1256 Reviews

fantastic results! Cake was moist and very moreish. I didn't add as much icing sugar in the icing and next time i will see how it turns out if I cut back on the sugar in the cake itself. Overall though ... I'm definatly going to make again and recommend it to others : )

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julienz1 February 11, 2010

I hated the lemon juice in it, and a very strange texture...not to my taste at all

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dudson.family January 27, 2010

Followed steps as directed, including the freezer step. Made in a bundt pan. Could have been more flavorful; bananas were not very noticeable. The "cake" was dense, just like any other banana bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ January 26, 2010

This IS the BEST banana cake I have ever tasted. It took 70 minutes to bake in my oven. I used frozen ripe banana's and I toasted the walnuts before topping the icing and it even made it better. I baked it in a metal pan and it raised so uniformly, just looked perfect. This truly is a keeper, everyone loved it. Veronica

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vpjohnson January 18, 2010

Okay, can you say YUMMMMMMM!! This was an outstanding cake. The moistness of it was unbelievable! It keeps for a long time too. I'm always looking for a good banana recipe and this is by far the best one I've found so far. As a matter of fact I'm going to make another one right now!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messenger76 September 01, 2003

I have never before in my life realized there was such a thing as Banana Cake. I ran across this recipe a few years ago and ever since this has become my favorite cake of all time! I'm not even that huge on bananas! The best part about this recipe is that it is translatable. I have used it to also make vanilla cake, almond cake, devils chocolate cake. I bet you could also substitute just about any fruit in it as well. It is a thick batter which makes perfect for scooping out cupcake portions. It rises nicely and I have never had a cake fall with this recipe. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
motheroffive August 25, 2015

As a person who can't stand banana's, this cake really IS the best banana cake ever. I thoroughly enjoyed ever bite I could get before it was devoured. I followed the recipe except for putting it in the freezer. I only have glass baking pans, so I put it in the refrigerator after about 15 minutes of cooling on a rack on the counter. I had no issues with it running over the side of the pan, as noted by other. It was cooked completely after the designated time in the recipe. The icing was just perfect. I am not sure what icing sugar is, but I kind of figured it would be powdered sugar and it was fabulous as well as just enough to cover the cake with a nice layer, not too thin, not too thick. This is truly delicious. I made it for a crowd that doesn't usually eat much dessert, hoping to bring the remainder to another gathering the next day...It was gone withing 30 minutes after setting it out for the first gathering. Thank you for the person who posted this- Hubbie always buys bananas then doesn't eat them. Now I have a purpose for them that ROCKS.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r_artz August 15, 2015

I had some old bananas and was looking for something other than banana bread when I stumbled upon this recipe. Oh my, oh my, oh my!! This does NOT disappoint. It did take about 90 minutes to bake, but my oven may not be calibrated correctly. I baked it in 2 round pans, and popped them directly into the freezer after they came out of the oven. I had lined the bottom of the pans with wax paper (there is nothing worse than having your cake stick to the pan !) and that turned out to be a very good idea. I made the full frosting recipe. It was a little crummy on the sides, and the extra frosting was helpful in filling in the blanks so to speak. I served it at Book Club last night and had to post it on my FB page as I got so many requests for the recipe. It was a beautiful and decadent treat for a cold February evening!! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S P. February 23, 2014

I took this cake to a neighborhood gathering. At the next gathering I brought something else, and about five people came up to me to say that they were sorry I hadn't brought my banana cake. For any of you old folks out there, it tastes a lot like the original moist Sara Lee banana cake. The only think is that I have made it three times now just like the recipe, but mine has not been done in an hour.....I kept adding five minutes and five minutes. It took more like an hour and 20 minutes, but it is great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail S. October 22, 2013

I have to go ahead and add another 5 star rating/review to this AMAZING recipe. I make a LOT of cakes for different occasions, and my husband and I have just moved this cake to the #1 spot!!!! After reading the reviews, I decided to make this cake, even though I was afraid it would simply taste like banana bread...boy was I wrong! I can't even describe the deliciousness of this cake, but it reminds me of something you'd pay lots of $$$ for in a restaurant! I made it for my small group last night, and they couldn't stop raving about it! I already made another one for a welcome home party tonight. This will definitely be my new go-to cake!!! THANKS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary.lynn.ryan August 10, 2011
Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting