Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2007

    • on July 30, 2007

      Well balanced, nice flavor. My entire family enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I fixed these new years day and am just getting around to review.... so sorry.... These were awesome.... My DH said he hated black eyed peas until now.... He ate a bowl along with me and my two dear children.... I left out the jalapeños because I didn't have any on hand but will add them next time.... I bet they up the flavor a great deal.....Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      We thought these were fantastic! I minced the onions, garlic and jalapeno so they would go undetected by my little ones. I used 2 cups of the costco ham that we had. These peas were so full of flavor, we were so pleased. My four year old enjoyed them (I was amazed) and my two year old gobbled them up before they could even cool down! I followed your recipe completely and would do the same next time and that is a true compliment because I am famous for tweeking recipes! Thanks so much, we'll be having these again and not just for New Years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I won't rate this, since I had to add quite a bit to it to get it where I wanted it; however, as a starting point, it is a very good recipe. I had hoped for a little more flavor from the basic recipe, which is what I started with, but I found it to be a little bland for my family's tastes. I ended up adding quite a bit more garlic, as well as some Tony Chachere's creole seasoning, and these turned out quite nice. To anyone concerned about heat from the jalapenos, I added 2 jalapenos to the peas, and they were still fine for my toddlers. (Would have added a lot more jalapenos, but the kids wouldn't have been able to have any then!) Anyway, it's a good recipe, but for those who like a lot of flavor, you might have to adjust it a bit to suit your tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Great recipe. I omitted the jalapeno and added some extra salt at the end. Served it with corn bread and fried fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      For my first ever taste of Black Eyed Peas, I thought they were pretty good. One of my daughters really loved them and said 5 stars. Another daughter said they were really soft and yummy. Alas the last daughter said it was just ok. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      this is how we cook the peas too but we cook ours longer about 3-4 hours and you have to keep adding water to them serve with corn bread we didnt add peppers to it though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      My wife and I generally think black-eyed peas are kind of "blah". We tried this recipe and were well pleased with the taste. Leftovers will become your Texas Caviar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      Very tasty recipe & simple, simple, simple. Didn't have much time to cook so I bought my onion & ham & garlic chopped up & came home & threw it all in a pot. Say goodbye to canned black eyed peas because from now on I will be preparing these fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      When my new son in law asked for black eyed peas, my daughter promised she wouldn't eat any. Imagine my suprise when she asked me to make this recipe again. She is truly finicky and hard to please. This is a wonderfully substantial meal and pleasing to a wide range of palates. It reminds me of my mothers old navy beans and ham recipe, YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      Made this for New Years Day. Sorry for the delay in posting my review. It was very, very good!!! Great flavor. I will, without a doubt, make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    32%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 305.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites