Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best-Ever Brownies from Baking With Julia Child Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best-Ever Brownies from Baking With Julia Child

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      Extremely fudgey...hard to get the baking time correct, more like a brownie pudding, good flavor...just not a recipe for me. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I've made these about 10x now! I keep getting begged by people that have tried them! They are easy to make, so don't worry about the instructions. Once I get the choc melted I can get them in the oven in less than 10 min. Today though I ran out of dark choc and used milk instead. Afraid I was going to miss the rich flavour I used brown sugar in place of the white. Oh it was absolutely brilliant!!! I also now melt 100g of milk choc with 2 tbs. of butter to make a very quick and easy butter frosting for the top. You'll never make better brownies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Do not be put off by the long instructions. They are well written and make the recipe easy to make. The brownies are close your eyes, melt in your mouth delicious. Deserves more than 5 stars for a recipe that will earn the cook many compliments. Thanks for sharing:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Best brownie recipe ever! I have been trying different recipes all week, and on the 10th try I found this one. The good news is I no longer have to search for a brownie recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      As repeated by the other reviewers, perhaps it is better to bake the brownies a little longer than directed for the center really was extremely gooey when I baked them for about 30 mins. Other than that, the brownies were delicious. However, I think I would go back to my other brownie recipe .... simpler to make with not too much difference in taste. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!!! I ended up cooking them 10 minutes more but these are the best brownies I have ever made. Definitely keeping this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I made these yesterday. The center was still gooey. I am glad I made them. My favourite brownie recipe now. Next time I make them I will bake 'em a little longer so I can compare as to which way I like best, so far hard to beat the gooey center. Thanks for posting this recipe Vitameatavegamin Girl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Best brownies ever. They aren't difficult to make but there are several steps and it makes a bunch of dirty dishes. I wish I had some ice cream to serve with them. Thanks AnnNH.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Everyone who has tried these says they are the "best brownies" they have ever eaten. A little time consuming to make, yes, but the results are fabulous! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Well, the first time I made these, I got SICK about 2 hours after I ate the center brownie...so I wasn't sure if it just wasn't cooked enough or if I was sick with something else, but needless to say it's taken me a while to try these again. The first time I made them, I baked them for about 33 minutes, so this time I went the safe route and baked them for over 50 minutes and they were still super moist and gooey, but not overly so like the last time. I had decided to wait on reviewing until I made them again to be fair and I am glad I did because they are very good and from now on I'll bake them for 50 minutes just in case. I ate one about 4 hours ago and I'm still not sick, so maybe I did just have a 24 hour bug that time. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      These are the Best Ever Brownies!!They got eaten at home,at Bible study, and my daughter shared them with friends at collegem - everybody loved them!! I'd give them a bunch more stars if I could. My only changes were using salted butter - so I cut the salt in half, and I sprinkled walnuts over 2/3 of the pan for all the nut lovers. These will be our house brownie recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Absolutely fantastic! I would give these more than 5 stars. I baked these exactly as stated, except I used salted butter.(Personal preference, I find it brings out more of the flavor than unsalted). I baked them for 30 minutes and when they were cooled and cut, the center was uncooked. I made a second batch and baked them for 50 minutes. This batch was great. Very moist and very easy to cut when cooled. This is now my all time favorite brownie recipe. Thanks, Ann.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      The best brownies I´ve ever made. I tried quite a few from the site, and this one is just perfect! Very much recommend it to brownie-lovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      These brownies are the best! They are chocolatey & yummy! Just like Julia to have an outrageous recipe. Thank you for sharing this gem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Wonderful, Wonderful recipe. I like to use german chocolate though. Both choices of chocolate are tastey though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      This brownie was ok to me. But I found them way too sweet and not chocolatey enough for my taste. It is a moist textured brownie, I liked that part. In my opinion the the step to add 1 cup of sugar to the melted chocolate should be omitted. And you only need to add 1 cup, to half a cup even, of sugar to the eggs. I may have even done 8-10oz chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I browned the butter before melting the chocolate in it- I just like the flavor added by browning butter. Following the advice of other reviewers, I baked for extended time-36 minutes.These were amazing. I have a tendancy to be extra critical of my own cooking, but these were the best I have ever eaten.Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best-Ever Brownies from Baking With Julia Child

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.0
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    51%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 68.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 148.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes