posting this recipe, I hope others will discover how wonderful this cake is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 March 31, 2005

You think this does not sound good with the carrot baby food, but, this is why this cake is sooooo moist. I found this recipe years ago in a "Quick Menu" magazine, and ever since, I refuse to go back to the traditional recipe of using the fresh carrots. It is a very moist cake. Thanks for submitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonica March 31, 2005
Best Ever Carrot Cake