33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A true Southern classic way of making black-eyed peas. Real comfort food. I used some left over pieces of a pork picnic instead of ham (I already had the leftovers) and used 2 jalapeƱos to make sure I got some heat. 2 peppers is not hot, just of hint of heat. These were really good served with cornbread and green onions. Thanks, Susie for sharing your recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie January 24, 2003

I would suggest chicken broth over water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nakin1014 June 17, 2012

Used a combo of bacon and honey baked ham and omitted the sugar. It came out perfect with so much flavor. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastiehoney January 03, 2015

I prepared these with chicken broth because I always use it in place of water. I added FOUR chiles serranos because the husband loves spicy. They were entirely too spicy for me, but he loved them. I had to use a chunk of ham from the deli, which doesn't add any fat, so I added about a 2 Tbs. of bacon grease. Served with Sweet Cornbread, #83625. Next time I will decrease the chiles so that I may enjoy them. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 August 23, 2014

I make this every year for our traditional "good luck" New Years dish but I include bite sized sliced up smoked sausage links in this which really makes it the "best". Everyone loves my recipe which is so hearty and great tasting with the smoked sausage in it. I also use 2 jalapeños but keep the seeds in with one of them to give some heat. I use the left over meaty hambone from the Christmas ham or you can use ham hocks. I also make a bacon cabbage dish with this. Yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pageRus December 31, 2013

Perfect, just like my grandmothers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT December 30, 2011

Good, basic, took a long time to cook. Still needed some flavor in my opinion after they were done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha February 20, 2011

I made these today and they turned out great. My husband, who says he normally doesn't like black-eyed peas, even raved about them. I followed the recipe exactly and used one jalapeno which added just enough heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilynann January 01, 2011

We have made this every New Years Day for the last three years. I alway leave extra meat on the spiral cut ham bone from Christmas and cook it with the beans in a slow cooker. The best beans I've had since leaving the South. Serve with cornbread and you have a perfect winter meal. Thanks for teh recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4my4girls December 31, 2010

My family loved these black-eyed peas. I soaked the black-eyed peas overnight, so I only added 4 cups of water rather than 6 and it worked out well. I also didn't have any jalapeno peppers, but we still enjoyed this recipe. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emspam June 08, 2010
Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas