17 Reviews

I've made these about 10x now! I keep getting begged by people that have tried them! They are easy to make, so don't worry about the instructions. Once I get the choc melted I can get them in the oven in less than 10 min. Today though I ran out of dark choc and used milk instead. Afraid I was going to miss the rich flavour I used brown sugar in place of the white. Oh it was absolutely brilliant!!! I also now melt 100g of milk choc with 2 tbs. of butter to make a very quick and easy butter frosting for the top. You'll never make better brownies.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSR June 23, 2006

Extremely fudgey...hard to get the baking time correct, more like a brownie pudding, good flavor...just not a recipe for me. Thank you for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J'sSweetness May 18, 2010

Do not be put off by the long instructions. They are well written and make the recipe easy to make. The brownies are close your eyes, melt in your mouth delicious. Deserves more than 5 stars for a recipe that will earn the cook many compliments. Thanks for sharing:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) September 24, 2005

As repeated by the other reviewers, perhaps it is better to bake the brownies a little longer than directed for the center really was extremely gooey when I baked them for about 30 mins. Other than that, the brownies were delicious. However, I think I would go back to my other brownie recipe .... simpler to make with not too much difference in taste. Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids February 21, 2010

Best brownie recipe ever! I have been trying different recipes all week, and on the 10th try I found this one. The good news is I no longer have to search for a brownie recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRAVFUN August 17, 2013

FANTASTIC!!!! I ended up cooking them 10 minutes more but these are the best brownies I have ever made. Definitely keeping this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 February 19, 2010

I made these yesterday. The center was still gooey. I am glad I made them. My favourite brownie recipe now. Next time I make them I will bake 'em a little longer so I can compare as to which way I like best, so far hard to beat the gooey center. Thanks for posting this recipe Vitameatavegamin Girl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vertigokitten December 07, 2009

Best brownies ever. They aren't difficult to make but there are several steps and it makes a bunch of dirty dishes. I wish I had some ice cream to serve with them. Thanks AnnNH.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie16 February 02, 2008

Everyone who has tried these says they are the "best brownies" they have ever eaten. A little time consuming to make, yes, but the results are fabulous! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain December 18, 2007

Well, the first time I made these, I got SICK about 2 hours after I ate the center brownie...so I wasn't sure if it just wasn't cooked enough or if I was sick with something else, but needless to say it's taken me a while to try these again. The first time I made them, I baked them for about 33 minutes, so this time I went the safe route and baked them for over 50 minutes and they were still super moist and gooey, but not overly so like the last time. I had decided to wait on reviewing until I made them again to be fair and I am glad I did because they are very good and from now on I'll bake them for 50 minutes just in case. I ate one about 4 hours ago and I'm still not sick, so maybe I did just have a 24 hour bug that time. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl April 06, 2007
Best-Ever Brownies from Baking With Julia Child