Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      OMG you made me a heroin at DH's work.They all went ape-**** over it! I have yet to try it, but everyone told my husband how incredible it was. I subbed the powdered buttermilk substitute for the butttermilk and in the topping used the milk, I just let it cook out until nape stage. Turned out great. I will definately make this again. Thanks so much Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      This is the Best-Ever Banana Bread!! I fixed this recipe and another recipe for Banana Bread. This recipe won hands down. It was very moist. The only things I changed were: added 4 oz of Cream Cheese to the butter and choc. chips. to the batter. I also poured the topping on top and baked it. Next time I will put the topping on at the end like it says. Still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This was wonderful. I made it for my mothers birthday because her favorite dessert must have bananas!! We will see what she thinks! (just took it out of the pan and tasted it for myself). I will not use milk in the topping for it was a little runny.. other than that it was very good!!! Thank you so much- I know I will be asked to make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      This is my go to recipe for banana bread. I make this monthly. We love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      amazing. i made a loaf each for Christmas for my friends in Europe and it got rave reviews. amazingly moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This is so different from the same boring banana bread. Very moist. Not sure if I did it wrong, but the topping soaked into the bread. Tasted delicious though. Figured if I doubled the topping recipe, some could soak in and cook some longer for the crunchy sweet topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Absolutely phenomenal banana bread! I make it in a Bundt pan, so I omit the topping portion and multiply the rest of the ingredients (including the original poster's recommendation for baking soda as well as the baking powder) by 1.5 and bake it exactly 60 minutes. Comes out perfectly every time! In a pinch, I have also subsituted sour cream for the buttermilk when I did not have it available and that works just as well! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      AWESOME, SUPER MOIST BANANA BREAD, TOPPING COMPLIMENTS THE BANANA BREAD PERFECTLY!!! This is a huge step up from average banana bread. The crunchy sweet topping is like praline candy and the bread is incredible. Here are the changes I made: I lined each loaf pan with parchment paper which keeps the bread very moist. For the bread I used 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar. 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract, for the buttermilk I used 4 T. Wal-mart brand vanilla yogurt, it tastes more like pudding, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 2 teaspoons baking powder. For the topping, when the bread was done baking, I sprinkled the toasted pecans on top of the bread first. Melted one stick of butter and 10 packed tablespoons of dark brown sugar with a splash of half 'n half. The half 'n half gives it more of a candy taste. Poured this liquid goo goodness all over the tops of the pecans, covering every inch. Broiled for 1 minute until it bubbled. Let cool and husband is still gobbling it. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I have stopped my search for the best banana bread. This bread is heavenly!! It is so moist buttery rich and delicious. We couldn't stop eating it. And that is without the topping! I love the dark beautiful color of the bread. Just scrumptious!! I'm off to make another batch ;) Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This is beyond description!!!!! It is now the only banana bread recipe I will every use.And I have tried all kinds.I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup white but other than that I followed it to the letter.Everyone who had a piece raved about it too.Thanx for sharing such a special recipe,I know I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      If you are looking for the BEST EVER banana bread recipe, please believe the title of this one! It is a huge hit in my house, even with those who aren't banana bread fans around here. I won't even try another recipe. Fantastic! 5++++ stars. Easy and delicious. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was perfect. Outstanding!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I tried this recipe about 10 days ago. What caught my eye on this recipe was the word (Honestly!) I must say, honestly, it is truly the best Banana Bread I have ever made. It is now the Only recipe I will use. You must give this a try. I am at this very moment waiting for My Best- Ever Banana Bread (Honestly) to cool. I will indulge along with a great cup of coffee. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This is by far, hands down, the best banana bread I have ever had! I have my own banana bread posted on this site, but this will now be the only banana bread that I will make. I took a loaf to work and shared a loaf with our neighborhood friends and everyone who tasted it asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I must say this bread is delicious!! I should have baked it a few minutes longer, but was on the phone when I took it out of the oven and was distracted and didn't check to make sure it was done. . . my fault!! But that was at 50 minutes, so it definitely needs longer. I followed the recipe exactly how Evelyn wrote it (in parentheses). Will be making again!! :O) UPDATE: I made this again today using 1 C. all-purpose flour and 1 C. whole wheat flour. I also mixed in 1/2 C. cauliflower puree to give it a nutrition boost (Like Jessica Seinfeld's book) and you couldn't taste it at all! Great recipe!! My 21 month old was devouring it! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I was short on time so made into muffins and added the pecans to the batter so I could skip the topping. Will definately make again and w/ the topping next time. Also, added 1 tsp of nutmeg and cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made this today and even my grandmother said it was fabulous. The best ever we've tasted! Tasted great even though I didn't add the vanilla extract nor the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this today to use up some bananas that were starting to get a bit too ripened for my liking (I prefer eating mine when they are still a bit green!). This bread was so wonderfully moist and flavorful. I made the mistake of letting my topping set up before putting it on the bread, but I reheated it and spread it on there anyways and it was still really, really good. Even my brother (one of the pickiest little kids ever) enjoyed this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I'll join the chorus! What a delicious recipe! I can't speak to the topping -- we were absolutely delighted with the banana bread as it came out of the oven. It's moist, full of flavor without being overly sweet. Next time, I'll put the chopped pcans in the batter. Thanks again, Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This banana bread is outstanding! The recipe will definitely go into my Permanent collection. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Light and fluffy. Oh boy it's delicious. I used half oil and half butter. I skipped the topping and still love the bread. I made muffins out of these and baked at 350 for 28 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)

    Serving Size: 1 (1804 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3107.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1563
    50%
    Total Fat 173.7 g
    267%
    Saturated Fat 86.2 g
    431%
    Cholesterol 526.0 mg
    175%
    Sodium 3360.8 mg
    140%
    Total Carbohydrate 377.7 g
    125%
    Dietary Fiber 14.7 g
    58%
    Sugars 249.9 g
    999%
    Protein 29.9 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites