Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Buckeyes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Buckeyes

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2010

      These are so good. They are much better cold. Make sure you let them get really cold before you try to dip them into the chocolate. Makes it so much easier. Thanks for this!! Will make again! My daughter loved to help make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Very delish! I was craving buckeyes today, and this hit the spot! The vanilla was a lovely touch! I did, however, have to edit the recipe a little. As I was mixing the powdered sugar in (I do it little by little), I realized that the mixture was going to get way too dry if I added the whole package. I think I used 3/4 of the package, and that was definitely enough. It might have been my fault, because I was using organic peanut butter, but I would think it would make the mixture moister instead of drier. Other than that, though, the recipe was wonderful :-) I used about 2 tbsp. of Crisco, and the chocolate hardened beautifully. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      These are delicious! I agree they tend to be to dry with 1lb. of powdered suger so I added just a bit more butter and then it was fine. Did not have Crisco so will have to try that next time but still came out very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      My DH & I had funmaking these for a Christmas gathering. Per other reviews, we did cut the powdered sugar to about 3/4 lb. We've used the full amount of powdered sugar in the past, and they turned out with a crumbly unappealing texture. This time they had a nice soft and creamy texture. Since it doesn't say how much Crisco to use, we used about 2 tbsp. It turned out well, but the chocolate still didn't set-up as nice as we would've liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      These are must for any cookie tray. I made 1/2 of the recipe and cut back a little on the powdered sugar. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Yummmm!!! So easy an so good!!!! I didnt use all the sugar the recipe called for they would have been to dry!! I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I made these for my sisters New Years Eve party and everyone loved them! I only ended up using 3 cups of powdered sugar and it was plenty. These are great both cold and at room temperature. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      These are pretty yummy, but I agree that they are too dry. I would not use nearly so much powdered sugar as is called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      VERY good! I used the full amount of sugar and the mixture WAS a little dry. After adding just a tiny bit (maybe 1/3 cup) more peanut butter, it was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I made this as part of my Christmas baking this year. OMG! This is such a great recipe! Everybody who has tried them rave. After reading the reviews, I used 3 cups of sifted powdered sugar. I also used Ghiradelli's 73% dark chocolate baking chips. Because they were baking chips, I omitted the crisco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Everything worked well (as opposed to the last time I tried to make buckeyes, LOL), but I did find them to be too sweet. My husband didn't think so, though. The powdered sugar was in a plastic container in my cabinet (as opposed to the bag it came in), so I wasn't sure how much I had. I followed the instructions on this site to use 4 sifted cups. Next time I think I will use less. I used Wilton dark candy melts for the outside since I always find that easier. I dabbed peanut butter in the toothpick holes and smoothed it out, you would never know the holes were there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Just like my mom always made when we were kids! I was looking for a recipe to use for my first annual Christmas cookie platters this year and used this one. The buckeyes were a big hit - some people even told me they'd be happy with a plate of buckeyes only! We ate a lot of them while I was making them, of course. Just like a Reese's peanut butter cup! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Very good! One of the best recipes I've tried. The first time I made this recipe I followed it exactly. The second time I added half the butter called for. I didn't notice the difference. My husband ate nearly ALL of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Peanut Butter + Chocolate = PERFECTION! Enough said!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I haven't tried this recipe myself, but I emailed it to my sister and she made them and brought me about 10. They were gone before I even got to add any to my cookie tray. Delicious!! Can't wait to try them myself. Thanks Jo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      These are the creamiest buckeyes ever! So rich and delicious! Here in Columbus, Ohio you see a lot of Buckeyes...but these are our favorite!!! Go Bucks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Very good. Smooth, creamy filling was delicious. Had a difficult time dipping in chocolate, but I'm never very good at that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Buckeyes are so yummy and these tasted exactly as I remembered!! Soooo good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I cut the recipe in half and followed this recipe for the exception of the Crisco (I didn't have any shortening so I used about 1 oz of Parrafin Wax). I choose this recipe because the others simply would make WAY too many of these and this one was easy to cut in half :-). I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips, next time, I'll try milk chips to see if I prefer instead of semi sweet and then again, I may do a combo (half semi-sweet and half milk chocolate chips)... perhaps adding some graham cracker crumbs would add more texture to the peanut butter mixture (more reeses pb like). Thank for the wonderful recipe and it's definitely a keeper and five star, good just as-is!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      These were incredibly easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Buckeyes

    Serving Size: 1 (1210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.8
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    53%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 71.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites