55 Reviews

This recipe makes a wonderful banana bread - truly deserves its Best-Ever name. I used regular 1% milk rather than the buttermilk and I omitted the milk from the topping as suggested. While the topping was good, the pecans kept falling off. I think next time (and there will definitely be a next time!), I will try adding the milk to the topping and I may grind the pecans to a finer consistency so that I will have the taste but the pecans will actually stay put. I think toasting the pecans will also add a really nice flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fitzcindy January 27, 2004

This is great. I have found my new favourite banana bread. Mine cooked for exactly one hour in a formed bundt pan; it was just ever slightly undercooked in the centre. When cooled, this made the texture of the bread to die for. I didn't have time to make the topping, but even without, it was simply fantastic. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat October 14, 2003

I knew you wouldn't lie Evelyn - this is the Best-Ever! I added the baking powder & omitted the milk in the topping as you recommended. It took exactly 45 minutes baking time - but my oven may be a little hotter than yours. Thanx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 06, 2003

Although I found the bread to be just "OK", the topping is truly outstanding! I also found that my bread did not rise very high; I had even added the baking powder. I think next time I will bake the bread in one 9"X5" pan. I did add 2T of the milk to the topping and found that the brown sugar dissolved more easily into the butter that way. A very good banana bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing September 27, 2003

I made this without the topping and used real milk instead of butter milk. I served it warm with custard. The comments and mmmm's were great. The next day I went to have a peice for morning tea. ALL GONE!!!. the kids had got in early and beat me to it. Looks like I have to make some more and hide it this time. Bella

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella chef September 23, 2003

Cant believe I have not written a review - it really is the best banana bread - EVER- moist, but not wet, crumbly not dense and the topping is absolutely to die for. Just making a couple of loaves for Xmas now - proudly share this recipe with anyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cha V. December 23, 2015

This is the best banana bread I've ever ever tasted. I was amazed, even after seeing the reviews and hearing the name. Delicious. a little more labor and ingredient intensive than your regular banana bread, but totally worth it. My two year old son helped me and even HE ate it. All three of my young kids devoured entire slices. One who doesn't like banana bread and is kinda "eh" on banana muffins said this was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I have a very accurate oven and baked four loaves at a time. I had two in PC Stoneware loaf pans and two in PC metal loaf pans. I really preferred those in the stoneware as they cooked and rose more evenly and didn't collapse in the center while cooling. Overall great recipe and experience. Oh and I also used Wilton Cake Release to grease my pans (my fave) and powdered buttermilk that I re-constituted per the package directions. this is being shared with everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meagan J. September 24, 2015

This is by far the most flavorful, moist and easy recipe I've ever made. I made a couple additives per other commenters suggestions. 1/2 tsp allspice & 4 Tblsp applesauce added to mixture. This did cause the bread to bake a little darker but still very moist and delicious. I also used glass loaf pans and the last 10mins covered with foil. I definitely will bake again and have shared with my family and friends already. Thanks for this delicious bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Whitley Kendle May 20, 2015

This is the truly the best banana bread recipe ever!! I only had cashews on hand and it tasted delicious. This will now be our families go to banana bread. Thanks sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hope S. April 10, 2015

I can guarantee you that the name of this recipe does not lie. My banana bread was very moist and unbelievably delicious. My husband love it. This is definitely a "keeper recipe". I'll never use a boxed banana bread mix again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redpepper53 February 15, 2015
Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)