53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thsi is an excellent & different banana bread recipe. What makes this one unique is the caramelized brown sugar & nut topping. The bread itself is moist & rich, but the topping is the part that really puts this over the edge. A real winner. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 28, 2004

I left out the milk in the topping as well. One word sums up how this bread tastes....AMAZING!!! DH had some of this bread warm out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream. DH is not a big fan of nuts but he LOVED this topping. His first comment after taking one bite was....oh wow, this topping is amazing! He said that the taste reminded him of bananas foster (which happens to be his favorite dessert). The day after I made this bread, DH was still making comments on how good it was. The bread is moist, sweet, and has a wonderful flavor. The topping reminds me of pralines and it compliments the banana flavor of the bread perfectly. This recipe makes the best banana bread that I've ever tasted. Thanks for posting this outstanding recipe. I will make this bread again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas September 05, 2003

Used extra thick double cream instead of buttermilk, other than that I followed the cake recipe exactly. I didn't have enough butter left to make the sauce exactly, but left it to cook a bit longer (just a bit) with more of the cream i used (instead of milk)to make caramel/praline kind of deal....it was so good. Thanks again. Made this again 3/1/10. Still fabulous. Just wanted to give all you guys a hint that I've learned over the past couple of years. If you freeze bananas when they start going ripe they will keep in the freezer for months. Here's the hint...when they thaw they thaw into MUSH! exactly what you need for banana bread and it only takes about 1/2 an hour for them to thaw. Just make a slice in the side and squeeze into a bown...no mashing and no ruined bananas. Voila!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSR January 03, 2010

This is the best banana bread I ever tasted. The topping was great and I even screwed it up. Didn't know how long to cook it and probably cooked it too long. this will be the recipe I use to make banana bread from now on and the topping for a great many other things as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane Hathaway February 05, 2004

This is by far the best banana bread I have ever had! I've been using the same recipe for a couple years and really love it, but wanted to try this when I saw it. I am so glad I tried it! It's amazing! The topping is out of this world and the bread is very moist with a great banana flavor! I left the milk out of the topping like you suggested, and I also used the baking powder as you noted. Of all the recipes I've tried from this site, this one is my absolute favorite! Thank you so much - Sherri

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 May 16, 2003

This truly is the BEST-EVER banana bread! The smell was amazing while it was cooking and I agree that it tastes like bananas foster. I left out the pecans because they are just too pricy, but did make a caramel glaze and it was great. I served this with eggs and bacon for breakfast for dinner tonight. Thanks evelyn! Made for the Cajun/Creole cookbook for team Tasty Testers during ZWT9.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely July 21, 2013

I only have one complaint concerning this banana bread recipe which is, I CAN'T STOP EATING IT! (I'm going to have some serious self-loathing issues in the coming days.) Hands down, the best banana bread I've ever eaten; very moist, very flavorful. Everyone whom I've allowed to sample, stands in absolute agreement- it is the "Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)", honestly!
The only thing I did differently was to use 5 bananas instead of 4 (only because I couldn't bare to throw away a perfectly good, nearly-rotten black banana), and I baked mine in 7 mini loaf pans in lieu of 2 standard, and I think 6 would have even been better. I did this for the purpose of distributing loaves to neighbors/friends, but have since decided that I never really liked them all that much to begin with so they're MINE, MINE, they're all MINE! BAHAHHAHAHA
Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gin and frolic March 02, 2012

Yummo! This is fantastic! Followed Heather V's suggestion and added a bit of salt to the caramel topping. Tastes great! A keeper for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Preload November 16, 2010

This was Wonderful! I try this with three other recipes and this was the star for sure. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 14, 2010

This was fantastic. I halved the recipe, then doubled the bananas and the liquids... I used a combo of whey and sour cream b/c I had no buttermilk. Then I had no pecans, so I used some walnuts. The topping was truly YUMMY, but the caramel DEFINITELY NEEDS SALT. It makes all the difference. There's a reason why salted caramels are popular. I kept wondering if I should scoop vanilla ice cream on top of this b/c it was SO GOOD.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. June 08, 2010
Best-Ever Banana Bread (honestly!)