Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2003

      A true Southern classic way of making black-eyed peas. Real comfort food. I used some left over pieces of a pork picnic instead of ham (I already had the leftovers) and used 2 jalapeños to make sure I got some heat. 2 peppers is not hot, just of hint of heat. These were really good served with cornbread and green onions. Thanks, Susie for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I would suggest chicken broth over water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      I prepared these with chicken broth because I always use it in place of water. I added FOUR chiles serranos because the husband loves spicy. They were entirely too spicy for me, but he loved them. I had to use a chunk of ham from the deli, which doesn't add any fat, so I added about a 2 Tbs. of bacon grease. Served with Sweet Cornbread, #83625. Next time I will decrease the chiles so that I may enjoy them. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I make this every year for our traditional "good luck" New Years dish but I include bite sized sliced up smoked sausage links in this which really makes it the "best". Everyone loves my recipe which is so hearty and great tasting with the smoked sausage in it. I also use 2 jalapeños but keep the seeds in with one of them to give some heat. I use the left over meaty hambone from the Christmas ham or you can use ham hocks. I also make a bacon cabbage dish with this. Yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Perfect, just like my grandmothers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Good, basic, took a long time to cook. Still needed some flavor in my opinion after they were done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      I made these today and they turned out great. My husband, who says he normally doesn't like black-eyed peas, even raved about them. I followed the recipe exactly and used one jalapeno which added just enough heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      We have made this every New Years Day for the last three years. I alway leave extra meat on the spiral cut ham bone from Christmas and cook it with the beans in a slow cooker. The best beans I've had since leaving the South. Serve with cornbread and you have a perfect winter meal. Thanks for teh recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      My family loved these black-eyed peas. I soaked the black-eyed peas overnight, so I only added 4 cups of water rather than 6 and it worked out well. I also didn't have any jalapeno peppers, but we still enjoyed this recipe. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Very nice! I cut the recipe exactly in half and it was an ideal meal over cornbread muffins for 3 people. I think if you cut it in half, cut the time in half too, I did mine for 1 hour and it was almost like refried beans in texture, but it tasted great. I might add some water next time too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Excellent! I love the addition of the jalapeno peppers. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      My husband and I LOVED this recipe!! He asked me to make it every other week. The only thing I did different was to soak my dried black-eyed peas overnight in my crock pot and in the morning I added everything else before I left for work. I put it over http://www.recipezaar.com/Sweet-Cornbread-83625 this cornbread with some hot sauce on top. YUMMO!! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      These were so deeelish! I made these for New Years day and they were a hit! I used the jalepeno that are in a jar b/c I didn't have fresh and it added good flavor. Thanks for posting, this will be our new New Years Day traditional BE peas recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I don't love black eyed peas, but they were popular with those who did. I used cubed ham, the kind that is vacuum sealed in plastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I have made these several times now. The only modifications I make are:half chicken stock/water,a package of Knorr vegetable soup mix(gives great flavor) and Serano peppers (I think they're better and hotter than Jalapenos). These are great beans!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Sorry it has taken me so long to post. I never liked black eyed peas until I found this recipe last year. I have been making it ever since and not just for new years. I sometime add tobasco when I serve it but not becasue it needs it I just like it. I also usually double the recipe and freeze half in lunch sized portions for later. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I made this the other night and my oldest son and I loved it. The rest of the family doesn't really like them in general so thier opinion didn't count. LOL I actually put all of the dry in ingredients in a crock pot and put it in the fridge. Then that morning I just added water to about 1-2 inches above the dry ingredients. I let them cook about 10 hours, and did not soak the beans prior to cooking. I also didn't have ham hocks so I just put in some large chunks of smoked ham I had in the freezer. I have to say even though they other family members don't care for them they ate these without complaining. My oldest son is already asking when I will make them again. Oh and for use this had way more than 8 servings. this fed 2 adults and 3 kids (6 and under) for 2 meals plus Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      These were very good. Made them for New Year's Day. Very easy and taste very close to what my mom use to make. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were very yummy! Very easy to make. Just threw it all in the pot and let it cook. I used a ham hock and followed the recipe exactly. What a yummy way to start the new year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Been cooking Black-Eyed Peas for New Years for a long time - but these really turned out the best ever! The jalapeno peppers gave the peas a great kick - a great way to welcome the New Year for luck! Thanks for a great recipe! Looking forward to more for New Years day, over rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    32%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 305.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites