75 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family really enjoyed this cookie recipe! We had to sub out soy butter (DS allergies) and they still turned out good. (It's always scary to sub out soy butter in baking recipes) It's a very good base recipe. It's airy and has a gentle crispness to it. I took the base recipe and divided it into thirds. One third I tinted green and flavored w/ mint extract. I rolled it out, and covered it with 1/3 of regular dough. Rolled it up into a log and then cut into slices, to look like a green and white spiral. We topped some of the spiral cookies with crushed spearmint candies, some with a mix of crushed candies and green sugar, and some left plain. We took the last third of the dough and used a cookie scoop. Dipped the top into colored sugar for half, the other half of that batch we dipped the top in the little round parel things in red and green. This was a great cookie recipe that allowed me a wide variety of cookies with ease. I will definately make this cookie recipe again, although because the dough is sticky I wouldn't use it for shaped cookies. Thanks a bunch for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiersten Phae December 23, 2008

These are the only kind of sugar cookie I will make from now on! Mixed up the dough before going to a party so it could chill. Make sure you put the dough back in the refrigerator between use, as it warms up fast and is too sticky. I rolled mine into 1" balls and flattened slightly with the bottom of a buttered glass dipped in colored sugar. Everyone LOVED them. Said they were, "crumbly" in their mouths. They melted in my mouth - every single one that I ate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
be4everjoyful December 19, 2008

incredible!!! what a great cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smsme_syd December 16, 2008

The first batch in the oven seemed a bit under cooked, the next batch was too done:) The last batch was PERFECT! I'm amazed that the texture is so great and yet they don't crumble easily, great for gifts/packages going through the mail! I made mine with only changing the plain granulated sugar to brown sugar, might add some frosting for an extra sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiltz4yu December 14, 2008

Fabulous crispy cookies; just the way I like them! I am the world's laziest cook though so I just dumped everything in one bowl and it came out beautifully. I also did not chill for two hours, only for thirty minutes and returned it to the refrigerator in between batches. I will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan November 28, 2008

These cookies are delicious! I flattened them with a glass with sugar on the bottom. Soooo good with a cold glass of milk!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molly.johnson1 November 20, 2008

Oh my Gosh these were heavenly!! I have tried hundreds of sugar cookie recipes to find one that my mom loves, because she compares them to her fathers, which were a huge part of her childhood. He no longer remembers the recipe that he used when she was a kid, so I've tried and tested sooo many recipes, roll-out and non, ones with oil, ones without. None of them had "the right taste." When my mom bit into one of these, she started to tear up. These were FINALLY right! All 60 cookies were gone in a weekend, and everyone loved them. We gave some to my grandfather, and even he said they tasted just like his. He made me promise to copy the recipe and save it, so that I can have it when my grandchildren ask me. =] I cannot thank you enough, because by posting this recipe, you made our family very happy. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Butterfly_acookin September 03, 2008

These cookies are truly one of the best sugar cookie recipes I've ever found! I didn't bother with refrigerating, too anxious. I used a one inch scoop, baked them for 10 minutes. The texture is beautiful, kind of like a Lorna Doone, but softer. I'm going to try these refrigerated and as a cut out cookie, but they are fantastic just plain without any toppings! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kar's Kitchen July 12, 2008

this has a very crumbly texture. not crispy, not soft and not chewy. i didn't find it overly sweet at all. i actually sort of found it bland. maybe a little salt would've helped. but it was a hit w/ the kids and my 2 year old wont stop eating them. husband gives rates this 5 stars so w/ his and my rating in mind..it ends in 4. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies June 24, 2008

WARNING! These cookies are so good, they are addictive! I could NOT stop eating them. I had to end up giving some as presents, because if I hadn't, I would have ended up eating the entire batch! All joking aside, they were just the right amount of sweet and made a lovely cookie with a cup of tea. It really DOES make a difference to refrigerate them before rolling and baking. Very easy to make. I used parchment paper to ensure that there was no sticking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panamanian-Canadian angel April 13, 2008
Best Darn Sugar Cookies Ever