39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are so good. They are much better cold. Make sure you let them get really cold before you try to dip them into the chocolate. Makes it so much easier. Thanks for this!! Will make again! My daughter loved to help make these.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifdblpn December 12, 2010

Very delish! I was craving buckeyes today, and this hit the spot! The vanilla was a lovely touch! I did, however, have to edit the recipe a little. As I was mixing the powdered sugar in (I do it little by little), I realized that the mixture was going to get way too dry if I added the whole package. I think I used 3/4 of the package, and that was definitely enough. It might have been my fault, because I was using organic peanut butter, but I would think it would make the mixture moister instead of drier. Other than that, though, the recipe was wonderful :-) I used about 2 tbsp. of Crisco, and the chocolate hardened beautifully. Thank you for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyMuffin February 10, 2010

These are delicious! I agree they tend to be to dry with 1lb. of powdered suger so I added just a bit more butter and then it was fine. Did not have Crisco so will have to try that next time but still came out very well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovespell December 22, 2011

Great recipe....use a little less powder sugar and you have the perfect recipe! Huge hit during the holidays and special occasions throughout the year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjack930102 November 27, 2014

My DH & I had funmaking these for a Christmas gathering. Per other reviews, we did cut the powdered sugar to about 3/4 lb. We've used the full amount of powdered sugar in the past, and they turned out with a crumbly unappealing texture. This time they had a nice soft and creamy texture. Since it doesn't say how much Crisco to use, we used about 2 tbsp. It turned out well, but the chocolate still didn't set-up as nice as we would've liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. December 31, 2013

These are must for any cookie tray. I made 1/2 of the recipe and cut back a little on the powdered sugar. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
School Chef December 22, 2013

Yummmm!!! So easy an so good!!!! I didnt use all the sugar the recipe called for they would have been to dry!! I will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 December 10, 2012

I made these for my sisters New Years Eve party and everyone loved them! I only ended up using 3 cups of powdered sugar and it was plenty. These are great both cold and at room temperature. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie January 07, 2012

These are pretty yummy, but I agree that they are too dry. I would not use nearly so much powdered sugar as is called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OLJ December 17, 2011

VERY good! I used the full amount of sugar and the mixture WAS a little dry. After adding just a tiny bit (maybe 1/3 cup) more peanut butter, it was just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 June 20, 2011
Best Ever Buckeyes