52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe makes a wonderful banana bread - truly deserves its Best-Ever name. I used regular 1% milk rather than the buttermilk and I omitted the milk from the topping as suggested. While the topping was good, the pecans kept falling off. I think next time (and there will definitely be a next time!), I will try adding the milk to the topping and I may grind the pecans to a finer consistency so that I will have the taste but the pecans will actually stay put. I think toasting the pecans will also add a really nice flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fitzcindy January 27, 2004

This is great. I have found my new favourite banana bread. Mine cooked for exactly one hour in a formed bundt pan; it was just ever slightly undercooked in the centre. When cooled, this made the texture of the bread to die for. I didn't have time to make the topping, but even without, it was simply fantastic. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat October 14, 2003

I knew you wouldn't lie Evelyn - this is the Best-Ever! I added the baking powder & omitted the milk in the topping as you recommended. It took exactly 45 minutes baking time - but my oven may be a little hotter than yours. Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 06, 2003

Although I found the bread to be just "OK", the topping is truly outstanding! I also found that my bread did not rise very high; I had even added the baking powder. I think next time I will bake the bread in one 9"X5" pan. I did add 2T of the milk to the topping and found that the brown sugar dissolved more easily into the butter that way. A very good banana bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing September 27, 2003

I made this without the topping and used real milk instead of butter milk. I served it warm with custard. The comments and mmmm's were great. The next day I went to have a peice for morning tea. ALL GONE!!!. the kids had got in early and beat me to it. Looks like I have to make some more and hide it this time. Bella

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella chef September 23, 2003

This is the truly the best banana bread recipe ever!! I only had cashews on hand and it tasted delicious. This will now be our families go to banana bread. Thanks sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hope S. April 10, 2015

I can guarantee you that the name of this recipe does not lie. My banana bread was very moist and unbelievably delicious. My husband love it. This is definitely a "keeper recipe". I'll never use a boxed banana bread mix again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redpepper53 February 15, 2015

This is the most amazingly moist and delicious banana bread. It makes two loaves, one of which I took to work to share with co-workers. So many compliments! One co-worker who is originally from Louisiana, asked how I made the amazing praline topping for which the South is known. Make this banana bread and I promise you will not be disappointed. Your search for a wonderful banana bread recipe is over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicamartin99 October 05, 2012

This is yummEE! The caramel topping really makes it above and beyond...it could easily be served on a dessert menu at a restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ May 20, 2011

I'm always searching for The Best banana bread recipe and I really think this is it! The bread alone is perfect and the topping is over-the-top delicious, although I will cut back the nuts to 1/2 cup next time (personal pref but Hubby did love the nuts). I added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder and really liked the texture of this bread over others I've tried. You don't need to add salt to the topping as another reviewer suggested if you use salted butter - there's plenty of salt in the butter and it comes out beautifully. Thanks so much for the keeper, evelyn!!

Update 4/3/11: Made this today without the topping and it was still sublime! I "made" buttermilk with milk and lemon and added the extra 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Creamed the butter/sugar extra long and beat in the eggs till fluffy. Then just smooshed the bananas into the mixing bowl. Wonderful!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz April 03, 2011
Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)