14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh dear, it just occurred to me why I had a problem with this dish last night. When I bought the ingredients, I assumed we were starting with dry beans. I did realize before starting that it should have been canned beans, so I cooked the beans in the pressure cooker (took about 1 1/2 hours), then put them in the crockpot with the ingredients. The end product was much too mild, but I realized this morning that I weighed the beans dry. I must have had way too high a ratio beans to other ingredients. I ended up adding more and more of the other ingredients at the end along with salt, but since they didn't have time to soak in, it tasted a little hollow - my fault, not Coffeebaristas. So sorry!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 02, 2008

Yum! These are great! I drained the beans partially, and ended up needing to add more liquid later, so next time I won't drain them. Everyone really loved these, and I'll be making them again and again. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 August 15, 2010

Bacon makes them what they are, and the crock pot does a nice job on them. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 on Breezermom's referral, and measures up to the nomination!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 23, 2010

I tried this recipe with dry beans and with 6 cups of water (after doing a quick soak) and added all the ingredients to a pressure cooker on medium/high heat for 5-6 hours and they turned out great. I also added 2 lbs. of ground beef for even more meat (maybe a lil too much meat lol. Next time I will add more beans to not having it being so meatiful)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chillin662 May 23, 2011

These are now our family baked beans! We made these for Fathers Day Cook Out. These are the best beans I have ever ate. These are 5***** plus 5 more stars! I baked my bacon in the oven and this was quick and easy. My mom who is 73 years old could not believe how good this recipe is! Thanks for Posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joann.king1 July 21, 2009

Fabulous baked beans. I was a little suspicious of the ingredients...my baked beans always had bacon in them, but I usually added diced bell peppers and "real" onions, and I usually mixed the beans. But these were wonderful. Everyone loved them. Definitely a 5 + Star recipe. I used the oven method, halved the recipe, drained one can of beans and left the liquid in the other. They turned out perfect. Thanks for posting. Made for Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 04, 2009

I just made these for New Years and EVERYONE RAVED ABOUT THEM!! They were SOOOOO freaking delish..
I subbed Brown Sugar for white sugar... and added just a hint less than what was called for.. I added a splash of Crown Royal Maple... and 1tsp of Cayenne Pepper....
We will DEFINITELY be making this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli January 15, 2013

I followed this recipe exactly and found them to be too dry, thick and sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kotasmema_13115472 May 14, 2012

These delicious beans have just finished cooking in the crockpot and even after just a mouthful I am salivating and looking forward to reheating them and having them in toasted sandwiches for lunch tomorrow. I did a few minor changes due to supply and dietary needs, used cannellini beans as we don't have navy beans and as we don't have french-fried onions I sliced up a large brown onion and fried that with the diced bacon and proceded with the recipe as follows - drained the 4 x 400 grams of beans (about 56 ounces) as I don't really care for the liquid they are preserved in and substituted the 2 cups of this liquid with 2 cups of vegetable stock and by error I used 1 cup of tomatoe sauce/ketchup instead of the 1/4 cup but it turned out to be a happy error and for dietary reasons I used 2 tablespoons of Natvia for the sugar which gave it enough sweetness for me, thank you Coffee B, made for the Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #64 May 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 04, 2012

Very yummy baked beans, CoffeeB. I made exactly as stated other than adding a can of kidney beans because I was one can short with the navy beans. I like a variety of beans in baked beans anyway. My area doesn't sell Randall's so I used my favorite brand. I love the sweetness and the crunch of these baked beans. The bacon is wonderful in them! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 14, 2009
Best Ever Baked Beans (Crock Pot)