21 Reviews

unbelievable. We loved it - definately a default recipe. I did add 2 T of sugar and 1T of vanilla. The 2nd time I made it I substituted 1/4c of wheat flour. It was still great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of twins #2 April 29, 2007

August 04, 2013<br/>Hubby asked for waffles this morning he never does, with that in mind I decided to look for a better waffle recipe than I normally use when I ran across this one i quickly decided to try it knowing a little about cooking I knew the batter would be very light and airy, and most likely yield a pretty decent waffle, it was much better than decent and best of all hubby liked them.<br/>In my house that makes this a definite keeper. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etrawick August 04, 2013

Awesome! After reading the reviews I made this recipe and added 2 T of sugar and 1T of vanilla. Everyone loved them! I will be keeping this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresd June 08, 2013

"Best Ever" indeed! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE these! They are the best! I found them by accident 4 years ago when my sister told me where to find the recipe she recommended. I found this one using her directions, and set about to make them for her and my niece. I didn't have access to a hand mixer that day, so as I was painfully and exhaustingly whisking the egg whites by hand, I eventually began to grumble about it. She asked what I was doing and I told her, and she then realized she had directed me to the wrong recipe! I finally got them beaten stiff, and I folded them in. The waffles were worth it. So much so that I chose this recipe deliberately again the following year for our newly-annual "Christmas Waffles and Elf" day that I started with my niece. The third year, I ran out of time and money, so I just used a boxed mix, which was "okay," but nothing special. This year, I searched everywhere until I found this recipe again. I have a hand mixer now, and the whisking of the egg whites only took about 2 minutes. SO EASY. I realize now all of the reasons that make this one better than ANY other: 1) Butter, not oil = YUM. So much good, buttery flavor. 2) No sugar! You can add sweet to these on top, but on their own they are buttery, not sweet. YUM. 3) Real buttermilk, not milk. 4) Both baking soda and baking powder help to give it rise, and the baking soda also makes it a tiny bit more salty. 5) The beaten egg whites not only help give it even more light and fluffy volume, but they also help to make it more of a crispy golden on the outside. I personally am a strictly strawberries and (HOMEMADE and LIGHTLY sweetened) whipped cream girl. My niece adds all sort of fruit and whipped cream to hers, and she loves it. My sister, who is EXTREMELY picky, came by today and had leftover waffles from the batter I made last night. She put blueberries, strawberries, and whipped cream. She RAVED about them. This is just the absolute perfect recipe. I love everything about it. Everyone loves these waffles. I wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imworkinghere December 22, 2015

This is an excellent recipe. Worked especially well despite being low on milk. Simply used powdered buttermilk in the flour mixture and added water (as per the powdered buttermilk instructions). Perfect waffles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianna88 December 06, 2014

I have been trying so many waffle recipes and THIS ONE IS THE WINNER! I do add some sugar and vanilla extract. I love to sprinkle powdered sugar on them before serving...SO GOOD..Oh and they cook nice and crispy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyn61 May 04, 2013

This recipe is so good that I had to review it and take a photo. It's everything you want a waffle to be, crsip on the outside, light and a bit chewy on the inside with a great flavor. I had extra batter so I froze the extra's. Can't wait to see if they still taste great reheated in the toaster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dessert lover December 31, 2012

Wow! This is a great recipe. Granted, you have to do the extra step of beating the egg whites, but it is so worth it. I have never had such light waffles, even from a restaurant. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have a feeling I will make this over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maxona_1172240 December 10, 2012

Title does not say healthiest, nor does it say easiest, it say's best. No better way to describe this recipe. I wanted to make a 5 star recipe and this one lived up to the rating. Try it you'll love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana L. January 22, 2012
Best Ever Buttermilk Waffles