33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice! I cut the recipe exactly in half and it was an ideal meal over cornbread muffins for 3 people. I think if you cut it in half, cut the time in half too, I did mine for 1 hour and it was almost like refried beans in texture, but it tasted great. I might add some water next time too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2kiddos May 21, 2010

Excellent! I love the addition of the jalapeno peppers. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely February 18, 2010

My husband and I LOVED this recipe!! He asked me to make it every other week. The only thing I did different was to soak my dried black-eyed peas overnight in my crock pot and in the morning I added everything else before I left for work. I put it over http://www.recipezaar.com/Sweet-Cornbread-83625 this cornbread with some hot sauce on top. YUMMO!! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. January 06, 2010

These were so deeelish! I made these for New Years day and they were a hit! I used the jalepeno that are in a jar b/c I didn't have fresh and it added good flavor. Thanks for posting, this will be our new New Years Day traditional BE peas recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulabelle30 January 02, 2010

I don't love black eyed peas, but they were popular with those who did. I used cubed ham, the kind that is vacuum sealed in plastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leah308 November 24, 2009

I have made these several times now. The only modifications I make are:half chicken stock/water,a package of Knorr vegetable soup mix(gives great flavor) and Serano peppers (I think they're better and hotter than Jalapenos). These are great beans!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerlee2166 January 23, 2009

Sorry it has taken me so long to post. I never liked black eyed peas until I found this recipe last year. I have been making it ever since and not just for new years. I sometime add tobasco when I serve it but not becasue it needs it I just like it. I also usually double the recipe and freeze half in lunch sized portions for later. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriandtreyinjapan June 08, 2008

I made this the other night and my oldest son and I loved it. The rest of the family doesn't really like them in general so thier opinion didn't count. LOL I actually put all of the dry in ingredients in a crock pot and put it in the fridge. Then that morning I just added water to about 1-2 inches above the dry ingredients. I let them cook about 10 hours, and did not soak the beans prior to cooking. I also didn't have ham hocks so I just put in some large chunks of smoked ham I had in the freezer. I have to say even though they other family members don't care for them they ate these without complaining. My oldest son is already asking when I will make them again. Oh and for use this had way more than 8 servings. this fed 2 adults and 3 kids (6 and under) for 2 meals plus Thanks for posting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig February 09, 2008

These were very good. Made them for New Year's Day. Very easy and taste very close to what my mom use to make. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'mama3 January 06, 2008

These were very yummy! Very easy to make. Just threw it all in the pot and let it cook. I used a ham hock and followed the recipe exactly. What a yummy way to start the new year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaTN January 01, 2008
Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas