11 Reviews

We really enjoyed these delcious brownies hungrykitten. They were awesome. Rich fudgy and decadent. I baked these treats in an 8x8 pan and undercooked slightly. I choose the coffee and lemon version, am I ever glad that I did. The flavor is outstanding, we loved the strong coffee flavor and the slight bitterness from the lemon. I opted not to make the frosting, they were wonderful without and we didn't miss it. I served with french vanilla ice cream and homemade strawberry compote...yummy. What a treat, I will definitely be making these again. Thank you so much for sharing your versatile recipe...I will defintely be trying some of the other versions.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 17, 2012

LOVE these brownies, I used the expresso variation and followed the directions only adding a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. DH, who does not like sweets or chocolates walked out of the kitchen with his mouth full saying these are awesome. Believe me you can't get a better review than that! The cooking time was perfect for us but maybe that was because I used an 8X8 square pan as that's all I had. It did have a nice crunchy top with a soft, chewy center and that wonderful flavor of chocolate and coffee that goes so well together. These brownies diffently (sp) do NOT need frosting as they are plenty rich as they stand. I cannot wait to make again for family once I'm feeling much better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 May 12, 2012

So moist and delicious! I made the espresso version of these brownies, and was happy to find that they were not dry at all, even though the time to bake was a bit longer than I'm used to which was 35 minutes. I know it said 40-45 minutes, but I felt it was a little too long, and at 35 minutes, they were baked just right.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef May 10, 2012

Made these brownies for the Variety is the Spice of Life event, I did the grasshopper brownies. I brought them to our tailgating party before a soccer game, and my friends liked them, but commented how they had a slight mint taste, but not overpoweringly so. I liked them, they were delicious and rich, I just wish I'd added some peppermint extract to kick it up a notch. But everyone seemed to like them and I love them, great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF May 21, 2012

I made your Strawberry and White Chocolate variation of the brownies the other night. In place of the low sugar preserves, I used an organic no sugar all fruit strawberry spread and I chose to omit the strawberry frosting. While the brownies were still warm, we topped them off with vanilla ice cream. I was shocked to hear my kids say that they were very good, but way too sweet! We finished off the remainder of the brownies last night and found that we enjoyed them better after they had a chance to mellow a little. I will be trying a couple of the other variations over time. Made and reviewed for Variety is the Spice of Life event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 20, 2012

Yummy brownies! I made some substitutions b/c of what I had on hand - I melted 3 squares of unsweetened chocolate instead of chips, 1/4 tsp. of coffee flavoring and I only had about 2 T. of dark chocolate chips to add to the batter. DH and I loved the combination of lemon and mocha flavors. I used a 9x9 pan and baked for 40 min. Did not frost - just a sprinkle of powdered sugar and extra lemon zest. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life, 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky May 15, 2012

In honor of the "Variety is the Spice of Life" Tag game, I used the basic brownie recipe that you posted to make an andes mint brownie recipe. The basic brownie recipe was nice and fudgey, but I feel that 35 minutes was too long to cook it as the edge got hard, but the center was still good. My adaptation was to add about a 1/2 cup of chopped up andes mints to the batter and to use 1/2 a teaspoon of peppermint extract in addition to the vanilla. Thanks for posting a lovely basic brownie recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babycat May 08, 2012

I made the German Chocolate version and they turned out great! The recipe came together very easily and they baked for 40 minutes. I used large flake unsweetened coconut instead of the regular flake kind, but it still worked out perfectly. The texture was between cake and chewy brownie which was perfect for my taste. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event '12.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean May 05, 2012

These were quite good, and a wonderfully diverse recipe that can be different every time you make it because of all the variations listed. I made the espresso version, and the touch of lemon was great but I thought the coffee flavor was a little too faint. So I would probably increase that the next time I make this recipe. Thank you for sharing your recipe, hungrykitten. Made for 2012 Variety is the Spice event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal May 28, 2012

These were delicious. Made for a graduation party and they were a big hit. Everybody loved them, very rich and chocolaty. Made the German Chocolate Brownies. Doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 pan. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event. Thank You for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 May 27, 2012
Best-Ever Brownies 6 Ways